Woodruff (Main) Chemistry Music & Media Manuscript, Archives, Rare Books Oxofrd Business Health Law Theology
       EUCLID Catalog    Library Info
 
Overview of the Collections
Descriptions and Indexes
 

    Visiting MARBL
 
Hours
Directions
Accommodations
 

    Research Services
 
Requesting & Using Materials
Reproduction Services
Permissions
Remote Research
 
 


    EUCLID Irish Literary Collections Portal MARBL Subject Guides Digital Collections


This guide identifies manuscript collections that are related to journalists and journalism.  The Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library has a notable collection of journalists’ papers, particularly of those who worked for the Atlanta Journal and the Atlanta Constitution (which later merged to form the Atlanta Journal-Constitution); the papers of pioneering female journalists and war correspondents; and the papers of four Pulitzer prize winners (Julian LaRose Harris and Julia Collier Harris, Ralph McGill, and Claude Sitton).

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections.  It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas.  More detailed descriptions of the sources listed below are available in the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL) and through EUCLID, the Emory Libraries’ online catalog.  EUCLID contains bibliographic records for the majority of the manuscript collections held in MARBL as well as books and other printed material available at Emory University.  EUCLID is accessible through the Internet at http://www.library.emory.edu.

Finding aids for these sources are also available through MARBL's Web site at http://marbl.library.emory.edu/FindingAids/index.htmlPlease note that some collections may not yet have finding aids available and that this site is a work in progress.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL.  Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and require advance coordination.  In addition, some collections have access restrictions.  Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available.  We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.


ADAMS, JULIA (MSS 136)

Scrapbooks, [1926-1942]; 1 reel microfilm

Julia Adams wrote a feature column for the Eatonton Messenger called "Stories of Old Putnam [County]" (1940-1942).  Includes three scrapbooks of (primarily) newspaper clippings; one is a collection of Adams' "Stories of Old Putnam" columns and two others relate to Georgia history news items (1926-1940) from the Eatonton Messenger and the Atlanta Journal and Constitution.

Entire collection is available on microfilm only.  Original scrapbooks are in private hands.

ADAMS, OSCAR W. (MSS 931)

Papers; 4.5 linear ft. (9 boxes, 1 bound volume, 3 oversized papers)

Oscar Adams (1889-1946) published the Birmingham Reporter from 1906 to 1934.  He was also a prominent member of fraternal organizations, most notably the Knights of Pythias.  The collection details both the business operations of the paper and Adams’s fraternal activities.  The business records include advertising, subscription, and circulation reports as well as bills and receipts for printing and engraving from the Reporter.  Adams ended his involvement with the Reporter in 1934 when he decided to devote himself to saving the local chapter of the Knights of the Pythias.  He not only saved the chapter but was also elected Grand Chancellor of the national organization.

 

ALLEN, YOUNG JOHN (MSS 11)

Papers, 1854-1924; 25 linear ft. (51 boxes, 10 oversized papers, 7 bound volumes)

Young John Allen (1836-1907) left the United States in 1859, to be a missionary in Shanghai, China, but after his arrival in 1860, he was forced to work also as a teacher, editor, and businessman due to the American Civil War and loss of contact with the Methodist Episcopal Church, South in America.  He later worked as a translator, became superintendent of the mission (1881-1886), was president of the Anglo-Chinese University in Shanghai (1885-1895; became Soochow University), helped found the McTyeire Home and School for girls with Laura Askew Haygood (1892), and promoted missions in Japan and Korea.  He authored or translated about 250 works including Women of all Lands, and edited the monthly Review of the Times (1868-1907), and other periodicals.

Includes correspondence and letterbooks (1857-1907), diaries and notebooks, (1855-1878), account books, clippings, writings, files, and photographs relating to Allen, his family, his student years at Emory College, his work as a missionary, or to the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.

ARP, BILL (MSS 108)

Papers, 1834-1952 (bulk 1834-1903); .13 linear ft., (1 box, 1 reel microfilm)

Bill Arp (Charles Henry Smith) (1826-1903) lawyer and humorist, was born 15 June 1826, in Lawrenceville, Georgia, and died in Cartersville, Georgia, 24 August 1903.  He moved to Rome, Georgia (1851) to practice law; became city alderman; was elected to the Georgia Senate (1865); and became mayor of Rome (1868).  After 1877, he lived near Cartersville, Georgia, but served as vice-president of the Rome Exposition (1888).  He began writing under the name Bill Arp in 1861, and published more than 2,000 "Bill Arp letters" for which he became famous; the columns (letters) appeared in more than 700 weekly newspapers during the height of his popularity.  He published seven books (1866-1903), including a textbook history of Georgia.

The collection consists of clippings, newspaper columns, correspondence, legal documents, and a bill of sale.  Large portions of the collection are photocopies of original materials.

ATLANTA DAILY WORLD (MSS 1023)

Photograph collection, [ca. 1970s-2001]; 94 linear ft. (94 boxes)

Photographs accumulated by the Atlanta Daily World, an African American newspaper in Atlanta, Georgia.

BAKER, JOSEPH VAUDREY (MSS 982)

Papers; 3 linear ft. (3 boxes, 8 oversized bound volumes, 1 oversized paper)

Joseph Vaudrey Baker, a public relations counselor and publisher, was born in Abbeville, South Carolina, on August 20, 1908.  A leading public relations specialist, he operated his own agency, in addition to being a personal advisor to leading college presidents, businessmen and industrialists.  He contributed a twice-a-week column to the Philadelphia Inquirer.

The collection consists of brochures, proofs, photographs, clipping files, magazines, correspondence, and several scrapbooks of newspaper clippings from the Philadelphia Inquirer newspaper.

BRYAN, MALCOLM HONORE (MSS 536)

Papers, 1919-1974; 3.75 linear ft. (8 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Malcolm Honore Bryan (1902-1967) was an economist and banker, first with the Federal Reserve Bank, then with Trust Company of Georgia.  He later served as President of the Federal Reserve Bank in Atlanta from 1951-1965.

The papers include correspondence, including correspondence with Harold Martin (1945-1962) and Ralph McGill (1951-1964) while both were writing for the Atlanta Constitution.

 

BURKE, WILLIAM BLOUNT (MSS 187)

Papers, 1887-1964; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

William Blount Burke (1864-1947) was a missionary in China in 1887, based in Sungkiang, China, near Shanghai, where he involved himself in public works.  He was also associated with Soochow University Bible School as principal and as secretary of the Board of Trustees.  He retired (1937) to Macon, Georgia, but returned to Sungkiang, China (1938), to do relief work and he was imprisoned by the Japanese.  He was released (1943) and returned to the United States.  His last years were spent as a lecturer on conditions in China and as the assistant pastor of Mulberry Street Methodist Church in Macon.

