Medicine During the Civil War |
These collections include materials concerning doctors who served in the war and hospitals.
Barnsley, Godfrey, 1805-1873 (MSS13)
Family papers, 1822-1980 (bulk 1826-1873); 6 boxes, 11 oversized folders, 2 bound volumes, 1 reel microfilm
George Barnsley worked as a hospital steward and served in the 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry. He wrote extensively about his field experiences and work in the hospital. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Battey, Robert, 1828-1895 (MSS361)
Papers, 1810-1894; 13 folders, 1 oversized item
Dr. Battey served as a surgeon in the Confederate Army. He began as senior surgeon of Hampton's brigade in July of 1861 and then served in hospitals in Atlanta, Rome and Vineville, Georgia and in Lauderdale, Mississippi. Near the end of the war he was in charge of a hospital in Macon, Georgia. The collection includes materials on Battey's service as a surgeon in Hampton's brigade. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Bone, Robert Donnell, 1832-1892 (MSS406)
Correspondence, 1861-1892 (bulk 1861-1863); 1 reel microfilm
Bone served as assistant surgeon in the 12th Texas Regiment, and served in Texas and Arkansas. The correspondence includes descriptions of his experiences. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Chaney, George Leonard, 1836-1922 (MSS639)
Papers, 1856-1908 (bulk 1896-1904); 3 boxes, 1 oversized item
Chaney was a Unitarian church leader who ministered to soldiers at camp hospitals of the United States Sanitary Commission. His correspondence discusses his experiences. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Fogle, Theodore T. (Theodore Turner), 1834-1864 (MSS436)
Letters, 1851-1865; 1 box
Theodore Fogle was a Confederate soldier from Georgia. The correspondence between Fogle and various family members discuss hospitals as well as family activities, hospitals, life in the army, and various battles Fogle participated in or witnessed. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Harden, William Harmon (MSS462)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Harden served in Company G, 63rd Regiment. He spent a great deal of the war hospitalized in Savannah, Thunderbolt, and Macon during the war for a variety of illnesses, including measles. Most of the letters in the papers are written by Harden. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Hood, Rebecca Rainey (MSS325)
Papers, 1862-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Rebecca Hood's son wrote a four page letter from a hospital in Lowden, Tennessee about his experiences in the war and hospital. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Little, John R., 1832-1902 (MSS408)
Papers, 1861-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Little served both as a soldier in Jenkin's Brigade and as a hospital surgeon. His diary records his experiences serving as both soldier and surgeon. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Meriwether, John Samuel, 1830-1879 (MSS253)
Papers, 1862-1979 (bulk 1862-1864); 1 box (mostly photocopies of transcripts)
Meriwether served in the Alabama Infantry, 38th and 40th Regiments and later as the surgeon in charge of the Confederate hospital at Eufaula, Alabama. He discusses his experiences in letters to his wife. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Ocmulgee Hospital (Macon, Ga.) (MSS158)
Records, 1862-1865; 2 oversized bound volumes
Two records books from the Confederate hospital contain requisitions, forms, reports of cases, and other information. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
 |
| This detail comes from the first record book for the Ocmulgee Hospital. This entry, written by Assistant Surgeon P. Henry Wright, describes the dislocation of the "humerus forward" belonging to Private J. J. Mills. The report can be found on pages 5-7 in the record book. To see this report, click on the image. |
Perrigo Family (MSS635)
Correspondence, 1862-1877; 1 box
Lyman Church, a close friend of the Perrigo family from Wisconsin, discusses his experiences working as nurse at an army hospital in Keokuk, Iowa. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Stout, Samuel Hollingsworth, 1822-1903 (MSS274)
Papers, 1847-1955 (bulk 1861-1865); 5 boxes, 1 oversized folder plus 1 reel microfilm
Stout served as medical director of hospitals of the southeastern Confederate States. The papers include official correspondence concerning general and special orders, transportation of sick and wounded, reports, and transport of entire hospitals. There is also an order book for Flewellen Hospital in Cassville, Georgia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Tift, W. Orville (MSS375)
Papers, 1862-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Tift describes his work at a hospital in Baton Rouge. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Union Microfilm miscellany (MSS468)
Collection, 1861-1865; 2 reels of microfilm
- Roesfel, R. H. F.
Diary, 1862-1863; 1 item on 1 reel microfilm
In part of his diary, Union soldier and Pennsylvanian Roesfel discusses his illness and hospitalization from December 1862-February 1863. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Please contact MARBL at 404-727-6887 or marbl@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.
|