Slaves and Freedmen During the Civil War |
These collections include materials focusing on slavery as an economic and cultural institution in the South. There is some discussion regarding the collapse of slavery in the southern states. Some of the collections listed here include information about African-Americans who served in the war, white attitudes towards African-Americans, and other materials regarding the African-American population during the war years.
Babb, John D. (MSS360)
Family papers, 1862-1865; 8 folders
John D. Babb of Baltimore, Maryland served in Company B, 5th Maryland Regiment, Volunteer Infantry for the United States. He and his family were patriotic unionists who opposed both abolition and secession. In their correspondence, Babb, his parents and his sister Agnes discuss slavery, secession, politics, religion, enmity among neighbors in Baltimore, and military concerns. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Barnsley, Godfrey, 1805-1873 (MSS13)
Family papers, 1822-1980 (bulk 1826-1873); 6 boxes, 11 oversized folders, 2 bound volumes, 1 reel microfilm
Godfrey Barnsley worked as a merchant and planter in Savannah, Georgia, and New Orleans, LA. Correspondence in the collection discusses the impact of the Civil War and Reconstruction on the Southern life, primarily from an economic and slavery perspective. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Battey, Robert, 1828-1895 (MSS361)
Papers, 1810-1894; 13 folders, 1 oversized item
Robert Battey was a physician, pharmacist and professor who served as a surgeon in the Confederate Army. Correspondence from the 1850's discusses the institution of slavery in the southern states. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Blackshear, James Appleton, 1841-1867 (MSS302)
Diaries, 1862-1867; 1 reel microfilm
James Appleton Blackshear was an educator and Confederate soldier. He discusses slavery in his wartime correspondence as well as Reconstruction and political strife of the time. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Bratton, John (MSS373)
Letters, 1861-1865; 1 reel of microfilm
John Bratton was a slave owner from South Carolina who served in the 6th South Carolina regiment and rose to brigadier general in Longstreet's Corps. Some of his correspondence discuss the position of an upper class South Carolinian at the outbreak of the war and his views on the conflict. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Brigham, Alfred Milo, d. 1864 (MSS365)
Letters, 1860-1864; 1 reel of microfilm
Brigham was commissioned as a lieutenant in the 4th Regiment Infantry, United States Colored Troops in 1863. Brigham discussed his African-American body servant, but writes little of the African-American troops in his infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Clark, James Osgood Andrews, 1827-1894 (MSS19)
Papers, 1807-1945; 9 boxes
James Osgood Andrew Clark was a clergyman, educator, and lawyer from Georgia. The collection includes slave songs and music, remembrances of plantation life by his wife Ella, and a longer recollection of slavery days by Lucius H. Holsey. Papers of his daughter Lella also include information on slavery and plantations. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)
These materials include 2 slave sale receipts dated 1859 and 1860.
Cooper, William, 1802-1887 (MSS547)
Diaries, 1859-1887; 1 box plus 5 reels of microfilm
William Cooper practiced law in Alabama and lived at Tuscumbia, Alabama and at Magnolia Plantation, near Friar's Point, Cahoma County, Mississippi. Topics include African-Americans, and events of the Civil War and Reconstruction. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Crydenwise, Henry M. (MSS52)
Letters, 1861-1866; 7 folders
Henry Crydenwise was a Union soldier from New York who eventually became captain of the Corp D'Afrique, an African-American regiment. Crydenwise also served as head of the Freedman's Bureau in Dempolis Alabama until January 1866. His correspondence includes discussion of leading African-American troops and views on African-Americans and slavery. Crydenwise comments on his experiences commanding African-American troops. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Dobbins, John S., 1800-1886 (MSS322)
Papers, 1834-1916; 2 reels microfilm
John Dobbins was a planter and merchant in South Carolina and Georgia. Correspondence in the collection discusses agriculture and farming, slavery and freedmen, education, family, transportation and communication, politics, economics, the Civil War, and Reconstruction. There are some letters written by former slaves, a letter concerning a possible member of the Ku Klux Klan in the family, slave purchase receipts, a certificate for a free man of color dated 1860, and agreements on hiring of slave labor and apprenticeships. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Duren, Charles M., 1842?-1869 (MSS267)
Papers, 1861-1869; 1 box, 1 bound volume
Duren served as an officer commanding an African-American regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Featherston, Lucius Horace, 1814-1886 (MSS504)
Papers, 1825-1979; 21 boxes, 2 bound volumes, 1 oversized bound volumes, 3 oversized items
Lucius Featherston was a landowner, lawyer and judge from Newnan, Georgia. The papers include business and financial records concerning slavery on a Georgia plantation. The collections also contains information on the effort of the Methodist Church to colonize former slaves during Reconstruction. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Fogle, Theodore T. (Theodore Turner), 1834-1864 (MSS436)
Letters, 1851-1865; 1 box
Theodore Fogle was a Confederate soldier from Georgia. The correspondence between Fogle and various family members discuss slavery as well as family activities, hospitals, life in the army, and various battles Fogle participated in or witnessed. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Frisbie, Ichabod, 1835-1918 (MSS396)