Includes articles written by William Blount for the North China Daily News and by James Burke, a photographer-journalist, for Time-Life in the Far East.

Related collections located at Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

CHURCHWELL, ROBERT (MSS 826)

Papers, 1943-2002; 2.25 linear ft. (5 boxes, 7 oversized papers)

Robert Churchwell (1917- ) joined the previously all-white Nashville Banner in 1950.  His pioneering status earned him the nickname “the Jackie Robinson of Journalism.”  During the 1960s, Churchwell covered the civil rights movement in Nashville, although his editors rarely printed his stories.  He won awards for his education reporting and ended his career as a columnist.  His papers include newspaper columns and articles, speeches, and an incomplete copy of his autobiography, “What’s That Nigger’s Name?” 

CUMMING, JOSEPH (MSS 942)

Papers, 1960-2002; 5 linear ft. (5 boxes)

 

Joseph Cumming was a former reporter for Newsweek and professor of mass communications at West Georgia College.  The collection contains the papers of Joseph Cumming from 1960-2002. The papers include correspondence with the Newsweek Bureau, subject files relating to New Learning, and articles, columns, and poetry.

 

DANIEL, FRANK (WILLIAM FRANK) (MSS 445)

Papers, 1914-1973; 2 linear ft. (4 boxes, 4 oversized papers)

William Frank Daniel’s (1900-1981) journalism career began in 1925 with the Atlanta Journal where he eventually served as opera, theater, music, and book critic and as an editorial page columnist.

The collection includes correspondence, photographs, manuscripts, printed materials, and a will. Letters, greeting cards, and photographs (1914-1973) are to Frank Daniel from friends in the fields of literature, music, and theater.  Original and typescript manuscripts are by Daniel, Byron Herbert Reece, Marion Montgomery, and Frances Newman.  Printed materials include clippings and newspaper columns. Clippings are about Daniel, the Atlanta Book Fair, or his source materials.  Newspaper columns and the will (1978) are written by Frank Daniel.

Additional Frank Daniel papers are located at Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Georgia and Atlanta History Center.

 

DAVIS, THULANI (MSS 914)

Papers; 2.25 linear ft. (4 boxes, 7 oversized papers)

This collection is comprised primarily of African American periodicals from the 1960s and 1970s collected by Davis, journalist, novelist, librettist, and poet.  The collection also includes interviews Davis conducted while covering Jesse Jackson's 1988 presidential campaign for the Atlanta Journal, as well as other print ephemera.

DUNNIGAN, ALICE ALLISON (MSS 929)

Papers; 1.25 linear ft. (3 boxes)

Dunnigan (1906-1983) was the first African American woman admitted to the White House press corps.  Her papers focus on her work in the 1960s and 1970s and include typescripts of speeches, printed ephemera, manuscripts, and photographs.

EGERTON, JOHN (MSS 915)

Papers; 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes)

Egerton, free-lance writer and author, was born in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1935.  The collection contains materials collected by Egerton relating to John Popham, a journalist with the New York Times and William Gordon, an editor of the Atlanta Daily World.  The papers include notes, printed material, and audio and videotapes documenting the Popham Seminars from 1997-2000.

Egerton’s papers are also located in the Special Collections and University Archives of the Jean and Alexander Heard Library at Vanderbilt University.

 

ELLIS, ELMO ISRAEL (MSS 616)

Papers, 1947-1981; 26 linear ft. (26 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

The papers of Elmo Israel Ellis (1918 - ), author, retired executive and broadcast journalist, include correspondence related to Ellis' career as a broadcast executive and journalist; his writings including editorials, book manuscripts, radio scripts, and speeches; and audiotapes of his personal commentary broadcast, Viewpoint (ca. 1965-1975) and Pro and Con (1967-1981), made over WSB Radio in Atlanta.  The collection also includes photographs, clippings, memorabilia, news releases, and awards.

Related collections include the Ernest Rogers papers and the WSB collection.

GOOD, PAUL (MSS 1025)

Papers; .25 linear ft. (1 box, 26 compact discs)

Paul Joseph Good, Jr. (1929-2005) was a television and print journalist known for his coverage of the civil rights movement.  The papers consist of audio recordings compiled by journalist Paul Good concerning the civil rights movement.  The recordings include speeches; reports from marches, rallies, and clashes over school integration; and interviews of civil rights leaders such as Andrew Young, Martin Luther King, Jr., John Lewis and of Klan Wizard Robert Shelton.

 

GRADY, HENRY WOODFIN (MSS 28)

Papers, 1828-1971; 1.5 linear ft. (4 boxes, 1 oversized paper, 11 bound volumes)

Henry Woodfin Grady (1850-1889) worked as a reporter, editor, publisher, and writer (1870-1875) for newspapers in Atlanta and Rome, Georgia, and as a correspondent for the New York Herald (1876).  While part owner and managing editor of the Atlanta Constitution (1880-1889), he delivered his "New South" speech (1886) which established his reputation as a distinguished orator.

Includes correspondence, legal papers, account books, diaries, drawings, photographs, and bound volumes created or collected by the Grady family; reprints and manuscripts of Grady speeches and a biography of Grady. Correspondence is by Grady to family members, by Grady's father, William Sammons Grady, and by other family members; correspondents include Andrew Carnegie and Cyrus Field.  Original manuscript material includes Telamon Cuyler's diary of a trip to Texas with Henry Grady (1888), two Grady diaries, and the manuscript of Raymond B. Nixon's biography, Henry W. Grady:  Spokesman of the New South.  Bound volumes contain material documenting Grady's activities and writings (1869-1887), his death, Julia King's childhood, and contributions to the Grady Monument Fund.  Photographs and drawings depict the Grady family, friends, and homes, Grady himself, and the unveiling of the Grady Monument.

 

HALL, MAX (MSS 734)

Papers, 1938-1990; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Max Hall (1911 - ), writer, editor, and alumnus of Emory University, worked for newspapers in Atlanta and New York (1933-1951).  Hall was a government employee (1951-1957), editorial director on the New York Metropolitan Region Study (1957-1960), social science editor at Harvard University Press (1960-1973), and editorial advisor to the faculty of Harvard Business School (1973-1979).  He continues to do freelance writing and editing.  Hall wrote Harvard University Press: a History (1986) and An Embarrassment of Misprints (1995).

The papers consist mainly of correspondence discussing Hall's experience as a sports writer for the Atlanta Constitution and experiences at Emory University.

