Woodruff (Main) Chemistry Music & Media Manuscript, Archives, Rare Books Oxofrd Business Health Law Theology
       EUCLID Catalog    Library Info
 
Overview of the Collections
Descriptions and Indexes
 

    Visiting MARBL
 
Hours
Directions
Accommodations
 

    Research Services
 
Requesting & Using Materials
Reproduction Services
Permissions
Remote Research
 
 


    EUCLID Irish Literary Collections Portal MARBL Subject Guides Digital Collections

The Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library of the Woodruff Library has extensive book and manuscript holdings related to late-19th and 20th century Irishliterature.

The W.B. Yeats Collection includes manuscripts of poems and plays, personal correspondence, photographs of Yeats and his family, as well as many published works with corrections in Yeats' hand. Other members of the Yeats circle represented in the department's collections include Maud Gonne, Lady Gregory, T. Sturge Moore, and Lennox Robinson. The Abbey Theatre Collection and the Cuala Press Collection further document the cultural flowering in Ireland in the early years of this century.

A second area of strength is in contemporary Irish poetry. MARBL houses the personal papers of several members of the Belfast Group, that informal gathering of young poets who, in the 1960s, met regularly to read their work at the home of Philip Hobsbaum and later Seamus Heaney. In addition to the Seamus Heaney papers themselves, MARBL holds the archives of Belfast Group poets Ciaran Carson, Michael Longley, Paul Muldoon, Frank Ormsby, and James Simmons. In addition, the department also holds the papers of Peter Fallon and his Gallery Press, Thomas Kinsella, Derek Mahon, Desmond O'Grady, and Medbh McGuckian. The library also holds the archive of Irish novelist Edna O'Brien and an important collection devoted to the contemporary Irish novelist John Banville.

Each of these Irish literary manuscript collections is supported by extensive book holdings. MARBL also has a fine collection of Samuel Beckett's published works, including early published work, significant variant editions, first serial publications, and numerous fine press editions of his work.

This guide is not intended to be a complete finding aid to the collections. It serves as a preliminary research tool, providing a brief description of holdings with basic information on size, inclusive dates, types of records, and broad subject areas. More complete descriptions are available in the department. A note at the end of each entry gives the type of finding aid available.

A "descriptive inventory" is the most complete finding aid prepared for manuscript collections at Emory. Descriptive inventories include: a biographical note on the person or organization, scope and content note giving an overview of the collection, and a box and folder listing. In some cases, collections have been described to the item level. Descriptive inventories also contain information on the provenance of a group of papers and often direct the researcher to related collections at Emory or at other repositories. These finding aids are fully searchable via the Irish Literary Collections Portal located at http://irishliterature.library.emory.edu

Abbreviations used in the guide include the following: BV=bound volume; OP=unbound oversized material; and OBV=oversized bound volume. The box reference generally indicates the standard Hollinger box, containing approximately 20 to 25 folders.

Researchers may visit the MARBL Monday through Friday 8:30-5:30; Saturdays 9-5:30. Hours are subject to change during holiday and inter-session periods. During the summer, Saturday hours are 10-4. It is recommended that researchers contact the archives in advance to confirm information about the collections and business hours. Address inquiries to: Research Services Staff, MARBL, Robert W. Woodruff Library, Emory University, Atlanta, GA 30322. Phone: 404-727-6887 ; Fax: 404-727-0360; Email: marbl@emory.edu.

Short descriptions for the majority of Emory's manuscript holdings are available on EUCLID, Emory libraries' online catalog http://www.library.emory.edu. General information about MARBL and more detailed guides to the manuscript holdings are available at the repository and on our Web site.

Revised editions will be forthcoming as new collections are accessioned and as material in existing collections is located and identified.

