from Robert W. Woodruff bookplate Robert W. Woodruff Library, Emory University
Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
Home >> Subject Guides >> Civil War Guide >> Women


Women and the Civil War

Women figure prominently in these collections. Much of the material is correspondence between women and their husbands, relatives, or friends who have left to fight in the war. There is also material concerning women who managed the family farm or plantation during the war.

Battey, Robert, 1828-1895 (MSS361)
Papers, 1810-1894; 13 folders, 1 oversized item
These papers include a few letters written by Battey's wife Martha. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Bone, Robert Donnell, 1832-1892 (MSS406)
Papers, 1861-1892 (bulk 1861-1863); 1 reel microfilm
These papers include typed transcripts of letters (1861-1863) written by Bone's wife Griselda Minerva Burk Bone. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Burge Family (MSS266)
Papers, 1832-1952; 5 boxes plus 1 reel of microfilm
The papers include diaries of Dolly Lunt Burge, Sadie Gray and Louisiana D. Burge. The diaries describe life on plantations in nineteenth century middle Georgia, the Civil War, and Reconstruction. Louisiana's diary includes a description of life at Wesleyan Female College during the years 1860-1862. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Chunn, William Augustus, 1840-1921 (MSS18)
Letters, 1837-1879; 1 box
Most of the correspondence is between William Chunn, a Confederate soldier, and his wife Lila. The letters include descriptions of Georgia social life and customs. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Clark, James Osgood Andrew, 1827-1894 (MSS19)
Papers, 1807-1945; 9 boxes
Reminiscences contain information about Ella A. Clark, her education at Wesleyan Female College, plantation life, Clark family slaves and songs, and a recollection of slavery days by Lucius H. Holsey. Papers of Lella S. Clark also contain information on slavery and on Andrew Female College in Cuthbert, Georgia, which she had attended and where she taught. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Confederate Microfilm Miscellany (MSS432)
1860-1865; 1 reel microfilm

Lovett Family
Letters, 1859-1864; 14 letters
These papers include 7 letters (1862-1864) from Sallie Lovett to her husband William.

Cox, Charles Harding, 1844-1928 (MSS330)
Papers, 1860-1928; ca. 162 items and 1 reel microfilm
The Civil war correspondence of Union soldier Charles Cox includes letters to and from and his sister Kate Lord, who lived in Cincinnati. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Davidson, John Mitchell (MSS357)
Papers, 1851-1960; 1 folder, 1 reel microfilm
These papers include correspondence (1861-1862) between John M. and Julia Davidson and some letters (1863-1865) written by Julia to other people. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Dobbins, John S., 1800-1886 (MSS322)
Papers, 1834-1916; 2 reels of microfilm
These papers include correspondence (1861-1863) from Sarah (b. 1816) and Mary Emma (b. 1845) Dobbins. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Edge, Andrew J., 1836-1926 (MSS346)
Papers, 1862-1864; 2 folders plus 1 reel microfilm (additions)
A substantial portion of these papers consist of letters from Alpha Edge to her husband, a soldier of yeoman class. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Edmondson, John, 1806-1887 (MSS441)
Papers, 1833-1885; 1 reel microfilm
These papers include some (1862) from Sallie to John Edmonson and a few between John and his niece. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Fogle, Theodore T. (Theodore Turner), 1834-1864 (MSS436)
Letters, 1851-1865; 1 box
These papers include letters (1862, 1864) from Mary Fogle Harrold, sister of Theodore. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Green Family (MSS636)
Papers, 1861-1863; 1 box
The main correspondent in this collection is Fannie Green. She wrote to her mother, father, and to her brother, William C. Green. She also kept a journal (March 1862 - May 1863). These letters and journal were written while on a visit to Washington D.C., during her time at Newport News where she nursed her brother who was injured at the Battle of Fair Oaks and Seven Pines, and upon their subsequent return to Michigan. Included in her journal is an entry of a letter received from her brother dated May 9, 1862 written from a camp near Williamsburg in which he describes in great detail the Battle of Williamsburg. Other correspondence includes letters written to Fannie by William C. Green, William to his mother and father, and miscellaneous other correspondents. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Harden, William Harmon (MSS462)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
These papers include several letters from Harden's wife Nancy Jane Cooper Harden. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Hood, Rebecca Rainey (MSS325)
Papers, 1862-1865; 2 items on 1 reel microfilm
Rebecca P. Rainey Hood, mother of two Confederate soldiers, was the second wife of William Henry Hood of York District, South Carolina, and Cartersville, Cass County, Georgia. Her sons, William H. Hood, Jr. (b. 1841) and John Hood (d. 1877), were the subject of her memoirs, "Memories of the Civil War and Echoes from the Heart of Rebecca Hood." The letter (1862) is from William Hood, Jr. to his family. The pamphlet is Rebecca Hood's memoirs (undated) which tell of her experiences during the war at her home in Cartersville, Georgia; the enlistment and service of her sons in the Confederate Army; Sherman's advance toward Atlanta; and her contact with Union soldiers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Ivey, William H. (MSS351)
Papers, 1847, 1860-1863 (bulk 1862-1863); 1 folder plus 1 reel of microfilm
These papers include a few letters (1863) written to Ivey by Mary Elizabeth Pound Ivey, Mary A. Pound, and Mary P. Norman. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Jett, Richard Burch (MSS57)
Papers, 1863-1887; 4 folders
These papers include letters from Jett's wife N. E. "Mae" Jett (1863-1864) and one from his sister Lucinda. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Lockmiller Family (MSS815)
Papers, 1862-1863, 1891-1927; 1 box
The Civil war correspondence consists mostly of letters between James and Clarissa Lockmiller. James served in the Confederate army and Clarissa lived in Decatur, Meigs County, Tennessee. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Long, Nimrod William Ezekiel, 1834-1923 (MSS416)
Papers, 1860-1865; 2 folders, 1 volume, 1 reel microfilm
The papers include correspondence between Long and his wife Martha Jane (Queen) Long. They discuss management of their plantation in Alabama, farming, and discipline of slaves. Queen ran the Alabama plantation during the war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