HAMBLETON, JAMES PINCKNEY, 1830-1897 (MSS 29)

Papers, 1857-1893; .25 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

James Pinckney Hambleton (1830-1897), newspaper editor, physician, and politician, moved to Atlanta, Georgia, in the mid or late 1850's, and became the first editor of the newspaper, Southern Confederacy, in 1859.  During the Civil War he was a surgeon with the 4th Battalion, Georgia Infantry.  He transferred to the 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry, but resigned in December 1862. After the war, he moved to Washington, D.C., was chosen clerk of the House Committee on Ways and Means (1876), but resigned due to controversy.

Letters written to Hambleton (1857-1893) concern politics, Reconstruction, economic conditions, Jefferson Davis' release, Hambleton's resignation from the House Ways and Means Committee, newly settled areas of the United States, and southern claims against the government for confiscated cotton.  Family correspondence includes letters to Hambleton from his sons Poindexter, and Benjamin, a Deputy Collector of Customs in Arizona.  Clippings concern politics; an article by Hambleton is about an 1810 Christmas dinner in Virginia.

HARRIS, CORRA (MSS 199)

Collection, 1899-1968; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Corra May White Harris (1869-1935), journalist and novelist, married Methodist clergyman Lundy Howard Harris.  Her novel, A Circuit Rider’s Wife (1909) is partially based on her experiences while Lundy Harris was a circuit rider in Hart County, Georgia.  Lundy Harris died in 1910, and Corra Harris moved to a farm she called "In the Valley," where her literary career began in earnest.  Before her death of a heart attack, she had published articles, editorials, book reviews, newspaper columns, and serialized stories in many periodicals including The Saturday Evening Post, Ladies Home Journal, Harper’s Pictorial Review, and the Atlanta Journal.

Includes correspondence, literary manuscripts, photographs, and clippings of or relating to Corra Harris. Most letters are written by Corra Harris to her friend Marjorie McClain and concern Harris's daily activities, her health, visitors, and travel.  Clippings are about Harris and literary manuscripts are by Harris or based on her work.

Additional Corra Harris papers at Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Georgia.

 

HARRIS, JOEL CHANDLER (MSS 5)

Papers, 1862-1978 (bulk 1880-1908); 12.5 linear ft. (41 boxes, 17 oversized papers, 25 reels microfilm)

Joel Chandler Harris (1848-1908), author and journalist, is best known as the author of the Uncle Remus stories.  Materials document Harris's personal life and his career as author and journalist.  Papers pertain to the writing of his Uncle Remus books and characters depicted therein, his home, Wren's Nest, his family life, discussions of the publishing business, and national affairs at the turn of the century. Correspondents include Samuel Clemens, James Whitcomb Riley, Theodore Roosevelt, Walter Hines Page, Corra Harris, Andrew Carnegie, George Washington Cable, Arthur Burdett Frost, Hamlin Garland, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas E. Watson, and Charles Scribner.

As an author and a newspaperman, Joel Chandler Harris wrote books, poems, short stories and essays, book reviews, introductions to other people’s works, letters to editors, editorials, newspaper columns and a play.  The writings series of the collection contains examples of each, either in Harris’s handwriting, type, or copies from newspapers and magazines.  From 1862 to 1900, Harris was in the newspaper business and the newspaper columns include articles Harris wrote for the Savannah Morning News and the Atlanta Constitution.

The majority of original materials in the collection are available on microfilm.

Other Harris material is located at Wren's Nest, Atlanta, Georgia, the Academy of Arts and Letters (New York), Columbia University, Duke University, Huntington Library, New York Public Library, Princeton University, University of California (Berkeley), University of Virginia, Yale University.

 

HARRIS, JULIAN LAROSE (MSS 6)

Papers, 1890-1968; 22.25 linear ft. (44 boxes, 4 oversized papers, 26 bound volumes, 71 reels microfilm)

Julian LaRose Harris (1874-1963), journalist and editor, son of author Joel Chandler Harris, married Julia Florida Collier (1875-1967), an artist and writer, in 1897 and they wrote for and edited several newspapers in the South and elsewhere.  Julian Harris was associated with the Atlanta Constitution (1892-1907, 1930-1935) and the Chattanooga Times; he edited the Uncle Remus Home Magazine (1907-1912) and the Columbus, Georgia, Enquirer-Sun (1920-1929), for which he and his wife were awarded the Pulitzer Prize (1926) for their fight against the Ku Klux Klan; he was managing editor of the Atlanta Daily News (1904-1905), and was also associated with the New York Herald (1914-1919) and The New York Times (1942-1945).

Includes personal and professional correspondence (1894-1950) of Julian and Julia Harris; diaries and addresses by Julian Harris; articles, editorials and columns, stories and plays by Harris and his wife.  Scrapbooks of clippings and postcards were collected by Julia C. Harris; photographs are of American authors acquainted with the Harrises.  Subjects include education, politics, travel, race relations, and evolution.

HARRISON, EMILY STEWART (MSS 556)

Papers, 1829-1979; 17.25 linear ft. (35 boxes, 20 oversized papers)

Harrison (1874-1973) was a teacher, journalist and environmentalist from Atlanta, Ga.  The collection contains personal and business correspondence, writings, printed material, legal and financial records, and photographs documenting Harrison's work in rural and progressive education, in outdoor and industrial schools, in environmental protection, with Fernbank Forest in Atlanta and with the American Red Cross in Czechoslovakia.  The papers also contain materials concerning her various travels in the U. S. and Europe. 

HEMPHILL, WILLIAM ARNOLD (MSS 511)

Collection, 1898-1969; .25 linear ft. (1 folder)

William Arnold Hemphill (1842-1902) founded and published the Atlanta Constitution (1868-1902).  He also served as an Atlanta alderman (1888) and as mayor (1891-1892).  Among his many administrative positions, he was a trustee of Emory College and of Grady Hospital, a president and organizer of three banking associations, and vice president and director of the Cotton States International Exposition (1895).

The collection contains clippings, speeches, and photocopies of letters relating to the activities of William Arnold Hemphill.  Biographical material is both typed and photocopied.

Portions held in photocopy only.  Originals are in private possession.

HERBERS, JOHN, (MSS 806)

Papers, 1950-1996; 7.5 linear ft. (13 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

John Herbers (1923- ) graduated from Emory University in 1949 with a B.A. in journalism.  While at Emory he worked for the Phoenix and the Wheel.  He began his journalism career on the Greenwood, Mississippi Morning Star where he worked for eighteen months.  Herbers then worked for the Jackson, Mississippi Daily News, and in 1952 joined United Press International in Mississippi where he became the Jackson Bureau manager.  Herbers began his career with The New York Times in 1964 and worked there until his retirement in 1987.  Herbers also published several books including The Lost Priority, No Thank You Mr. President, and The New Heartland.

The collection consists of the personal and professional papers of John Herbers from 1950-1996 and includes the following: New York Times correspondence and family correspondence; subject files primarily covering Herbers’ years at The New York Times Washington Bureau, the civil rights movement, and the Nixon presidency; and correspondence and reviews concerning his books, as well as a collection of all his bylines from The New York Times.