Collections

ABBEY THEATRE (MSS 244)
Collection, 1925-1942, 1944 ; 4 linear feet in 8 boxes

The Abbey Theatre, organized in 1904, grew from the Irish National Theatre Society. Indicative of its association with Irish nationalism and the literary renaissance, the opening night of the theatre presented short works by W. B. Yeats, Lady Gregory, and John M. Synge. This collection of materials relating to the Abbey Theatre includes 22 play parts (typescript portions of plays produced at the theatre, some with holograph annotations), and approximately 467 programs for plays produced at the theatre between 1925-1942. Also present is correspondence of Eric Gorman, the Secretary of the National Theatre Society, with such writers as Sean O'Casey regarding the productions of the theatre.

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.

BANVILLE, JOHN, 1945 - (MSS 953)
Collection, [1979-1997], approximately 3 boxes

Collection consists of typescripts of novels, screenplays and plays; two scrapbooks containing reviews, letters and photographs of Irish novelist John Banville.

Finding aid: No description is available for this collection. May be available for use after consultation with staff and subsequent appointment.

BECKETT, SAMUEL, 1906 - 1989 (MSS 902)
Collection, 1955-1996; .5 linear feet in 1 box

Samuel Beckett was born in a suburb of Dublin, Ireland, in 1906. After receiving degrees from Trinity College, he soon established himself in the city that would become his home, Paris, writing a large body of his work in French, including both Waiting for Godot (En attendant Godot) and Endgame (Fin de Partie), the plays for whichhe is most famous. Author of six novels, four long plays, and dozens of short plays, stories, poems, essays, and radio and television scripts, Beckett won the Nobel Prize for literature in 1969. The collection consists of playbills for performances of Beckett plays at various theaters.

Finding aids: collection description, RLIN.

CARSON, CIARAN, 1948 - (MSS 746)
Papers, 1970-1997; approximately 45 boxes, 13 OP items

The personal papers of the Northern Irish poet Ciaran Carson include correspondence, literary manuscripts, literary notebooks, and collected printed material dating from the early 1970s up to 1997. The papers document Carson's creative career during those years, largely through the presence of numerous drafts of his published poems and other writings. Of special note are early "group sheets" from Philip Hobsbaum's creative writing sessions in the early seventies. Among the correspondents represented in the papers are Peter Fallon, Tess Gallagher, Seamus Heaney, Medbh McGuckian, John Montague, and Frank Ormsby. Published works represented in the papers include: The New Estate (1976), The Lost Explorer (1978), The Irish for No(1987), Belfast Confetti (1989), First Language (1993), Opera Et Cetera (1996), Last Night's Fun (1996), and The Star Factory (1997), as well as Carson's writings on traditional Irish music.

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.

COFFEY, BRIAN, 1905- (MSS 795)
Collection, ca. 1933-1976; 0.25 linear feet in 1 box, 1 BV, 2 OBVs

Born in Dublin in 1905, poet Brian Coffey was associated with the Joyce Circle in Paris. The Brian Coffey collection includes one bound volume and two scrapbooks, in which Coffey tipped in manuscript drafts of many of his poems and a single box of manuscript drafts and related artwork. Represented in the collection are drafts of poems published in Three Poems (1933), Missouri Sequence (1961-65), Monster (1966), Selected Poems (1971), Advent (1975), The Big Laugh (1980), and The Death of Hektor (1980). The largest part of the collection relates to the composition of Monster and design of the published work.

Finding aid: collection description.

CUALA PRESS ( MSS 232)
Collection, ca. 1908-1969.; 5 items in 1 folder

The Cuala Press was established by the Yeats family in 1902. This small collection is made up of five hand-colored cards printed by the Cuala Press: "The trees are in their autumn beauty" (no. 44), "The Connaght Toast" (no. 50), "The Midland Toast" (no. 51), "The Magi" (no. 98), and "A Cradle Song" (no. 89). In addition, the department's rare book collection includes over 80 books and broadsides issued by the Cuala Press from 1908-1974. These works are cataloged and may be identified by searching in our online catalog, EUCLID: www.library.emory.edu

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.