Papers, 1862-1865; 10 folders plus 1 reel microfilm (additions)
Frisbie served in the Union army and as a flour mill operator in Iowa and Nebraska. Frisbie's correspondence, diaries and writings include information on African-Americans and his outlooks on a variety of issues including slavery. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Gourdin, Robert N., 1812-1894 (MSS27)
Papers, 1841-1909; 3 boxes
Gourdin was a merchant, public official and military officer from Berekely, South Carolina. Correspondence between Gourdin family member includes discussions of slavery and slave sales as well as states rights, the outbreak of war, Charleston politics, and secession in general. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Graves family (MSS327)
Papers, 1818-1939; 3 boxes, 3 oversized items, 12 oversized bound volumes
The Graves family owned a plantation in Georgia and were prominent Georgia citizens. The papers include slave registries, slave bills of sale, plantation records, and pictorial works.
Great Britain. Consulate (Savannah, Ga.) (MSS15)
Papers, 1859-1866; 1 partial box
The post war letters of the records include information on an African-American named Samuel Edwards who had been kidnapped from Nassau and sold as a slave in Georgia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Hambleton, James P. (James Pickney), 1830-1897 (MSS29)
Papers, 1857-1893; 1 box, 1 oversized folder
Hambleton served as first editor of the Southern Confederacy and served as a surgeon for the 4th Battalion, Georgia Infantry. His post war correspondence includes observations and information on African-Americans and Reconstruction Georgia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Hanleiter, Cornelius R., 1861-1865 (MSS426)
Diary, 1861-1865; 2 bound volumes plus 1 reel microfilm
Hanleiter was a journalist and Confederate soldier. He helped establish such publications as the Southern Confederacy and Gate City Guardian. His writings and diaries include some information on African-Americans and slavery. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Harrold Brothers (Firm : Americus, Ga.) (MSS7)
Records, 1826-1964; 482 boxes; 2178, 1 oversized item
The Americus, Georgia, firm of Harrold Brothers, cotton warehousemen, commission merchants, and bankers, was established in 1859 as Harrold, Johnson and Company, and was dissolved in 1953 upon the death of the last partner. Some of the correspondence and financial records include information on slave sales and financial aspects of slavery. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Jones, Joseph Bertram, 1817-1896 (MSS134)
Papers, 1793-1910; 1 box
Joseph B. Jones was an attorney, legislator and planter from Burke County Georgia. His correspondence with his sons frequently discuss slavery as well as a wide range of political and social topics. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Long, Nimrod William Ezekiel, 1834-1923 (MSS416)
Papers, 1859-1865; 2 folders, 1 volume, 1 reel microfilm (additions)
Long was a planter, legislator and Confederate soldier from Georgia and Alabama. Most of the correspondence is from Long to his wife. He discusses the discipline of slaves in some of them as well as general information about taking care of the plantation. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Manson, Charles H. (MSS454)
Papers, 1861-1918 (bulk 1861-1865); 1 reel microfilm
Charles Manson was a Union soldier from Vermont. He writes to his family of his observations on the South and public and social life in the South, including slavery. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
McFall, William (MSS423)
Papers, 1862-1865; two folders
William McFall, miller, landowner, and soldier, was born ca. 1840, lived in or near Anderson, South Carolina. He served in the Palmetto Sharpshooters during the Civil war. His correspondence includes information on his relationship with African-Americans including those he owned as slaves and those African-Americans he fought against during the war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Parkinson, William M., d. 1863 (MSS93)
Letters, 1861-1863
William M. Parkinson, Union soldier and miller, was born ca. 1840, and died in July 1863, at Milliken's Bend, Louisiana. He was a resident of Centralia, Illinois, and enlisted in the 11th Illinois Infantry, Company C. He served in Missouri, and West Tennessee, and helped raise a company of African American troops whom he served as captain (1863). He drilled the company in the area of Lake Providence and Milliken's Bend, Louisiana, and died of typhoid fever he contracted there. Some of the correspondence discusses the training of African-American troops. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Perkins, Sheppard E. (MSS220)
Papers, 1860-1879; two folders
Sheppard Perkins worked for the Perkins Lumber company in Georgia. He hired African-Americans during and after the Civil War. The letters include correspondence and business papers relating to the hiring of African-Americans. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Pitts, Thomas Henry, 1834-1871 (MSS440)
Papers, 1856-1875; 1 reel microfilm
Thomas Henry Pitts was a farmer, businessman, and Confederate soldier from nearby Clinton, South Carolina. He writes about South Carolina social and living conditions, secession and other issues related to the civil War. Pitts and his wife Lizzie write about the deplorable state of affairs for his plantation during Reconstruction. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Ray, Lavender R., 1842-1916 (MSS315)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Ray served as ordnance officer in Iverson's Division of Cavalry. His servant, a family slave named Dick Thompson, accompanied him throughout the war. His letters include discussion of Dick Thompson. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Reid / Jordan family (MSS749)
Papers, 1767-1895; 2 boxes.
