from Robert W. Woodruff bookplate Robert W. Woodruff Library, Emory University
Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
Home >> Subject Guides >> Civil War Guide >> Union Collections


Union Collections

Union collections include correspondence, diaries, documents, and other materials relating to the experiences of Union soldiers and others who served in the army as surgeons, chaplains, or engineers. These collections often include political, military and civilian material as well.

Armor, William Crawford (MSS678)
Diary, 1864; 1 item
Civil War diary kept by Armor during the Atlanta campaign of 1864. Armor was an officer with the 28th Regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteers and the 2nd Division of the 20th Army Corps. The diary (20 August-23 September 1864) describes Armor's duties as an aide to Gen. John W. Geary, the shelling of Atlanta, an exchange of prisoners, and other observations and events. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Ayers, Alexander Miller, 1827-1902 (MSS276)
Papers, 1851-1921; 1 reel microfilm
Collection consists of 160 letters and 2 diaries written while Ayers was serving as a captain in the 125th Illinois Volunteer Infantry. He participated in the campaigns of Chickamauga, Chattanooga and Atlanta. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Babb, John D. (MSS360)
Family papers, 1862-1865; 8 folders
John D. Babb, Jr., of Baltimore, served as a Sergeant in Company B, 5th Maryland Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, USA. The Babbs were patriotic unionists and were opposed to both abolition and secession. Their letters reflect the divided allegiance of the Baltimore people and frequently mention the Secessionists as cheering Jeff Davis, circulating false stories about Confederate victories and refusing to be drafted. Also discussed are estrangement of neighbors, enmity between members of churches and other evidences of mutual suspicion and sectional strife. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

detail from engraving of a Union Camp at Newport News, VA, 1862 This detail of an engraving of the Union encampment at Newport News, Virginia, comes from a letter from John Babb to his mother. Babb was a Union soldier from Maryland. In this letter, he discusses his experiences in the army as they marched through Virginia. Click on the image to view the entire letter.