EMORY UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES UNIVERSITY ACTIVITIES: RICHARD ELLMANN LECTURES IN MODERN LITERATURE
Box Series, 1988- ; 0.5 linear feet in1 box

The University Archives Box Series includes materials related to the Richard Ellman Lectures in Modern Literature held biennially at Emory University. The correspondence, clippings, audiovisual materials and promotional literature document the inauguration of the series by Seamus Heaney in 1988. The Place of Writing (1989) by Seamus Heaney, essays to inaugurate the Richard Ellmann Lecture series, is available for purchase from the department.

Finding aid: collection description.

FALLON/GALLERY PRESS (MSS 817)
Collection, [1967-1998]; 97 linear feet in 195 boxes, 127 OPs

Although born in Germany in 1951, Peter Fallon spent his early years in Ireland. In addition to writing his own poetry, Fallon established the Gallery Press, which published plays by such writers as Paul Muldoon and Seamus Heaney. The Peter Fallon/Gallery Press collection contains personal and literary papers of Fallon, as well as files related to his publishing house, Gallery Press. Present in the Press's files are many manuscript drafts of most of Ireland's leading poets and playwrights of the last twenty-five years. Among them Nuala Archer, John Banville, Brendan Behan, Moya Cannon, Marina Carr, Ciaran Carson, Harry Clifton, Michael Coady, Gerald Dawe, Seamus Deane, Sean Dunne, Paul Durcan, John Ennis, Padraic Fallon, Brian Friel, Eamon Grennan, Michael Hartnett, Seamus Heaney, John Hughes, Pearse Hutchinson, Brendan Kennelly, Thomas Kilroy, Michael Longley, Eugene McCabe, Medbh McGuckian, Frank McGuinness, Tom MacIntyre, Derek Mahon, Paula Meehan, John Montague, Paul Muldoon, Thomas Murphy, Eilean NiChuilleanain, Nuala NiDhomhnaill, Frank Ormsby, James Simmons, and David Wheatley.

Finding aid: collection description.

GONNE, MAUD 1866-1953 (MSS 771)
Collection, 1870-1978; 1 linear foot in 3 boxes

Maud Gonne, born on December 21, 1866, was an actress in some of W.B. Yeats' plays and founded the Daughters of Erin in 1900, an organization promoting women's involvement in nationalist causes. She is remembered as the object of W.B. Yeats' love and the inspiration for some of his poems. The Maud Gonne collection includes letters, photographs, and genealogical material collected by Professor Conrad Balliet in the course of his research, as well as audiotape interviews he conducted with a number of Maud Gonne's family members and acquaintances. Present are ten original letters written between 1902 and 1950 in which Maud Gonne discusses her marriage to Major John MacBride and her feelings for W.B. Yeats, among other subjects. The collection also includes twelve photographs of Maud Gonne dating from childhood through old age.

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.

GONNE, MAUD AND W.B. YEATS (MSS 930)
Papers, ca. 1890-1938; 2 linear feet in 4 boxes

The collection consists primarily of correspondence, including 375 letter from Maud Gonne to W.B. Yeats, written between 1890 and 1930. The collection also contains 27 letters from Yeats to Gonne from roughly the same period. Most of these letters were published in the volume The Gonne-Yeats Letters 1893-1938 (W.W. Norton, 1992) edited by Maud Gonne's granddaughter, Anna MacBride White, and A. Norman Jeffars. Other notable correspondents include Lady Augusta Gregory, Gonne's cousin, May "Bertie" Clay, John Quinn, John O'Leary, and Maud Gonne's lawyer, Mr. Williams. Also includes French transcripts of the Gonne/MacBride divorce proceedings.

Finding aid: collection description.

