-
Civil War Battlefield Parks (National Park Service)
- The National Park Service provides extensive information on programs and history at all of the national parks, including battlefields. http://www2.cr.nps.gov/abpp/civil.htm#parks
-
Civil War Sites Advisory Commission Battle Summaries (National Park Service)
- The Civil War Sites Advisory Commission provides narratives, historical background and details on every Civil War battle. The commissions also strives to provide information and preservation of the nation's battlefields. http://www2.cr.nps.gov/abpp/battles/tvii.htm
-
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (National Park Service)
- The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a searchable database containing very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War. http://www.itd.nps.gov/cwss/
-
Civil War Women
Primary Sources on the Internet (Duke University)
- Duke University has provided an excellent resource for anyone interested in the experiences of women during the Civil War. The site includes links to digitized primary sources and finding aids on the Internet. http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/women/cwdocs.html
-
Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
- Documenting the American South is a digital collection of sources documenting Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. It includes "First-Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920," and "The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865." http://docsouth.unc.edu/
-
Freedmen and Southern Society Project (University of Maryland)
- The Freedmen and Southern Society Project depicts the drama of emancipation in the words of liberated slaves and defeated slaveholders, soldiers and civilians, common folk and the elite, Northerners and Southerners. The editors selected 50,000 documents from National Archives of the United States written between the beginning of the Civil War in 1861 and the beginning of Radical Reconstruction in 1867. The documents vividly speak for themselves, and interpretive essays by the editors provide historical context. http://www.inform.umd.edu/EdRes/Colleges/ARHU/Depts/History/Freedman/home.html
-
James A. Janke's links to online Civil War resources (Dakota State University)
- An extensive listing of Civil War sites organized by topic. http://homepages.dsu.edu/jankej/civilwar/civilwar.htm
-
National Civil War Museum
- The National Civil Museum, in Harrisburg Pennsylvania, attempts to portray the story of the Nation's Civil War without bias to Union or Confederate causes. http://www.nationalcivilwarmuseum.com/
-
Selected Civil War Photographs (American Memory, Library of Congress)
- This digital collection includes 1,118 photographs of military personnel, preparations for battle, and battle after-effects. Most of the images were made under the supervision of Mathew B. Brady. The collection also contains portraits of both Confederate and Union officers, and a selection of enlisted men. http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/cwphtml/cwphome.html
-
"Turning Point: the American Civil War" Exhibit (Atlanta History Center)
- This online exhibit includes a virtual tour of the onsite exhibit and images of artifacts. http://prometheus.cc.emory.edu/TurningPoint/pages/index.htm
-
United States Civil War Center (Louisiana State University)
- This site promotes the study of the Civil War from the perspectives of all professions, occupations and academic disciplines. The center includes extensive indexing of internet Civil War sites. http://www.cwc.lsu.edu/
-
United States History Research Guide (Emory University)
- The reference staff at Emory University have created an excellent resource for beginning your study of history. http://info.library.emory.edu/Ref/resguides/uhist/uhistindex.html
-
Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War (University of Virginia)
- The project connects the histories of two communities on either side of the Mason-Dixon line during the era of the American Civil War. It combines a narrative and an electronic archive of the sources on which the narrative is based. http://jefferson.village.virginia.edu/vshadow2/
Please contact MARBL at 404-727-6887 or marbl@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.