Guide to Emory University Archives Photographs
Many of the single-item photographs and other graphic materials relating to Emory's history have been gathered together in a record group called EUPIX. The images are arranged by campus and then subject.
Emory College Class Photographs
The Early Emory College Class Photograph Project consists of more than 1,110 still images dating from 1860-1911. The photographs document the class members of Emory College in Oxford, Georgia, which was founded in 1836. The class and faculty photographs have been digitized and may be accessed on the web:
Other photographs may be found in myriad university publications ranging from yearbooks to the alumni magazine, in collections of personal papers and organizational records associated with Emory; and in other sources. Archives staff will be happy to assist in locating other images.
Materials in EUPIX are divided into three groups, based upon the Emory campus from which they originated:
- ATL -- Atlanta campus, 1915-
Includes graduate and professional divisions, including their various predecessor schools.
- OXF -- Oxford campus, 1836-
Includes Emory College, 1835-1915, and post-1915 programs on the Oxford campus.
- VAL -- Valdosta campus, 1928-1953
Within each campus group, images are organized by subject into 13 series:
- SERIES 1 -- CAMPUS AND BUILDINGS
Buildings, sites, scenes, aerial views
- SERIES 2 -- EVENTS
Series 2.1 - Traditional (Opening convocation, commencement, etc.)
Series 2.2 - Special (symposia, anniversaries, speakers, etc.)
- SERIES 3 -- PRESIDENTS, ADMINISTRATORS, BENEFACTORS, TRUSTEES
Series 3.1 - Individuals
Series 3.2 - Groups (Board of Trustees, Board of Visitors, etc.)
- SERIES 4 -- FACULTY AND STAFF
Series 4.1 - Individuals
Series 4.2 - Groups (committees, award recipients, social groups)
- SERIES 5 -- PRESIDENTS, STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS, STUDENT LIFE
Series 5.1 - Students as individuals and student class groups
Series 5.2 - Student organizations (includes their buildings)
Series 5.3 - Student engaged in informal activities on campus (includes Dooley himself and Dooley's Week-type activities)
- SERIES 6 -- SCHOOLS, DEPARTMENTS, DIVISIONS AND CENTERS
Activities and functions of a particular school (Business, Nursing, etc.), department (English, Film Studies, etc.), division (Library and Information Management, Educational Studies) or center (Carter Center, Center for Research in Social Change) rather than of the university as a whole.
- SERIES 7 -- ATHLETICS
University teams and individuals in action images and formal group photographs. Includes "official" university sports (field day competitions and "unofficial" sports such as pushball located in Series 5.3 Student Life).
- SERIES 8 -- MILITARY
ROTC, Emory Units in World Wars I and II, military-related activities such as Navy V-12 training on campus and the victory ship christened the Emory Victory.
- SERIES 9 -- PERFORMING ARTS
Performing arts groups of Emory performers and/or based at Emory.
- SERIES 10 -- ALUMNI
Series 10.1 - Individuals as post-college individuals
Series 10.2 - Reunions