HOWELL, CLARK (MSS 501)

Papers, 1864-1936; 3 linear ft. (7 boxes, 1 bound volume, 3 oversized bound volumes)

Clark Howell (1863-1936) was an editor, Georgia legislator, and politician.  After his father (Evan Park Howell) retired as publisher of the Atlanta Constitution, he replaced him and bought control of the newspaper in 1901, becoming editor-in-chief, a position he held for 35 years.  He served as a Georgia legislator 1885-1891 (Speaker 1891), 1900-1906.  He was chairman of three national commissions, a trustee of University of Georgia (1896-1927); wrote History of Georgia (1926) and helped the Constitution win the 1931 Pulitzer Prize by exposing Atlanta city graft.

Materials relate to Howell's life, career, and travels and to the Howell family; scrapbooks contain clippings, postcards, and obituaries which are of Howell, his father Evan, his mother Julia, his children Rosalie and Hugh M. Comer Howell.

Additional Clark Howell papers are located at the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia.

 

JANE, FREDERICK T. (FREDERICK THOMAS) (MSS 165)

Scrapbooks, 1905-1948; 16 bound volumes

Frederick Thomas Jane (1865-1916) established the publication Jane’s Fighting Ships and was naval correspondent for several British newspapers.  The collection consists of Jane’s scrapbooks from 1905-1948.  The scrapbooks contain clippings of newspaper articles written by Jane as well as general clippings regarding British naval affairs from 1905-1916. Also includes scrapbooks of articles by Francis E. McMurtrie from 1927-1948, who was also a naval correspondent and who became editor of Jane’s Fighting Ships in 1923.

JOHNSON, JAMES WELDON (MSS 797)

Papers, [1886-1980] (bulk 1916-1930); 3 linear ft. (6 boxes, 4 oversized papers, 6 bound volumes)

A founder of the Harlem Renaissance, Johnson (1871-1938) was an accomplished journalist, diplomat, educator, activist, poet, lyricist, and dramatist.  The James Weldon Johnson collection includes correspondence, literary manuscripts (by Johnson and others), printed materials, audio-visual materials, sheet music, legal documents, financial records, and ephemera.  Special Collections also holds Johnson’s own copies of books he wrote, as well as books from his private library.

Additional James Weldon Johnson papers are located at Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University.

KELLEY, WILLIAM MELVIN (MSS 1038)

Family papers, 7 linear ft. (7 boxes)

William Melvin Kelley (1937- ) is an African American author. He is the son of newspaper editor William Melvin Kelley, Sr. (1894-1958) and the brother of chemist Sinah Estelle Kelley (1916- ).  The collection contains the papers of William Melvin Kelley, William Melvin Kelley, Sr., and Sinah Estelle Kelley. The papers include business and family correspondence, writings, photographs, and printed material.

KNIGHT, MARY LAMAR (MSS 515)

Papers, 1918-1970; 3.5 linear ft. (7 boxes)

Mary Lamar Knight McConnell (1899 - ) was one of the first woman news correspondents for United Press International and the first woman on their Paris staff (1930-1935).  Afterward, Knight traveled in the Far East, then worked in the U.S. Office of War Censorship through the end of World War II.  She earned an undergraduate degree (1922) from Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Georgia, and a degree in librarianship from San Jose (California) State College (1968).

Materials include letters to Knight from journalists and others, including the prince of Annam (Vietnam).  Also includes some letters of Harry Stillwell Edwards and of Lucian Lamar Knight.

 

LEONARD, LEWIS ALEXANDER (MSS 62)

Papers, 1820-1925; .125 linear ft. (1 box, 2 oversized papers)

Lewis Alexander Leonard (1845-1926) practiced law in Maryland and Indiana, then moved to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he became editor, then manager, of the Cincinnati Star, which merged (1880) with the Cincinnati Times as the Times-Star.  He left that newspaper in 1884 and became editor of the Albany Times-Union and other newspapers.  He acted as a consultant for newspaper plants in Chicago and New York, was acquainted with many politicians and other prominent persons, and authored two books.

 

Letters to Leonard are from politicians, writers, actors, and others.  Topics include Leonard's activities as editor of the Times-Star and the Times-Union, his two biographies (Life of Charles Carroll of Carrollton and Life of Alphonso Taft), the Confederate flag, and the song "America" (God Save the King).

 

LEVERETTE, FANNIE LEE (MSS 135)

Scrapbooks, 1900-1948; 1 microfilm reel

Fannie Lee Leverette (1870-1956), journalist and educator, attended Wesleyan College (Macon, Georgia); taught in Eatonton (1904-1914), Social Circle (ca. 1915-ca. 1924), and Thomson (ca. 1925-ca. 1940), Georgia; and worked as assistant editor of the Eatonton Messenger and as a correspondent for the Macon Telegraph, the Atlanta Journal, the Savannah Morning News, and the Augusta Chronicle.

Four scrapbooks contain photographs, clippings, poems, a biography, correspondence, and articles.  The materials relate to Eatonton, Georgia, to Joel Chandler Harris (who was from Eatonton) and the Harris family, to Georgia history, to Social Circle, Georgia, and Putnam County, Georgia, to African American servants, to Leverette's travel in the Western United States, to the Leverette family, and to her career as a teacher in Thomson, Georgia.

Entire collection is available on microfilm only.  Original scrapbooks are in private hands.

 

LEYCESTER, WILLIAM, 1826-1893 (MSS 137)

Correspondence, 1855-1900 (bulk 1880-1895); .25 linear ft. (1 box)

William Leycester (1826-1893), nineteenth century journalist, reported for the London Times during the late 1800s as architectural critic, as newspaper representative in Parliament, and later as Parliamentary chief of staff.  Leycester's obituary of Lord Palmerston in 1865 drew acclaim from the readership as well as colleagues.  His son, William Hamilton Leycester (1863-1925), also reported for the Times for a brief period before entering full-time into his legal practice and duties as London magistrate.  Although biographical details are scant, information regarding Leycester's colleagues and the Times during these decades may be found in History of the Times, Volumes 2 and 3 (Macmillan, 1939).

This collection consists of ninety-eight letters, notes and cards dated 1855 to 1900, with most falling between 1880-1895.  Of that number, two letters (22 March 1877 and 20 March 1890) bear the signature of Leycester himself.  The remainder comes to Leycester from members of Parliament and fellow journalists.