Baudick, Anthony J., b. 1840 (MSS72)
Papers, 1861-1865; 3 folders
Consists of 17 letters, 3 pocket diaries, and 1 folder of Baurdick's army papers. Baurdick enlisted in the 8th Regiment Infantry, Missouri Volunteers, American Zouaves Corps, Co. B, 11 June 1861 in St. Louis, Missouri. On 1 November 1862, he was appointed quartermaster sergeant and was discharged on 1 July 1864. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Baugh, William G., b. 1847 (MSS353)
Letters, 1864-1865; 1 folder
Twenty-six letters from Baugh to his parents. Baugh served as a private in Co. I, 76th regiment, Ohio Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Benedict, Edwin R., 1841-1901 (MSS374)
Diary, 1864-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Describes Benedict's service on the Union ships A.D. Vance and North Carolina (8 November 1864-20 May 1865). Benedict was on the Vance until March 1865 when he was assigned to the North Carolina. He continued to serve on the North Carolina as clerk to the paymaster. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Bennage, Enos (MSS383)
Diary, 1864-1914 (bulk 1864-1865); 5 items on 1 reel microfilm
Bennage served first as a sergeant, Co. L, 99th Pennsylvania Infantry, then was transferred to Co. I, 199th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment. He fought in the battle of Boydton Plank Road, Hatcher's Run, Virginia, 27 October 1864-28 October 1864, and helped in the breakthrough of the Confederate lines at Petersburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Birch, Thomas Stuart, 1840-1862 (MSS344)
Diaries, 1861-1862; 2 folders
Four small pocket diaries and 3 letters detailing Stuart's experiences as a member of Co. D, Tontowa Regiment, 2nd Iowa Infantry Volunteers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Bowman, Henry Clay, 1854-1924 (MSS381)
Diaries, 1863-1864; 10 items on 1 reel microfilm
Two pocket diaries of a private in Co. A, 93rd, Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry recount his service in Virginia where he fought in the Battle of the Wilderness. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Brigham, Alfred Milo, d. 1864 (MSS365)
Letters, 1860-1864; 1 reel of microfilm
Twenty letters from Brigham to his wife. Brigham served initially in the 24th or 39th Massachusetts Infantry and in 1863 was commissioned as a lieutenant in the 4th Regiment Infantry, U.S. Colored Troops. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Brown, Lucius Franklin, 1839-1863 (MSS472)
Papers, 1858-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Includes letters from Brown which reveal much detailed information about camp life and his own attitudes towards the war. Brown served in Co. H, 2nd Battalion, 18th Infantry, U.S.A., 4th Brigade, 1st Division, 14th Army Corps. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Bullard, Lucien C. (MSS372)
Diary, 1863; 1 reel microfilm
Bullard's diary records his experiences as a member of Co. E, 4th Vermont Regiment. He fought in the Battle of Gettysburg and took part in operations in Virginia and Maryland. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Burdick, John M., d. 1865 (MSS323)
Diary, 1864; 1 reel microfilm
Burdick's diary (19 June 1864-24 October 1864) describes daily life in Andersonville Prison. Before his capture and the Battle of Lynchburg, Burdick served as a sergeant in Co. I, 21st New York Cavalry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Burton, James, d. 1865? (MSS120)
Diary, 1864; 1 folder
Burton's diary begins with his service as a lieutenant in Co. F, 122nd Regiment of the New York Volunteers in North Carolina, January 1864, and describes his later capture and imprisonment in Andersonville Prison. The diary is largely devoted to his prison life at Andersonville where he remained five months. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Civil War Reports (MSS160)
Reports, 1861-1865; 1 oversized item
One volume of morning reports containing two sets of entries. The entries for Dec 1861 through Jun 1863 were made by officers of the 26th Pennsylvania Infantry, U.S. Army while those for Jul 1863 through Apr 1865 were made by officers of Co. B., Virginia Battalion of Heavy Artillery, C.S.A. Army. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Cox, Charles Harding, 1844-1928 (MSS330)
Papers, 1860-1928; ca. 162 items and 1 reel microfilm
Charles Cox was a member of the 70th Regiment, Indiana Infantry and ought in the battles of Resaca, Dallas, New Hope Church, Golgotha, Kennesaw Mountain, Peachtree Creek, and Atlanta, and went on the March to the Sea with Sherman. Most of the letters in this collection were written during the war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Cox, Harvey Warren, 1875-1944 (MSS38)
Papers, 1865-1880; 2 boxes
A small portion of the papers relate to Harvey Cox's father, Christopher Columbus Cox, who served in Co. H, 34th Regiment, Illinois Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Craig, Samuel, d. 1864 (MSS345)
Letters, 1861-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Consists of Craig's letters detailing his experiences as a Union soldier in an Illinois regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Crydenwise, Henry M. (MSS52)
Letters, 1861-1866; 7 folders
Crydenwise served as a captain in Co. A, 1st Regiment, Corp D'Afrique which later became Co. A of the 73rd Regiment Infantry. His letters give vivid details of the engagements that he took part in, particularly the siege of Port Hudson and the Red River Campaign. Also comments on his experiences commanding African-American troops. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Curtis, Greeley Stevenson (MSS768)
Papers, 1861-1863; 1 box
Curtis was commissioned 24 May 1861 in the Second Regiment of the Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, Co. B and promoted to major and later lieutenant colonel in the First Massachusetts Cavalry Regiment. The collection includes letters to various family members and friends written from camps in Massachusetts, Maryland, Virginia, and South Carolina and discuss daily activities and battles fought.