GREGORY FAMILY (MSS 624)
Papers, 1774-1932; 25 linear feet in 49 boxes, 7 BVs, 2 OBVs, 10 OP folders

The Gregory Family papers include papers of various members of the Gregory family as follows: papers of Robert Gregory (1727-1810), a director of the British East India Company, including correspondence, official documents, and printed material dating from 1774-1810, mostly concerning the Company (1 box); William H. Gregory (1762/6?-1840), Civil Under-Secretary for Ireland (1812-1831), including letters, account books, official and personal papers dating from 1794-1838, and Lady Gregory's typescripts of letters, some of which were included in Mr. Gregory's Letter Box, as well as her notes regarding the project (19 boxes); Robert Gregory (1790-1847) and Elizabeth O'Hara Gregory (1799-1875), including materials related to their financial affairs (1 box); W.H. (William Henry) Gregory (1817-1892), husband of Lady Gregory and member of the Irish Parliament, and later Governor-General of Ceylon, including correspondence, writings, financial and personal papers, and printed material dating from 1817-1900 (19 boxes, 3 scrapbooks, and 12 oversized folders); Lady Gregory (1852-1932), playwright, including family correspondence, general correspondence, writings, diaries, notebooks, financial and legal papers, and printed material dating from [1879-1930] (6 boxes, 4 scrapbooks); William Robert Gregory, dating from [1794-1923] (1 box); and one box of miscellaneous family material.

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.

HEANEY, SEAMUS (MSS 653)
Collection, 1981-1991; 1 linear foot in 4 boxes, 9 OP items

Born on the family farm, Mossbawn, northwest of Belfast in County Derry, Northern Ireland, Seamus Heaney has become one of the most widely read and known contemporary poets. While teaching English at St. Joseph's College in Belfast, he joined a poetry workshop organized by Philip Hobsbaum, which included such poets as Michael Longley. Among the many awards that have been bestowed upon him, Heaney received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1995. In addition to writing poetry, Heaney has served as a professor at both Harvard and Oxford Universities and inaugurated the Ellmann Lecture Series at Emory University in 1988. The collection reflects both his role as a writer and as a reflector on writing. Included are a handwritten draft of "A Tower in the Ear: Yeats and Ballylee" delivered at the Cheltenham Festival of Literature in 1985; handwritten drafts, notes, and typescripts with holograph corrections for three lectures delivered at the Richard Ellmann Lectures in Modern Literature series in 1988; videotapes of these lectures; and, correspondence with Professor Ronald Schuchard related to the lecture series (1988). A later addition to the Heaney Collection includes correspondence with Sebastian Barker (1981-1991) and a single manuscript of "The Placeless Heaven: Another Look at Kavanagh," an essay Heaney wrote on the poet Patrick Kavanagh. Also present are multiple drafts of the poem "Fosterage," an untitled manuscript on Michael McLaverty, and the manuscript of a radio talk Heaney gave on William Wordsworth. Related materials are present in a number of other collections including the Ciaran Carson papers, the Michael Longley papers, the Derek Mahon papers, the Frank Ormsby papers, and the James Simmons papers.

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.
Restrictions: Letters by Seamus Heaney are restricted and cannot be used without the permission of Seamus Heaney.

HEANEY, SEAMUS, 1939- (MSS 960)
Papers Newly accessioned collection consisting of correspondence, writings by other authors, printed material, photographs, and audio-visual material.

Finding aid: The collection is closed until processing is completed (projected) in the late spring of 2004. No description is available for this collection.

 

IRISH LITERARY MISCELLANY (MSS 794)
ca. 1943-1991; 0.5 linear feet in 1 box

The Irish Literary miscellany contains individual items or small groups of papers that constitute an artificial collection. The assortment includes manuscripts, photographs, and theater programs related to authors including John Hewitt, Seamus Deane, John Montague, Thomas Kilroy and Brian Friel.

Finding aid: collection description.

 

IRISH WOMEN'S POETRY ORAL HISTORY COLLECTION (MSS 853)
1999; 0.5 linear feet in 2 boxes

Present in this collection are fourteen audio tape interviews conducted by Danielle Sered in June and July 1999 with the following Irish women poets: Eva Bourke, Vona Groarke, Kerry Hardie, Anne Hartigan, Rita Ann Higgins, Medbh McGuckian, Paula Meehan, Eileen Ni Chuilleanain, Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill, Mary O'Donnell, Sheila O'Hagen, and Mary O'Malley.