 

MARTIN, HAROLD H. (MSS 537)

Papers, 1837-1977; 20.75 linear ft. (54 boxes, 2 oversized papers)

Harold Harber Martin (1910-1994), journalist and author, graduated from the University of Georgia in journalism (1933), was a sports and features writer for the Atlanta Georgian (1932-1939), columnist for the Atlanta Constitution (1939-1943; 1946-1974), and a contributor (1944-45; 1950), associate editor (1951-1953), contributing editor (1958-1963), and editor-at-large (1964-1969) with the Saturday Evening Post.  He is the author of numerous articles and many books, including Ralph McGill, Reporter (1973), for which he won the Georgia Writers Club Author of the Year Award, 1973.

The collection contains Martin’s personal and professional correspondence (1965-1969); other correspondence (1969-1971), sound recordings, notes, photographs, drafts, and reviews relate mainly to Martin's books Starlifter (1972), Three Strong Pillars, Story of the Trust Co. of Georgia (1974), Ralph McGill, Reporter (1973), William Berry Hartsfield (1978), and Georgia, A Bicentennial History (1977) and two unpublished biographies of Robert W. Woodruff and Charles Palmer.  Also includes articles by Martin for the Saturday Evening Post.

Portions of papers related to research and writing on Robert W. Woodruff restricted for use and reproduction.

MATHEWSON, TRACY (MSS 362)

Papers, 1893-1960; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 8 oversized papers)

Tracy Mathewson (1875 - ), photojournalist, worked for the Atlanta Georgian, and other newspapers, and was personal photographer to Edward, Prince of Wales (who became the Duke of Windsor). He retired to Jasper, Georgia, in 1954, and received the Burt Williams award (1955) for distinguished service to photography.  Letters, articles, and clippings pertain to Mathewson or his work as a still and motion picture photographer; photographs are originals and copies of Mathewson's photographs and newsreel stills of the Atlanta fire (1917), scenes from the Spanish-American War, both World Wars, hunting dogs (which became a specialty), Mathewson himself, and other persons, including sports figures, politicians, and Georgia Tech football teams and coaches.  Also includes manuscripts of stories and reminiscences written by Mathewson.

MCGILL, RALPH (MSS 252)

Papers, 1853-1971; 58.5 linear ft. (118 boxes, 32 oversized papers, 75 bound volumes, 7 reels microfilm)

Ralph Waldo Emerson McGill (1898-1969), journalist, editor, and publisher, began his career as a sports editor for the Nashville Banner (1923-1937).  He then became executive editor (1938-1941), editor-in-chief (1941-1960), and publisher (1960-1969) for the Atlanta Constitution; he also wrote for The New York Times Magazine, Atlantic Monthly, Reader’s Digest, and Saturday Evening Post.  His awards included a Rosenwald Foundation traveling scholarship (1937), a Pulitzer Prize (1958) for two human rights-related stories, and 17 honorary doctorates, including one from Harvard University.  He was married twice, to Mary Elizabeth Leonard (1929) and to Mary Lynn Morgan (1967).

The collection contains correspondence, committee records, writings, financial records, photographs, scrapbooks, subject files and memorabilia.  Materials document McGill's personal life, his career as editor and publisher of the Atlanta Constitution, and his leadership role in the fight for civil rights in the South.  Subjects include integration, local, state, and national politics, education, his travels, his book, The South and the Southerner (1963), and organizations in which he was interested, including the Ku Klux Klan, the Southern Conference for Human Welfare, the Southern Regional Council, and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.

MENCKEN, H.L. (HENRY LOUIS) (MSS 255)

Correspondence, 1926-1937; 1.25 linear ft. (3 boxes)

Henry Louis Mencken (1880-1956), journalist, editor and critic, was born in Baltimore, Maryland. In 1899 he became the youngest reporter on the staff of the Baltimore Morning Herald eventually becoming its editor-in-chief before its publication was suspended. He is best known for his intellectual, literary, and social criticism conducted in the literary magazine Smart Set (1914-1923), in his published books such as Ventures into Verse (1903) and The American Language (1919), as well as his various newspaper columns. Mencken also published short stories and poetry. Late in life he wrote a three-volume autobiography. The collection consists of Mencken’s correspondence with Gretchen Hood, a music teacher, opera singer, and prominent social figure from Washington D.C.

MITCHELL, MARGARET (MSS 265)

Collection, 1922-1991; 3.75 linear ft. (9 boxes, 6 oversized papers)

Margaret Munnerlyn Mitchell Marsh (1900-1949), author, was a feature writer and reporter for the Atlanta Journal and its Sunday Magazine (1922-1926), married John R. Marsh (1925), an advertising executive, and wrote the book Gone With the Wind (1936), for which she won a Pulitzer Prize (1937).  The book was made into a film (1939) which premiered in Atlanta, Georgia.

The collection includes correspondence, photographs, printed material, memorabilia, sheet music, motion picture and sound recordings.  Letters (1936-1943; 1978-1980) are written from Margaret Mitchell to friends and acquaintances, including other authors and journalists; from John Marsh to Sara and Athos Menaboni, and Emily Woodward; and from Alicia Rhett to Bill Baxter.  Clippings (1950-1989) and magazine articles (1936-) are about Mitchell, Gone With the Wind (book and movie), the book's proposed sequel, and the book Road to Tara.  Photographs include candid snapshots of Mitchell and her friends, stars of the film, the Loew's Grand Fire (1978), and production scenes of Harold Rome's musical based on Mitchell's book.  Sheet music is also from the musical adaptation.  Pamphlets and printed forms pertain to World War II; printed material includes the Margaret Mitchell memorial issue of the Atlanta Journal Magazine.  The motion picture is "Peggy of Peachtree," and sound recordings are interviews with Stephens Mitchell and Olivia de Havilland; one documents Mitchell's Shining Light Award.  Gone With the Wind memorabilia (invitations, the Margaret Mitchell postage stamp, and the Georgia Governor's proclamation for the golden jubilee (1986) of the publication of the book) is also included.

Special restrictions apply: Requests to publish original Margaret Mitchell material must be directed to GWTW Literary Rights, Suite 1580, One Georgia Center, 600 W. Peachtree St., N.W., Atlanta, Georgia 30308-3603.

The bulk of Margaret Mitchell’s papers are located at the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia.  Other papers are located in the Special Collections Department, Atlanta-Fulton County Public Library.

MOODY, MINNIE HITE (MSS 481)

Papers, 1914-1970; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Minnie Hite Moody (1900-1993) was a columnist with the Atlanta Journal (1938-1943) and was the author of several novels, many short stories and poems which were published in the Saturday Evening Post, Georgia Review, Cosmopolitan, Good Housekeeping and other magazines and newspapers.

The collection includes correspondence, writings, printed material, photographs, and memorabilia. Writings include Moody's articles, poems, and short stories; some are in manuscript form.  Printed material includes clippings and reviews. Correspondents include O.B. and Eleanor Keeler, Angus and Medora Field Perkerson, Ralph McGill, and John Paschal.  Photographs are of Moody.