Dalzell, William, d. 1863 (MSS79)
Letters, 1862-1863; 7 folders
Dalzell's letters recount his experiences as a first lieutenant in the New York Infantry, 142nd Regiment, Co. C. He saw action in the defense of Washington, D.C., the siege of Suffolk, Virginia, the siege of Battery Wagner, S.C. and the bombardment of Fort Sumter. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Darling, Charles B., d. 1864 (MSS390)
Correspondence, 1861-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Darling served in Co. D, 130th New York Infantry Regiment. His letters concern all phases of army life including war news and rumors, marches, travel by train, campsites, and fellow soldiers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Davis, Frederic E. (MSS356)
Letters, 1860-1863; 3 folders plus additions, 1 reel microfilm
Davis, a Union seaman, served on various gunboats on the Ohio, the Mississippi, and smaller rivers in Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi. Includes letters, a Civil War diary, and a pre-Civil War journal. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Dimock Family (MSS587)
Papers, 1827-1918 (bulk 1850-1890); 4 boxes, 1 medal, 11 fragile photographs
Joseph Judson Dimock served as an officer of the 2nd Regiment, New York State Militia and the 82nd Regiment, New York Volunteers and participated in the First Battle of Bull Run and the Peninsular Campaign. The papers include 35 letters written by Dimock to his family during this period, and 4 photographs of Dimock and fellow officers at Camp Powell in Washington, D.C. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Duren, Charles M., 1842?-1869 (MSS267)
Papers, 1861-1869; 1 box, 1 bound volume
Mainly Civil War letters of Duren to his parents in Maine. Also includes scrapbook containing many general orders, autographs of officers, blank forms, countersigns and other materials. Duren was a staff officer in the 24th Massachusetts Regiment, who later served as adjutant to U.S. military headquarters in New Bern, N.C., Hilton Head, Morris Island and Folly Island, S.C. When he was wounded, Duren was an officer commanding an African-American regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Elwood, John W. (John William), 1842-1933 (MSS593)
Papers, 1851-1930 (bulk 1860-1865); 2 boxes
Includes correspondence concerning Elwood's service in Co. A, 22nd Regiment, Pennsylvania Cavalry (Ringgold Volunteer Cavalry) as both corporal and sergeant. Also contains Elwood's reminiscences of the Ringgold Cavalry from which Elwood published a history. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Fish, Edwin R. (MSS418)
Papers, 1862-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Fish's letters detail his experiences in the 3rd New York Light Artillery at New Bern, N.C. Topics discussed include food, morale, discipline, morals, officers, and religion. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Frisbie, Ichabod, 1835-1918 (MSS396)
Papers, 1862-1865; 10 folders plus 1 reel microfilm (additions)
Frisbie's letters and journal give accounts of his experiences in Co. F, 35th Iowa Volunteer Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Gates, Luther L. (MSS474)
Letters, 1862-1865; 2 folders
Gates' letters concern his experiences as a member of Co. A, 60th Regiment, New York State Volunteers. Includes information about camps in northern Virginia and the Atlanta Campaign. Also contains 4 photographs of an unidentified soldier in uniform. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Goodrich, Blake (MSS369)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 item on 1 microfilm reel
Goodrich served with the 7th New Hampshire Regiment. The papers consist of one manuscript of reminiscences detailing the weaponry used in the war; the reaction at Appomattox, on the beauty of wilderness, and events leading to the fall of Richmond. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Gordon, Samuel M. (MSS317)
Diary, 1861; 1 reel microfilm
Gordon's diary details his experiences as a member of Co. H, 25th Regiment, Ohio Regulars, particularly the Battle of Cheat Mountain Summit, West Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Hamilton, David, d. 1864 (MSS384)
Letters, 1863-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Hamilton's letters describe his service as a private in the 110th Ohio Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Harmon, Arthur A., d. 1863 (MSS388)
Letters, 1861-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Harmon's letters detail his experiences as a Union soldier in Co. E, 17th Regiment, Maine Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Hoster, John L. (MSS464)
Diary, 1862-1865; 1 bound volume
Hoster served in a New York regiment and spent time in Andersonville Prison. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Humphrey, John, b. 1818 (MSS497)
Papers, 1856-1865; 6 folders
Includes Humphrey's Civil War diary in which he records his experiences as a member of 50th Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry. Also contains a photograph of an unidentified soldier in uniform. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Lee, John Furman, 1842-1910 (MSS431)
Diary, 1863-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Lee's diary recounts his experiences in Co. H, 5th New Jersey Regiment, Volunteers, in parole camp at Annapolis, and in the Mine Run Campaign and various skirmishes in Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Manson, Charles H. (MSS454)
Papers, 1861-1918 (bulk 1861-1865); 1 reel microfilm
Manson's letters detail his service in two Vermont regiments, and contain abundant and informative details about various aspects of army life, such as food and its preparation, clothing, morale, religion, shelter, camp routine, and the Southern people and countryside. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Manson, Joseph (MSS387)
Letters, 1864-1866; 1 reel microfilm
Correspondence between Manson and his wife (132 items) describing his experiences in the 27th Regiment and 12th Regiment, Iowa Volunteers. Manson's letters are written from various points in Iowa, Mississippi, Louisiana, and Alabama. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Mead, Chauncey W. (MSS498)
Letters, 1862-1865; 1 folder (photocopies)
Mead's letters detail his service as a sergeant in Co. E, 103rd Ohio Volunteer Infantry (49 items). The letters contain much information about camp life, especially food, shelter, diversions, and discipline, but little about combat. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Microfilm Miscellany (MSS54)
Collection; 1 reel microfilm
Includes 32 letters (1862-1864) of Private Daniel Peck to his sister in Chatauqua, New York, describing his experiences in Co. E, 9th New York Cavalry Regiment.

