from Robert W. Woodruff bookplate Robert W. Woodruff Library, Emory University
Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
Home >> Subject Guides >> Civil War Guide >> Religion


Religion and the Civil War

These collections detail the experiences of army chaplains, ministers, churches, and laymen of different faiths during the Civil War.

Chaney, George Leonard, 1836-1922 (MSS639)
Papers, 1856-1908 (bulk 1896-1904); 3 boxes, 1 oversized item
A Unitarian minister, Chaney served at camp hospitals of the United States Sanitary Commission during the Civil War. The papers include his Civil War correspondence. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Fellowship Church (Fellowship, Ga.) (MSS516)
Records, 1829-1867, 1876-1880; 2 bound volumes
One record book is for the Civil War period, Book One: 1829-1867 Regular Baptist Church. The church began as a Baptist church, but switched to the Church of Christ. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Friendship Baptist Church (Americus, Ga.) (MSS433)
Records, 1839-1964; 1 reel of microfilm
The collection consists of microfilm of four bound volumes of meetings, dated December 15, 1839-February 9 1864. There is brief mention of the Civil War and slavery. In 1870, there is information on the formation of another church by some black members. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Galloway, Charles B. (Charles Betts), 1849-1909 (MSS39)
Papers, 1879-1910; 3 folders
Galloway was a Methodist bishop and editor. Galloway's papers include correspondence dated 1898 and 1899 concerning the "war claim" over the occupation of the publishing house of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, by union troops during the civil war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Goulding, F.R. (Francis Robert), 1810-1881 (MSS197)
Papers, 1846-1934; 4 folders
Mainly Goulding's Civil War correspondence. Goulding was a Georgia Presbyterian minister, author, and inventor. In the correspondence, there is discussion of the lack of Presbyterian ministers in Confederate army camps. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Independent Presbyterian Church (Savannah, Ga.) (MSS490)
Records, 1800-1960; 15 reels of microfilm
The records consist of minutes, attendance rolls, handbooks, and membership records of the Civil War period for the Savannah church. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Keener, John Christian, 1819-1906 (MSS204)
Papers, 1864-1865; 1 folder
Keener was a Methodist bishop. The papers include documents and correspondence detailing the return of Methodist Church, South, property in New Orleans that had been confiscated by the Union Army. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

detail from a letter from Keener to President Andrew Johnson, 1865
The papers include correspondence discussing the return of property belonging to the Methodist Church, South, in New Orleans that had been confiscated by the Union Army. Churches with white congregations were returned, but those with black congregations were turned over to the northern Methodist Episcopal Church. Click on the image to view two documents concerning this matter.

Oliver, Charles James, 1831-1914 (MSS444)
Papers, 1832-1868; 1 reel microfilm
As a soldier-chaplain in the Troup Artillery, Oliver maintained a journal in which he recorded his comments on daily events, sermon outlines, and religious arguments. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Sanders, Samuel David (MSS422)
Papers, 1861-1867; 1 reel microfilm
Sanders discusses his religious beliefs during his time as a soldier in the Confederate Army, in a South Carolina regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Scarbrough, Lemuel A., 1837-1918 (MSS349)
Diary, 1861-1862; 1 reel microfilm
In his diary, Scarbrough comments on religion in the army as well as food, discipline, railroad travel and entertainment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Smith, George Gilman, 1836-1913 (MSS228)
Papers, 1835-1956; 10 boxes, 1 oversized folder plus 1 reel microfilm
Smith served as a chaplain in Phillip's Georgia Legion during the war. The papers discus his experiences serving as a chaplain. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Winn, David Read Evans, 1831-1863 (MSS363)
Papers, 1861-1863; ca. 60 items
Winn's correspondence with his wife relates camp news, his attitude towards army life, and his concern for his family during his service as a first lieutenant in Company K, Sumter Light Guards, 4th Georgia Regiment. Of particular interest are three letters in which Winn mentions Jewish Confederate soldiers (December 12, 1861, July 9, 1862, and July 17, 1862). See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.


Please contact MARBL at 404-727-6887 or marbl@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.


updated 09-2005