MYRICK, SUSAN (MSS 542)

Papers, 1913-1978; 1.75 linear ft. (4 boxes, 10 oversized papers, 4 oversized bound volumes)

Susan Myrick (1893-1978) was a reporter for the Macon Telegraph.  The collection includes correspondence, writings, including articles, columns written for the Macon Telegraph, and speeches, scrapbooks, biographical data, printed material, photos, and other papers.  Also contains material relating to the filming of Gone With the Wind, for which Myrick served as a technical adviser.  Correspondents include Martha Berry, Herb Bridges, Wright Bryan, Roland Flamini, Julian LaRose Harris, Richard Barksdale Harwell, John R. Marsh, Margaret Mitchell, Eugene C. Patterson, David O. Selznick, John C. Settlemayer, Phinizy Spalding, and Eliot Wigginton.

 

NEFF, LAWRENCE W. (MSS 495)

Papers, 1897-1970; 1 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Lawrence W. Neff (1879-1970) began his career publishing a county newspaper in Texas in 1894 at age fourteen.  For 70 years he worked as a newspaperman, lawyer, Methodist minister, author and publisher.  From 1919 until his retirement in 1960 he owned the Banner Press in Atlanta, Georgia.

The papers include copies of publications edited by Neff (1897-1916) prior to founding Banner Press; books, pamphlets and periodicals published by Banner Press while owned and operated by Neff (1919-1960); correspondence and time cards pertaining to Banner Press; poems and epigrams, sermons written by Neff; clippings related to his career as editor; and lists of Banner Press publications.

NEWSWEEK, INC. ATLANTA BUREAU (MSS 629)

Records, 1954-1979; 19 linear ft. (19 boxes)

The Atlanta Bureau of Newsweek, inc., hub of the magazine's Southern network, was headed by bureau chief Joe Cumming, Jr., 1961-1979.  During his tenure, the Bureau concentrated on civil rights issues, politics in the southern states and southern perspectives on national politics, politically or other nationally-known figures, and southern publications.

The collection includes clippings, article drafts, correspondence, printed materials, and subject files from the Atlanta bureau of Newsweek, Inc.  Drafts are of articles which were sent to the central Newsweek office in New York; printed materials include representative issues of Southern magazines and newspapers and clippings from them; subject files include topics such as integration, civil rights, politics, education, trials, society, and named national figures.

NORTHEND, WILLIAM DUMMER (MSS 338)

Papers, 1755-1905; 2 linear ft. (4 boxes, 9 oversized papers)

William Dummer Northend (1823-1902) was admitted to the Massachusetts bar (1845), and practiced law in Salem, Massachusetts.  Northend was a member of the Massachusetts Senate (1861-1862).  He was president of the Essex County (Massachusetts) Bar Association (1880s), a trustee of Dummer Academy, and an overseer of Bowdoin College.

The collection includes items relating to Anna Northend Benjamin, a granddaughter of William D. Northend who was a journalist and Spanish-American War correspondent.

 

PARKE FAMILY (MSS 583)

Papers, 1705-1949 (bulk 1828-1945); 4.5 linear ft. (9 boxes, 2 oversized papers)

The Parke family produced many prominent leaders in religious, political, and civic life, including Benjamin Parke Avery (1828-1875), journalist and U.S. minister to China in 1874-1875.

The collection includes correspondence from Avery to his wife (1861-1874), other family letters, genealogical information, and clippings relative to his assignment in China.

PARKS, JACK HENRY (MSS 611)

Papers, [ca. 1945-1970]; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Jack Henry Parks (1918 - ) was a newspaper editor in Dahlonega, Georgia.  In 1949, he bought the Dahlonega Nugget, which he owned and edited for most of his career.

The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence (1960-1970) between Parks and U.S. Senator Richard B. Russell on matters of patronage.  The photographs include one group depicting conditions on Okinawa (ca. 1945) during World War II and a group including photographs of Parks, Richard B. Russell, and Ralph McGill.

 

PERKERSON, MEDORA FIELD (MSS 458)

Papers, 1905-1966 (bulk 1920-1960); 1.5 linear ft. (3 boxes, 9 oversized papers, 7 oversized bound volumes)

Medora Field Perkerson, author, journalist, and editor, married (1922) journalist Angus Perkerson.   She did some free-lance writing and wrote for the Rome, Georgia Herald-Tribune before becoming a staff member of the Atlanta Journal and Constitution Magazine (assistant editor 1920; columnist 1940-1960).  She also wrote two mysteries which were eventually made into motion pictures:  Who Killed Aunt Maggie? (1939) and Blood on Her Shoe (1942).  She also wrote White Columns in Georgia (1952), a non-fiction, historical work.  She was president of the Georgia Chapter of the National League of American Pen Women and of the Atlanta Women's Press Club and served as president of the board of Atlanta Child Welfare Association.

The collection includes Perkerson's correspondence with her publishers and other authors; some pertains to civic organizations she worked with.  Also included is a master's thesis by Dorothy G. Boyer about Perkerson A Study and Evaluation of the Contributions of Medora Field Perkerson to the Newspaper and Book Worlds (University of Georgia, 1965); and a manuscript for Perkerson's White Columns in Georgia.  Also contains scrapbooks documenting the writing and publication of her books; the serialization of Aunt Maggie by the Associated Press; and the making of the two novels into movies.  The scrapbooks also document Perkerson's friendship with Margaret Mitchell.  Photographs are of persons Perkerson interviewed (including "Wrong Way" Corrigan), her friends, and other authors and journalists (including Margaret Mitchell and Angus Perkerson).   Also includes clippings of articles by or about Perkerson.  The collection also includes a screenplay (shooting script) for the film version of Who Killed Aunt Maggie? and an original manuscript of White Columns in Georgia

Thesis by Dorothy G. Boyer is available as a photocopy only.  Original thesis located at University of Georgia.

REEVES, OLIVER FRANKLIN (MSS 467)

Papers, 1936-1961; .5 linear ft. (1 box)

Oliver Franklin Reeves (1889-1963) worked as a marble contractor in Atlanta, Georgia for over 40 years.  He wrote poetry which was published regularly in the Atlanta Constitution and he was named Poet Laureate of Georgia in 1944 and of Atlanta in 1952.

The bulk of the collection consists of manuscripts of Reeves' writings, both published and unpublished, including poems, addresses to various civic clubs and schools, scripts of plays, short stories and other works of prose, program materials for Atlanta (Ga.) radio station WAGA; and Lions Club materials pertaining to a newsletter he edited.  Also includes photographs, biographical notes, clippings related to his writing career, particularly his column in the Atlanta Constitution, several books and magazines in which his writing appeared; and correspondence, some relating to his efforts to have his poetry published (1936-1947) in such periodicals as Saturday Evening Post and other letters (1938-1961) pertaining to his efforts to encourage the writing of other poets.