Monks, Zerah Coston, b. 1841 (MSS376)
Papers, 1859-1867; 1 reel microfilm
Monks' letters recount his service in Co. C, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers and later in Co. E of the 155th Pennsylvania Volunteers as a sergeant. His letters describe his experiences in the battles of Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, and Gettysburg. They also contain information about winter quarters in Virginia in 1864. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Morrison, Silas (MSS385)
Letters, 1862-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Morrison's letters (9 items) detail his service as a sergeant in Co. B, 110th Ohio Regiment, and later in Co. K, 3rd Regiment, Veteran Reserve Corps. His letters include information about camp life, marches, and scouting parties.See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Nailer, George W., 1837-1864 (MSS359)
Papers, 1824-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Includes 14 letters and a diary recounting Nailer's service as a sergeant in the 13th Pennsylvania Cavalry. The manuscripts describe conditions of army life, specifically food, clothing, shelter, his reactions to the war, and military activities. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Newton, Nathan G. (MSS364)
Letters, 1862-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Newton's letters recount his experiences in Co. F, 45th Massachusetts Regiment, and contain good detail on combat, camp routine, food, and shelter. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Oswald, Peter (MSS478)
Correspondence, 1864-1865; 1 folder
Oswald's letters (30 items) detail his service as a private in Co. H, 209th Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Parkinson, William M., d. 1863 (MSS93)
Letters, 1861-1863; 1 folder
Parkinson's letters recount his experiences as a sergeant in Co. C, 11th Illinois Infantry Regiment. They include information on camp life, drills, troop movements and skirmishes, recruitment, and materials relating to the training of an African-American regiment. The letters have been photocopied. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Peirson, Edwin C., b. 1840 (MSS421)
Papers, 1851-1906 (bulk 1861-1865); 1 reel microfilm
Peirson's letters (22 items) describe his experiences in Co. G, 85th Regiment, New York Infantry. Most of his service was in the vicinity of Fort Monroe, Virginia, and Plymouth, North Carolina, but he met with relatively little combat. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Perrigo Family (MSS635)
Correspondence, 1862-1877; 1 box
Includes letters of John E. Perrigo who served in Co. H, 22nd Wisconsin Volunteers (an infantry regiment of the Army of the Cumberland) which concern his daily routine and little of specific military actions. Also includes letters of Lyman Church, a close friend of the family, recounting his experiences in the same infantry regiment and later his stint as a nurse at an army hospital in Keokuk, Iowa. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Pictorial File
Collection
This collection contains photographs, prints, broadsides, and other visual images of the Civil War. An index to the collection can be found in the card catalog in the Special Collections Department.