Finding aid: No description is available for this collection. Small collection, may be available for use after consultation with staff.

 

KIELY, BENEDICT (MSS 725)
Collection, 1985-1991; 0.25 linear feet in 1 box

Benedict Kiely, Irish novelist and short story writer born on August 15, 1919, was a journalist from 1939-1964 and published ten novels. He was a Writer-in-Residence at Emory University from 1966 to 1968. The collection includes correspondence between Kiely and Edwin C. Epps (a student of Kiely's while he was Writer-in-Residence at Emory University); a typescript of "A Former Cracker Set Loose Upon the Wilds of Ireland, or, How I Finally Met Up With Ben Kiely"; nine bookplates inscribed by Kiely to Epps; and a single folder related to a bust of Kiely sculpted by Lyn Kramer.

Finding aid: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.
Restrictions: Photocopying of "A Former Cracker Set Loose Upon the Wilds of Ireland" is restricted without permission of the author.

 

THOMAS KINSELLA (MSS 774)
Papers, 1951-1995; 27.5 linear feet in 66 boxes, 5 OBVs, 95 OP folders

Born in Dublin, Ireland, Thomas Kinsella has written a large number of poetry collections, served as artistic director for the Lyric Players Theatre in Belfast and established his own publishing company, the Peppercanister Press. The Thomas Kinsella papers are largely made up of manuscript drafts of poems from each of Kinsella's published collections, beginning with his earliest chapbooks published in 1952 and continuing through his Collected Poems, published in 1996. These extensive files of manuscript drafts, typescripts, and proofs document in detail the development of Kinsella's poetry. Other materials related to the publication of his work is often present in the files, including materials related to design, printing, and promotion of the work. A small number of letters are also present in the files, usually correspondence that is also related to the publication or promotion of the work. In addition, the papers contain files related to his translation of Irish texts including files related to The Tain (1969), An Duanaire (1981), and the New Oxford Book of Irish Verse (1986), as well as drafts of his critical study of Ireland's literary heritage, The Dual Tradition (1995). The collection also contains clippings, scrapbooks, and a small number of photographs. Peppercanister, 1972-1997: Twenty-five Years of Poetry (1997), a bibliography compiled by Stephen Enniss, is available for purchase from the department.

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.

 

LONGLEY, MICHAEL, 1939 - (MSS 744)
Papers, 1960-2000; 40 linear feet in 81 boxes, 6 OP folders

Michael Longley was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, on July 27, 1939, and graduated from Trinity College, Dublin, in 1963. While teaching in Belfast, Longley first attended Philip Hobsbaum's informal gatherings of writers, which included Seamus Heaney. Longley has received numerous awards for his poetry including three awards in 2001, the Irish Literature Prize for Poetry from the Irish Times, the T.S. Eliot Prize, and the Queen's Gold Medal, all for The Weather in Japan (2000). The papers of Michael Longley include many drafts of poems from his very earliest work in the 1960s up to 1992, the year that he received the Whitbread Poetry Prize for Gorse Fires. All of Longley's major collections of poems are represented, as are his small press publications from this period. The collection also includes extensive files of correspondence, including letters from other contemporary writers (among them: Eavan Boland, Ciaran Carson, Gavin Ewart, Peter Fallon, Brian Friel, Seamus Heaney, Philip Hobsbaum, Jennifer Johnston, Medbh McGuckian, Derek Mahon, John Montague, Paul Muldoon, Frank Ormsby, Craig Raine, James Simmons, and Anthony Thwaite). Also present are original worksheets from the "Belfast Group" meetings that Longley attended in the 1960s.

See the facsimile and recorded reading of "Detour".

Finding aid: collection description with selective index of Longley correspondence; EUCLID, RLIN.
Restrictions: Letters of Seamus Heaney are closed without the permission of Seamus Heaney.