ROGERS, ERNEST (MSS 328)

Papers, 1918-1967; 10 linear ft. (20 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Ernest Rogers (1897-1967), author and journalist, was the founder and first editor of the Emory Wheel.  After graduation, he worked at the Atlanta Journal as a copy editor, arts critic, reporter, and finally features writer (1920-1962).  He was also a pioneer radio broadcaster with WSB radio (1922- ).  He was also the author of two books, Old Hokum Bucket (1949), and Peachtree Parade (1965).  The latter is a compilation of pieces from the newspaper column by the same name Rogers began in 1943 and continued to write three times weekly after his retirement in 1962.

The collection includes correspondence, biographical information, writings, scrapbooks, a diary (1918-1919), newspaper columns (1945-1967), photographs, book illustrations, notebooks, sound recordings, minutes, and memorabilia.  Correspondence is Rogers's and his father's (Methodist clergyman, Dr. Wallace Rogers).  Writings include  Rogers's musical compositions and short stories, the manuscript, galley proofs, and four of the original illustrations by the Atlanta Journal cartoonist Eric for Peachtree Parade; the diary/journal is Rogers's; scrapbooks were compiled by Rogers and by his parents; newspaper columns are Rogers's from the Atlanta Journal; memorabilia includes various awards and certificates; photographs are of Rogers, his birthday celebrations, O.B. Keeler, and Col. James S. Childers; notebooks contain speeches, columns, expense lists, information on WSB Radio and Atlanta personalities; minutes are of the Breakfast Club, an organization of Atlanta businessmen to which Rogers belonged; sound recordings relate to Rogers's birthday parties, his radio show (1952), a baptismal ceremony performed by his father, Emory University, Bobby Jones, and a James Whitcomb Riley story.

Related collections include the Elmo Israel Ellis papers and the WSB collection.

SEYDELL, MILDRED (MSS 449)

Papers, 1842-1978; 65.25 linear ft. (150 boxes, 48 oversized papers))

Mildred Seydell (1889-1988) was a journalist and author who lived in Atlanta, Ga., and Belgium.  The collection includes correspondence, writings, source materials for columns and articles, scrapbooks, memorabilia, clippings, and photos, relating chiefly to Seydell's career as columnist for Atlanta Georgian (1924-1939) and subsequently as editor and publisher of her own bi-weekly newspaper, The Think Tank (1941-1947), which featured inspirational items and women's news.  Also includes papers of her aunt, Lamar Rutherford Lipscomb (d. 1957), who was active in Democratic politics in the 1920s and 1930s, and her great-aunt, Mildred Lewis Rutherford (1852-1928), director of Lucy Cobb Institute in Athens, Ga., and author of  essays on Southern history and literature.  Topics include Seydell's investigation of crime and criminal rehabilitation in U.S. and Europe, publication of her book Secret Fathers (1930), a novel about eugenic babies, visits to Hollywood in the 1930s, National Woman's Party, and various business and professional women's organizations.

Correspondents include Ellis Gibbs Arnall, Alben William Barkley, Martha Berry, William F. Bigelow, Gutzon Borglum, Arthur Brisbane, Bennett Cerf, Clarence Darrow, Walter F. George, Grover C. Hall, William Berry Hartsfield, William Randolph Hearst, Alma Lutz, Robert Foster Maddox, Avery Means (describing a soldier's life in New Guinea during World War II), H.L. Mencken, Margaret Mitchell, Passie Fenton Ottley, Ruth Bryan Owen, Alice Paul, Julia Mood Peterkin, Micheline Resco (concerning Gen. John J. Pershing), Richard B. Russell, John M. Slaton, Eugene Talmadge, Herman E. Talmadge, Walter Winchell, Nell Hodgson Woodruff, Robert W. Woodruff, and Emily Woodward.

SIBLEY, CELESTINE (MSS 762)

Papers, [1952-1997], 23 linear ft. (34 boxes, 2 bound volumes, 6 oversized bound volumes, 7 oversized papers)

Celestine Sibley (1917-1999) was a columnist for the Atlanta Journal and Constitution.  She was also the author of a number of mystery novels.  The collection includes correspondence, the bulk of which dates 1990-1994.  Most of the correspondence Sibley received was from readers, although there are a few letters from her publisher, other writers, and acquaintances.  Also includes typescripts, galley proofs, and page proofs for her mystery novels Ah, Sweet Mystery, Dire Happenings at Scratch Ankle, and Straight as an Arrow, as well as the page proofs for Touch of the Shepherd: Reflections on the Life of Vernon S. Boyles, Jr.  Also contains clippings, mainly reviews of novels, and a bound scrapbook.

 

SITTON, CLAUDE FOX (MSS 633)

Papers, 1958-1990; 13 linear ft. (14 boxes)

Claude Fox Sitton (1925 - ), journalist, editor, and educator, graduated from Emory College (1947) and Emory University (1949); was a reporter for the International News Service (1949-1950) and United Press (1950-1955); and on the staff of The New York Times (1957; southeastern bureau chief, 1958-1968; national news director, 1964-1968).  Sitton was editorial director of the Raleigh News and Observer (1970-1990); in 1983, he won a Pulitzer Prize for commentary for his Sunday column.  After his retirement, Sitton taught at Emory University.

The collection contains personal and professional papers of Sitton as editor of the Raleigh News and Observer, including correspondence, printed material, speeches, and writings.  Correspondence is with journalists, readers, job seekers, etc.  Scrapbooks are clippings of Sitton's writings for The New York Times and other newspapers.  Topics include national and North Carolina events, journalism education, civil rights, race relations, and politics.

Scrapbooks are available as photocopies only.

STANTON, FRANK LEBBY (MSS 166)

Papers, ca. 1885-1978; 1.5 linear ft. (6 boxes, 7 oversized papers, 1 oversized bound volume)

Frank Lebby Stanton (1857-1927), poet and journalist, was born in Charleston, South Carolina. When his family moved to Savannah, Georgia, Stanton got a job as a printer’s devil with the Savannah Morning News where he met Joel Chandler Harris, the associate editor at the time. Harris encouraged Stanton to write, and he quickly became a feature writer for the News. Stanton eventually followed Harris to Atlanta to work on the Atlanta Constitution. His column, “Just from Georgia,” soon became famous. A compilation of poems, short stories, and philosophical advice, the column was one of the first of its kind in the United States. Stanton also published his poetry, starting with Songs of a Day and Songs of the Soil published in 1892. The collection consists of correspondence, handwritten and printed materials, scrapbooks, photographs, broadsides, cartoons, biographical notes, and short stories.