McBlair, Virginia Myers (MSS74)
Papers, 1818-1894; 8 folders
The papers include Virginia Myers McBlair's Civil War correspondence with her husband William McBlair, commander of the navy of Virginia. Her mother Louisa Marx Myers writes to her of family, social life, and religion. The papers also contain school compositions written by McBlair and information on McBlair's education in the nineteenth century. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

McMurtrey, J. A. (James Addison), 1837-1901 (MSS214)
Letters, 1862-1864; 4 folders
Most letters are written by McMurtrey to his wife, Lucinda, from camps in western Virginia, Tennessee, and North Carolina, and one from a Virginia hospital. In them, the accounts for his daily activities and expresses his concern for his wife, son, and daughter (born during the war). There are also some letters written by McMurtrey for fellow soldiers, J.J. Johnson, possibly his brother-in-law, and W.R. Eirens. Letters of J.A. McMurtrey also available in repository as typed copies compiled and entitled LETTERS TO LUCINDA, 1862-1864, privately published by Mary Frances Honea Johnston, 1985 (also includes genealogical information and reproductions of photographs, clippings, letters, etc.) See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Oliver Family (MSS724)
Papers, 1791-1913; 11 boxes, 2 oversized folders
The Olivers were a slaveholding and planter family from Elbert, Oglethorpe, and Wilkes counties, Georgia. Martha Oliver describes life during the Civil War at the Woodlawn plantation, which was located in Oglethorpe County, Georgia. Correspondence signed Annie to Lizzie Oliver giver Annie's impressions of the Civil War. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Pictorial File
Collection
This collection contains photographs, prints, broadsides, and other visual images of the Civil War. An index to the collection can be found in the card catalog in the Special Collections Department.

detail from a photograph taken near Richmond, Virginia, when a group of wives and sisters visited their relatives at a Confederate camp This image is a detail from a photograph taken near Richmond, Virginia, when a group of wives and sisters visited their relatives at a Confederate camp. To see the entire photograph and the identifications written on the reverse, click on the image.