MACNEICE, LOUIS, 1907 - 1963 (MSS 948)
Collection, 1926-1959;.25 linear feet in 1 box

Louis MacNeice was born in Belfast, Ireland in 1907, his family later moved to Carrickfergus, County Antrim. In the 1930s, MacNeice was associated with English poets, W.H. Auden, Stephen Spender, and C. Day Lewis. MacNeice is best known for his poetry such as Blind Fireworks, The Earth Compels, Autumn Journal, The Last Ditch, Plant and Phantom, Springboard, Holes in the Sky, Ten Burnt Offerings, The Other Wing, Visitations, Eight-five, Solstices, The Burning Perch, and Round the Corner, but also wrote several plays and radio scripts, as well as literary criticism. The collection contains handwritten and typed letters from Louis MacNeice to various friends and colleagues and a manuscript review of George Johnston's translation of The Saga of Gisli.

Finding aids: collection description, RLIN.

McGUCKIAN, MEDBH, 1950 - (MSS 770)
Papers, 1969-1994; 31 linear feet in 74 boxes, 24 OPs

Irish poet Medbh McGuckian was born in Belfast in 1950. The Medbh McGuckian papers include literary and personal papers of the poet Medbh McGuckian from 1969-1994. The bulk of the collection consists of drafts of McGuckian's own writings, including drafts of poems from The Flower Master (1982), Venus and the Rain (1984), On Ballycastle Beach (1988),and Marconi's Cottage (1991). Also present are extensive files of personal and literary correspondence including letters from Paul Durcan, Tess Gallagher, Seamus Heaney, Jennifer Johnston, Michael Longley, Paul Muldoon, and Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill. The collection also includes writings by others (including student writing), subject files, collected printed material either by or about Medbh McGuckian, photographs, and an audiotaped recording of Comhra with McGuckian and Ni Dhomhnaill.

Finding aids: collection description with selected index of prominent correspondents; EUCLID.
Restrictions: Restrictions apply to correspondence of John Drexel and Marie and Seamus Heaney.

 

MAHON, DEREK, 1941 - (MSS 689)
Papers, 1948-2000; 26 linear feet in 51 boxes, 11 OPs

Irish poet Derek Mahon was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, and raised in Glengormley.
The Derek Mahon papers are composed of correspondence, literary manuscripts, collected printed material, photographs, and legal and financial papers. The papers document Derek Mahon's creative work during the last twenty years, including the poetry collections A Kensington Notebook (1984), Antarctica (1985), A Yaddo Letter (1992), The Hudson Letter (1995), and The Yellow Book (1998). In addition, his writing for television and the stage, as well as his journalistic writing during this period are amply documented. The papers also include correspondence with other literary figures, including: Samuel Beckett, Sara Berkeley, Brian Friel, Seamus Heaney, Anthony Hecht, Michael Longley, W.S. Merwin, John Montague, and James Simmons. Printed material, either by or about Derek Mahon or collected by him, is also present, as are a small number of photographs and financial papers from this same period.

See the facsimile and recorded reading of "Winter".

Finding aids: collection description with selected index to Mahon correspondence; EUCLID, RLIN.
Restrictions: Selected correspondence is closed except with the permission of the letter writer.

 

MONTEITH, CHARLES (MSS 789)
Collection, 1948-1994; 0.25 linear feet in 1 box

Charles Monteith, born in 1954, served as editor and later chairman of the Faber and Faber publishing company until his death in 1995. The collection includes letters written between 1948 and 1994 from many of Monteith's literary associates from his years as editor with Faber and Faber, including Irish authors Samuel Beckett, Seamus Heaney, Paul Muldoon, and Richard Murphy.

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.
Restrictions: Letters by Seamus Heaney are restricted and cannot be used without the permission of Seamus Heaney.

 

MOORE, T. STURGE (Thomas Sturge), 1870 - 1944 (MSS 188)
Collection, 1928-1934; 0.25 linear feet in 1 box, 1 OP folder

T. Sturge Moore was an English author, art critic, and wood engraver. The collection contains forty-one letters from Moore to Charles Wilson dating from 1928-1934 concerning professional and personal issues as well as criticism of contemporary authors and discussions of his own work. The collection also has two photographs of Moore, four pen and ink drawings Moore made for Yeats' Reveries, and one bookplate designed by Moore.