STEEDMAN, MARGUERITE COUTURIER (MSS 412)

Papers, 1884-1963; 1.25 linear ft. (3 boxes)

Marguerite Couturier Steedman (1908 - ) , author and journalist, was a staff feature writer with the Atlanta Journal Sunday Magazine (1933-1945), a teacher of writing at Emory University (1945-1946), and book editor with the Atlanta Times (1964-1965).  She is the author of five books and several articles and won the Georgia Writers Association award (1962) for her novel Refuge in Avalon.

The collection includes clippings, correspondence, photographs, typescript and galley proofs. Typescript and galley proofs are for Steedman's novel, Refuge in Avalon; clippings are of her articles and poems.

 

STYLES, CAREY WENTWORTH (MSS 231)

Papers, 1860-1945; .5 linear ft. (1 box, 1 oversized paper)

Carey Wentworth Styles (1825-1897), journalist, founded and owned the Albany, Georgia, Albany News (ca. 1866-1876), founded and was part owner of the Atlanta Constitution (1868), was elected a Georgia state senator from the 10th District (1872), edited the Atlanta, Georgia Daily Commonwealth (1876;  failed), published the Atlanta Telegram (failed), the Gainesville Eagle (failed), and the Brunswick Seaport Appeal (failed).  In 1881, he moved to Texas where he edited the Weatherford Constitution.  He lived there until his death, except during the period he edited the Birmingham Herald (1888-1889).

Correspondence includes letters concerning Styles's routine business matters, letters of the Styles family, and letters of Emory University professor Raymond B. Nixon with Styles's grandson, Upshur Vincent, and with Texas journalists concerning Nixon's research on Styles (1944-1945).  Photographs are of family members and unidentified persons; histories are of the Atlanta Constitution and family; printed material includes articles, clippings, and newspapers related to Styles's career.

Related materials are part of the Styles-Vincent Collection at the Barker Texas History Center, University of Texas at Austin.

WSB (RADIO STATION : ATLANTA, GA.) (MSS 663)

Collection, 1955-1980; 243 linear ft. (243 boxes, 1 oversized paper)

Licensed in 1922, WSB was the first radio station in the south.  Originally owned by the Atlanta Journal, the station broadcast first from the roof of the newspaper's building, then from the Biltmore Hotel, and finally from the headquarters of WSB Radio and WSB-TV on West Peachtree Street.  Governor James M. Cox of Ohio bought the Atlanta Journal and WSB Radio in 1939.  Both WSB Radio and WSB-TV remain a part of the Cox Broadcasting Corporation and continue a tradition of community involvement and service.

The collection consists of sound recordings of news and other programming, 1950s-1970s, and photographs and includes debates, campaign speeches, and interviews with Georgia politicians Walter F. George, Herman E. Talmadge, Carl Edward Sanders, Marvin Griffin, Lester Maddox, Jimmy Carter, and George Busbee.  Major Atlanta news stories documented by recordings include the assassination and funeral of Martin Luther King, Jr. (1968) and the election of Jimmy Carter as President (1976).  Other local programming includes topical features and editorials, celebrity interviews, presentations of the annual WSB Shining Light Award, the celebration of WSB Radio's Fiftieth Anniversary, and such highlights from Atlanta Braves baseball as the team's first game in Atlanta (1965), the Western Division Championship (1969), and Hank Aaron's 715th homerun (1974).  Photographs are of radio transmitter facilities in the 1940s.

Accessioned only.  Restrictions on access may apply.  Restrictions on reproduction may apply.

Related collections include the Elmo Israel Ellis papers and the Ernest Rogers papers.

WALTER, JOHN, 1873-1968 (MSS 140)

Papers, 1895-1956; .25 linear ft. (1 box)

John Walter IV (1873-1968) was a journalist and proprietor of the newspaper, The Times of London.  The collection consists of 61 letters to John Walter:  Eight letters (1895-1901) were written by Henri Georges Stefan Adolphe Opper de Blowitz, long-time Paris correspondent for The Times of London.  Three letters (1956 and undated) are from Stöephane Lauzanne, adopted son of Blowitz.  50 letters (1899-1955 and undated) are by various diplomats and politicians from England, France, Germany, Spain, and other countries.  Eight letters from Blowitz to Walter were written in French.

Accessioned only.  Restrictions on access may apply.  Restrictions on reproduction may apply.

WATTERS, PAT (MSS 905)

Papers; 2 linear ft. (2 boxes)

Pat Watters (1927-1999) was a journalist at the Atlanta Journal from 1952-1963, director of information at the Southern Regional Council from 1952-1963, and the author of numerous books and articles.  The collection consists of the personal and professional papers of Pat Watters and includes correspondence, subject files, awards, book reviews, and a manuscript of his unpublished “Add Obits”.

WOODWARD, EMILY (MSS 424)

Papers, 1918-1966; 5 linear ft. (10 boxes, 2 oversized bound volumes)

Emily Barnelia Woodward (1885-1970), author, educator, journalist, was owner (1916), editor and publisher (1918-1930) of the Vienna (Georgia) News, while contributing articles to other newspapers and magazines; president of the Georgia Press Association (1928), founder of the Georgia Press Institute (1928) and the Leadership Training Institute (1947, University of Georgia); directed various organizations for Forums (an adult-education program which grew out of the New Deal projects; 1937-1950), including those on radio and those at the Atlanta Federal Penitentiary (1940-1950); served as a consultant and lecturer in Great Britain (1944) and Japan (1946) for the U.S. government; was active in many civic,  cultural, and women's groups; and was the author of Georgia, Empire State (1936) and Forums:  Why and How (1943).

Letters (1918-1966) are to and from Woodward and document her entire career.  Correspondents include Georgia and national political and official figures, military, church, and civic leaders; manuscripts are of Woodward's articles and addresses; files contain material on Forums (which includes reports, transcripts of radio broadcasts, and miscellaneous material), the Georgia Press Institute, the Georgia Forestry Association, the Leadership Training Institute, Woodward's 1944 broadcasts from Britain, and biographical/genealogical information (on herself, her father John H. Woodward, and other family); printed material consists of Woodward's articles, programs, and invitations; scrapbooks contain clippings and photographs and cover the Georgia Press Association tour of Cuba (1926), Woodward's trip to Japan (1946), and the Vienna Business Woman's League (1959).  Other subjects covered by the material include roadside beautification, prison reform, and race relations.

John Paschall/Emily Woodward correspondence and other materials subject to access restriction; special permission required for use. Thomas Gamble letters subject to access restriction; special permission required for use.

 

 

 

 

 


 


© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 | Updated: April 17, 2008