Richardson, Sue (MSS333)
Diary, 1863-1865; 4 bound volumes
Sue Richardson lived at Rose Hill, Front Royal, Virginia, during the Civil War. Her father died prior to the war; her brother, Willie, was wounded at Williamsburg (1862) and died; a younger sister, Bell, and a cousin, Sue, lived with her at Rose Hill. Two slaves, Liza and Frances, former house servants, did field work. Both Confederate and Union invaders depleted the plantation and took all the horses and most livestock. The diary documents the activities of the Richardson family and friends during the war and notes illness, death, enemy occupation, and the Federal's execution of Thomas Overby, one of Mosby's raiders. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Robinson, Henry W., d. 1863 (MSS392)
Letters, 1862-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Robinson served in the Confederate Army. The fifty letter are to his wife, Elizabeth, and recount his war experience. There is one letter from Elizabeth to Henry and several from his sister. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Rogers, Loula Kendall, 1838-1931 (MSS696)
Collection, 1811-1954; 49 boxes, 17 oversized items, 3 bound volumes, 3 boxes of fragile photographs
Loula Kendall Rogers (1838-1931), teacher and poet, of Upson County, Georgia married James Henry Rogers (1840-1875), merchant and depot agent. They met while he was serving in the 5th Georgia infantry Regiment during the Civil War and were married in 1863. After his death in 1875, she settled in Barnesville, Pike County, Georgia, and taught at the Gordon Institute for nearly twenty-five years. Loula Kendall Rogers was asked by Col. P. W. Alexander to make a flag representing the seven seceded states in March 1861 which she presented to the Upson Guards. The collection consists of correspondence, journals, and memorabilia reflecting both plantation life during the Civil War and her husband's military service. The collection also includes programs, minutes and scrapbooks relating to Loula Kendall Rogers' involvement in chapters of the Georgia Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy in Barnesville and Tennille, Georgia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Rowland, Kate Whitehead (MSS298)
Diaries, 1863-1878; 3 items on 1 reel microfilm
Kate Whitehead Rowland, wife and mother, was born 31 October 1838. She and her husband, Charles A. Rowland, had four children and lived in Augusta, Georgia. While her husband served in the Confederate Army, Kate Rowland and her children spent much time with her parents and her sisters in their home. The diaries (October 1863 - December 1864; October 1877 - July 1878) describe activities of Rowland and her family during the Civil War (including an invasion of the Union Army upon the country home of her parents) and later years. The home life of an upper class Georgia family are documented as are weddings, camp life near Dalton, Georgia church meetings, education, and entertainment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Sanders, Samuel David (MSS422)
Letters, 1861-1867; 1 reel microfilm
Letters are from Sanders to his daughter, Mary; most written while she was in college at the Columbia, South Carolina, Female College (1861-1864). Sanders comments on Mary's education, health, religious life, and fellow students and teachers, and stresses honor, industry, and intellectual achievement, particularly pursuit of the arts. Some of his letters recount camp life in South Carolina during the Civil War. Included is Sanders' commission as a third lieutenant, and his marriage contract. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Sewell, Aaron M., d. 1864 (MSS340)
Correspondence, 1862-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Correspondence includes 14 letters from Louisa Sewell to her husband Aaron, who served in the Confederate Army. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Smith, Jennie Safford (MSS415)
Correspondence, 1862-1868; 1 reel microfilm
Jennie Safford Smith was from Delavan, Wisconsin. The correspondence includes 69 letters from soldier in Wisconsin regiments of the Union army. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Stone, Annie Brown (MSS306)
Papers, 1861-1869; 1 reel microfilm
These papers include letters (1861-1865) from Blanche to Annie. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Stuart, Jeb, 1833-1864 (MSS230)
Papers, 1861; 1 folder
Papers include letters from James Stuart to his wife during the first year of the war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Waddell, James D., 1832-1881 (MSS296)
Papers, 1862-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Includes correspondence between James Waddell and his wife Medora during the Civil War. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wadley, Sarah Lois, 1844-1920 (MSS461)
Diary, 1859-1906 (bulk 1859-1886); 1 reel of microfilm
Wadley's diary, dated August 8, 1859-February 4 1866, describes the attitudes and reactions of herself and other to various events or rumors throughout the civil war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Watkins, James W., d. 1896 (MSS413)
Papers, 1861-1864; 3 folders
These papers include five letters (1864) from Francis Watkins to her husband and one letter from Patty Watkins to her brother. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wortley, Clark S., b. 1841 (MSS248)
Papers, 1860-1921; 3 boxes
Includes correspondence between Clark Wortly and his sister. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.


Please contact MARBL at 404-727-6887 or marbl@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.


updated 01-2003