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.

 

MULDOON, PAUL (MSS 784)
Papers, ca. 1968-1996; 25 linear feet in 47 boxes, 162 OP folders

Paul Muldoon, born in Armagh, Northern Ireland, studied under fellow Northern Irish poet Seamus Heaney while a student at Queen's University. His poetry has gained him several awards including a Guggenheim fellowship, the T.S. Eliot Prize, and the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry. The Paul Muldoon papers are composed primarily of the manuscript drafts of Paul Muldoon's creative work from his earliest writings in the late 1960s up to 1996. The papers also contain correspondence received by him from ca. 1968 to 1996, including personal and professional letters. A small number of letters by Paul Muldoon are also present. A number of manuscripts by other writers (including Seamus Heaney, Michael Longley, and Derek Mahon) may also be found in the papers, as well as photographs, and a small number of sound and audio recordings.

Finding aid: collection description.
Restrictions: Selected files closed without written permission of Paul Muldoon. Letters by Seamus Heaney closed without written permission of Seamus Heaney. Letters by Gerard Quinn are closed until Quinn's death.

 

O'BRIEN, EDNA, 1936 - (MSS 855)
Papers; ca. 1960-1998; 49 linear feet in 99 boxes

Novelist and short story writer Edna O'Brien was born in County Clare, Ireland, in 1936. She has written over a dozen novels, including The Country Girls, the story of a woman's sexuel awakening in the 1960s which was banned in Ireland along with her next six books. She has also written several plays and screenplays as well as a biography of James Joyce. The Edna O'Brien papers include literary manuscripts of most of O'Brien's short stories and novels, among them The Lonely Girl, Girls in Their Married Bliss, August is a Wicked Month, Casualties of Peace, Night, A Pagan Place, The High Road, Time and Tide, House of Splendid Isolation, Down by the River, and, most recently, Wild Decembers. Also present is literary correspondence, diaries (currently restricted), photographs, collected printed material and other related papers documenting her distinguished literary career.

Finding aid: collection description.

O'GRADY, DESMOND, 1929 - (MSS 911)
Papers; 1953-2001; 39 linear feet in 78 boxes and 12 OPs

The collection of poet Desmond O'Grady includes correspondence (ca. 1955-2000), literary notebooks, manuscripts, typescripts, and proofs (translations of Cavafy, The Wandering Celt, Trawling Tradition, Gododdin); some clippings and printed material (including early issues of The Limerick Socialist with O'Grady contributions); and appointment calendars. By far the largest portion of the collection is correspondence including letters from Sebastian Barry, Samuel Beckett, Dermot Bolger, Brian Friel, Eamon Grennon, Seamus Heaney, Brendan Kennelly, Benedict Kiely, Tom MacIntyre, Derek Mahon, Liam Miller, and others.

Finding aid: collection description.

 

ORMSBY, FRANK, 1947 - (MSS 805)
Papers; 8 linear feet in 8 boxes

Born in Enniskillen of County Fermanagh, Ireland, on October 30, 1947, Frank Ormsby has written several volumes of his own poetry, published anthologies of Irish poetry, and from 1969 to 1989 edited The Honest Ulsterman, one of Ireland's longest-running journals. The papers of poet and editor Frank Ormsby include manuscripts and typescripts of writings by Ormsby, personal and professional correspondence relating to his editorship of The Honest Ulsterman (1969-1989) and various anthologies, collected printed materials, and photographs.

Finding aid: collection description.

PAULIN, TOM, 1949 - (MSS 880)
Papers, 1972-2000; 35 linear feet in 70 boxes, 7 OPs The papers of Tom Paulin, British poet and critic, include manuscript drafts of all of Paulin's poetry and criticism, photographs, and personal correspondence, in addition to letters from fellow poets Seamus Heaney, Paul Muldoon and the late Ted Hughes. The collection includes materials documenting the history of the Field Day Theatre Company which Paulin joined as a co-director in 1981.