The collection includes slave bills of sales and registries. One letter from Joshua Hill of Morgan County includes revealing comments on race relations. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
 |
This document appraises the monetary value of a group of slaves that Sarah Smith left to Reid Smith in her will. The appraisal was done in 1860. To read this document, click on the image. |
Rigby, Alfred A., b. 1841 (MSS368)
Diary, 1862-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Alfred Rigby was a teacher and Union soldier form Iowa. He writes about slavery and social conditions he observes while serving in the Union army in Iowa, Virginia, Arkansas, Mississippi, and Georgia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Rogers, Loula Kendall, 1838-1931 (MSS696)
Family papers, 1811-1954; 49 boxes, 17 oversized items, 3 bound volumes, 3 boxes of fragile photographs
Loula Kendall Rogers was a teacher and poet who married James Rogers, a merchant, depot agent and Confederate soldier. Letters and writing in the collection discuss southern social life. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Stiles, William H. (William Henry), 1809-1865 (MSS229)
Papers, 1749-1892 (bulk 1835-1865); 6 boxes, 6 oversized folders plus 3 reels of microfilm
Stiles was a lawyer, planter and politician from Savannah and Cass (now Bartow) Georgia. The collections includes writings, correspondence, records, clippings and diaries and include some discussion of slavery and plantation life. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Thiot family (MSS297)
Papers, 1756-1865; 2 boxes plus 1 reel microfilm
Charles Henry Thiot served as a confederate soldier and owned a plantation in Georgia. The collection includes bills of sale and other records of slaves. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Thurston, Charles Brown, 1843-1920 (MSS97)
Papers, 1861-1869; 1 box, 1 bound volume
Thurston served as a clerk in the 13th Maine Infantry. Thurston also commanded two work details of African American troops in the construction of levees near Donaldsonville, Louisiana. He writes about the lives and activities of the African American troops he commanded. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Union Microfilm Misc. (MSS468)
- Girdner, Ephraim L., 1840-1915
Papers, 1861-1906 (bulk 1861-1865); 297 items on 1 microfilm reel
Ephraim Girdner served as a first sergeant in Co. H of the 66th Indiana Infantry Regiment. He discusses African-Americans and their service in the Union army.
See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Wiley, Bell Irvin, 1906- (MSS521)
Papers, [ca. 1937-1981]; ca. 100 boxes
Papers of this Civil War historian and Emory professor include photographs of slaves from New Orleans (1864). There is also a photograph of Uncle Steve Eberhardt (1830-?) in his Confederate in uniform at Confederate reunion in Montgomery, Alabama, 1931. Eberhardt described himself as the "biggest chicken thief" in the Confederate Army. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Willink, Henry Frederick, b. 1825 (MSS243)
Papers, 1861-1879; 44 items
As a member of the Savannah shipbuilding firm of Willink & Miller, Willink contracted with the Confederate Navy (1861) for the construction of the gunboat, "Macon", and ironclad steamers, "Savannah" and "Milledgeville". According to a May 1879 issue of the Savannah Times, Willink was at that time a Savannah alderman. The collection includes receipts for payment of slave laborers on shipbuilding projects. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Please contact MARBL at 404-727-6887 or marbl@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.
|