Pierce, Samuel B., b. 1842 (MSS407)
Reminiscences, 1862-1865; 2 reels of microfilm
The narrative of Samuel B. Pierce, written in the form of a diary, is based on his own letters and the letters of other soldiers. The narrative also draws on newspaper clippings and other sources. Pierce served in 135th Regiment, New York, Volunteer Regiment and 6th Regiment, New York Heavy Artillery as both a corporal and a sergeant. He describes army life in detail, comments on the South and its people, and his own beliefs and ideas, e.g., his reaction to Lincoln's assassination. His regiments served in the defense of Baltimore, the Spotslvania Campaign, the Battle of Harris Farm, and the Petersburg Campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Redwood-Cannon Family (MSS295)
Papers, 1843-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Includes a diary (October 1861-13 April 1864) of an unknown Civil War soldier. The soldier appears to have been originally from Kentucky but was fighting on the Union side. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Rigby, Alfred A., b. 1841 (MSS368)
Diary, 1862-1865; 1 item, 1 reel microfilm
Rigby's diary (12 August 1862-31 December 1865) records Rigby's service in Co. B, 24th Regiment, Iowa Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Roseberry, Isaac (MSS391)
Diary, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Isaac Roseberry's diary (16 November 1861-4 October 1865) chronicles his experiences as a soldier in Co. D, 1st Regiment, Michigan Engineers and Mechanics. After serving three years in Co. D, he re enlisted in the Veterans Volunteers. The diary is notable for the detailed information given concerning engineering activities in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, Bridgeport, Alabama, Chattanooga, Tennessee, Atlanta, Georgia, and Savannah, Georgia. He accompanied Sherman on the march to Savannah and to Raleigh, North Carolina. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Slack, Albert L. (MSS459)
Correspondence, 1862-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Slack's letters recount his service as a member of Co. D, 121st Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry, and contain detailed information about army life. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Smith, Jennie Safford (MSS415)
Correspondence, 1862-1868; 1 reel microfilm
Includes 69 letters addressed to Jennie Safford of Delavan, Wisconsin from: Henry Armstrong of Co. L., 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Cavalry; John R. Siperly of the 22nd Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteers; and William W. Barlow of Co. D, 22nd Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Stone, Annie Brown (MSS306)
Papers, 1861-1869; 1 reel microfilm
Includes 5 letters of Confederate soldiers and 1 written from Atlanta by a Union soldier. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Taylor, Thomas Thomson, b. 1837 (MSS354)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 folder, 2 reels of microfilm
Includes correspondence, diaries, and photographs relating to Thomas Taylor's service in the Civil War, first as a lieutenant of Co. I, 12th Ohio Volunteers, then as a captain and later colonel of the 47th Ohio. The letters are well written, with vivid descriptions of the scenery, the people, food, the whereabouts of Confederate and Union forces, scouting expeditions, and the capture of prisoners. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Thurston, Charles Brown, 1843-1920 (MSS97)
Papers, 1861-1869; 1 box, 1 bound volume
Mainly Civil War correspondence of Charles Thurston who served as a clerk in the 13th Maine Infantry which saw duty in Florida and Louisiana. Thurston goes into great detail in describing his activities and those of armies in nearby areas. His letters are well written and informative as to the conditions under which he lived. He gives special attention to detailing the lives and activities of the African-American troops. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Tift, W. Orville (MSS375)
Papers, 1862-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Tift's letters describe his service in Co. K, 26th Connecticut Volunteer Regiment. He recounts the voyage from New York to Louisiana where he was stationed at Camp Parapet, the camp itself, picket duty, and his work in a hospital in Baton Rouge. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Tindall, Bettie (MSS273)
Papers, 1860-1903; 5 folders, 1 box
The majority of the correspondence in this collection is between Bettie Tindall of Fayette, Missouri and Frank Dodd, who was stationed at Headquarters West Sub-District of Nebraska, Fort Laramie, Dakota Territory. Several letters give brief descriptions of army post life in the territories after the Civil War, and many are concerned with conflicting loyalties common in border states at the time of the Civil War. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Union Microfilm miscellany (MSS468)
Collection, 1861-1865; 2 reels of microfilm
This collection of miscellaneous Union manuscripts includes one collection of Civil War letters and three diaries:

Cohn, Jacob
Journal, 1863-1864; 1 item on 1 microfilm reel
Jacob Cohn was a member of Co. A, 54th Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment. His journal contains lists of supplies sold (1 Jun-28 Sept 1863), brief entries tracing the movements of his regiment in Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia (15 Apr-18 Jun 1864), and casualty lists. The battles of New Market and Piedmont are mentioned, and lists of regiment members killed or wounded in these engagements are included..
Girdner, Ephraim L., 1840-1915
Papers, 1861-1906; 1 microfilm reel
Girdner's letters recount his experiences as a first sergeant in Co. H of the 66th Indiana Infantry Regiment. He served with this regiment in Kentucky, Indiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee, Georgia, the Carolinas, and Virginia. Topics include observations on military life and army activities; recruiting; African-Americans and their service in the Union army; destruction of southern lands by Union troops; the importance of railroads; the Atlanta Campaign; Northern charity; the burning of Columbia, South Carolina; and the contrast between Sherman's army and the Army of the Potomac. Post-war materials include an informal regimental history by Girdner, and information about the veteran's organization, the Society of the Army of the Tennessee.
McEathron, Alexander, d. 1890
Papers, 1861-1863; 24 items on 1 microfilm reel
McEathron's letters and diary detail his service in Co. G, 15th Illinois Volunteer Infantry Regiment. Topics include conditions in the army and family business matters and are addressed from various points in Missouri, Tennessee, and Mississippi.
Roesfel, R. H. F.
Diary, 1862-1863; 1 item on 1 reel microfilm
Roesfel's diary recounts his experiences in Co. A, 153rd Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment. Many entries concern camp life in the Fredericksburg, Virginia area. Also noted are his visit to the site of the Battle of 2nd Bull Run (Nov 1862), his illness and hospitalization (Dec 1862-Feb 1863), and his involvement in skirmishes at Gettysburg (Jul 1863). The diary ends after he was wounded at Gettysburg on 1 Jul 1863. Later details of his regiment's fighting at Gettysburg were apparently written based on information received from his comrades.

Union Miscellany (MSS99)
Collection, 1861-1865; 2 boxes, 1 bound volume
An artificial collection of miscellaneous manuscripts (or copies of manuscripts) written from the Union perspective, including the following:

Munns, James
Papers, 1856-1865; 11 items
The papers of James Munns, who served in the 29th Iowa Infantry, Co. D, include letters and a diary (24 Feb 1863-11 Aug 1863) which describe military life and action in the vicinity of Helena, Arkansas.
Prichard, Elias J., 1840-1886
Letters, 1863-1864; 6 items
Prichard served with Co. F of the 22nd Regiment Wisconsin Infantry. He was a member of the regimental band and was detailed to serve as a nurse during the Atlanta Campaign. The collection consists of six letters dating from 1863-1864, addressed to his sister and brother-in-law and follow his movement in Kentucky, Tennessee and Georgia, where he participated in the Atlanta Campaign.

Welles Family (MSS402)
Papers, 1721-1871; 1 reel microfilm
Includes 4 letters relating to Gideon Welles who served as secretary of the Navy under Lincoln. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wesson, Hale, 1843-1875 (MSS379)
Papers, 1861-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Wesson's letters (64 items) recount his experiences in the 25th Regiment Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry and also that of his brothers, James, Alonzo, and Edward Wesson. The letters describe camps, battles, and expeditions in Maryland, Roanoke Island, New Bern, N.C., and Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wightman, Edward King, 1835-1865 (MSS463)
Correspondence, 1862-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Wightman's correspondence describes his service as a private in Co. B, 9th New York Regiment (Hawkins' Zouaves). They give great detail concerning various aspects of army life including food, clothing, equipment, diversions, discipline, morale, officer-soldier relations, and attitudes towards Confederates. He was later transferred to Morris' Battery, 3rd Division, 9th Army Corps, and also to Co. H, 3rd New York Infantry Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wiley, Bell Irvin, 1906- (MSS521)
Papers, [ca. 1937-1981]; ca. 186 boxes
Papers of this Civil War historian and Emory professor include materials relating to his book-length publications including correspondence, drafts, illustrations, and research notes; also includes files relating to his teaching activities, and original letters, diaries and other items of the Civil War era collected in the course of his research. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wortley, Clark S., b. 1841 (MSS248)
Papers, 1860-1921; 1,094 items
Includes correspondence, official Army papers, and miscellaneous materials, including a diary of Clark Wortley, who served in Co. K, 20th Regiment, Michigan Infantry Volunteers. Wortley's regiment saw service mainly in Virginia and Tennessee, with the Armies of the Cumberland, the Potomac, and the Mississippi. The diary contains entries for the year 1864-1865 and includes brief descriptions of his regiment's participation in the Petersburg, Cold Harbor, and Spotsylvania campaigns. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.


Please contact Special Collections at 404-727-6887 or speccollref@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.


updated 09-2005