Finding aid: collection description.
Restrictions: Letters of Seamus Heaney are closed without the permission of Seamus Heaney. Letters of R.F. Foster are closed until 2041.

 

POUND, EZRA, 1885-1972 (MSS 778)
Collection, 1911-1920; 0.25 linear feet in 1 box

This collection includes eight letters written by Pound to the American patron John Quinn in which he discusses Maud Gonne, W.B. Yeats, James Joyce, as well as other subjects. Also present is a single three page typescript by Lennox Robinson which discusses this Pound/Quinn correspondence. The collection also contains a single printed item, a broadside for Ezra Pound's "Three Lectures on Medieval Poetry," one of which was chaired by W.B. Yeats.

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.
Restrictions: The letters of Ezra Pound may not be reproduced without the permission of the Pound estate.

 

ROBINSON, LENNOX, 1886-1958 (MSS 246)
Collection, 1940-1958; 1 linear foot in 2 boxes

Lennox Robinson, an Irish playwright, manager, producer, director, and editor, was appointed producer and manager of the Abbey Theatre by W.B. Yeats and Lady Gregory in 1909. The collection includes manuscripts of a number of Lennox Robinson's writings on W.B. Yeats and correspondence related to the Yeats Memorial Fund (established in 1953). Present are drafts of Robinson's contribution to Scattering Branches: Tributes to the Memory of W.B. Yeats (1940), a description of Yeats' funeral, and a single manuscript discussing Yeats' later poems. The correspondence dates from the 1950s and concerns fund-raising activities of the Yeats Memorial Fund and the means of perpetuating the memory of Yeats and his work.

Finding aids: collection description, RLIN.

SIMMONS, JAMES, 1933 - (MSS 759)
Papers, 1945-1996; 39 linear feet in 78 boxes and 20 OPs

James Simmons, born in Londonderry, Northern Ireland, in 1933, has published many volumes of poetry and was the founding editor of the Irish periodical The Honest Ulsterman. The James Simmons papers include an extensive range of literary and personal papers relating to Simmons' life and work from the 1940's to the late 1980s. Present are many drafts of poems, as well as essays, other prose, lecture notes, and personal diaries. The extensive files of correspondence include letters from many prominent writers, among them Brian Friel, Tony Harrison, Seamus Heaney, Michael Longley, Derek Mahon, and Wole Soyinka.Among the activities documented in this correspondence is the founding of The Honest Ulsterman and Simmon's participation in Philip Hobsbaum's "Belfast Group" Also present are numerous clippings and other collected printed material related to Simmons' activities and interests.

Finding aids: collection description, EUCLID, RLIN.
Restrictions: Letters by Seamus Heaney are closed without the written permission of Seamus Heaney.

 

YEATS, W.B. (WILLIAM BUTLER), 1865-1939 (MSS 600)
Collection, 1875-1965; 1.45 linear feet in 4 boxes

The W.B. Yeats collection includes literary manuscripts, revised texts, letters, and photographs dating from 1875-1965. The literary manuscripts include manuscript drafts of poems and plays as well as holograph emendations to many of his published works. Correspondence includes letters from Yeats to various acquaintances discussing his poetic and dramatic works, Irish politics, the Abbey Theatre, and his personal life. Many of the letters are addressed to his friend and compatriot Lady Gregory. Another group of letters to the publisher T. Werner Laurie relate to the publication of the 1925 edition of A Vision. Among the photographs in the collection are numerous pictures of Yeats, his family, and friends.

Finding aids: collection description and "The Lady Gregory-Yeats Collection at Emory University," by Ronald Schuchard, Yeats Annual, No. 3 (London: Macmillan, 1985), pp. 153-166; EUCLID, RLIN.
Restrictions: All requests for reproductions require special approval from the repository. Reproductions will not normally be made from the original items but rather from high quality photocopies.

 

 


© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 | Updated: November 30, 2006