from Robert W. Woodruff bookplate Robert W. Woodruff Library, Emory University
Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
Home >> Subject Guides >> Civil War Guide >> Diaries


Civil War Diaries

This section lists collections that contain diaries or journals documenting some aspect of the Civil War.

Armor, William Crawford (MSS678)
Diary, 1864; 1 item
Diary kept by Armor during the Atlanta campaign of 1864. Armor was an officer with the 28th Regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteers and the 2nd Division of the 20th Army Corps. The diary (20 August-23 September 1864) describes Armor's duties as an aide to Gen. John W. Geary, the shelling of Atlanta, an exchange of prisoners, and other observations and events. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Ash, John H., d. 1918 (MSS12)
Papers, 1860-1865; 1 box plus 2 reels of microfilm (diaries are only on microfilm) The papers include twenty diaries. Ash served in Company B, 5th Regiment Georgia Cavalry (Georgia Hussars). He was made a lieutenant in ca. 1864 and served in the Savannah, Georgia, area; Florida (1864); north Georgia (during the Atlanta Campaign); and in South Carolina. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Ayers, Alexander Miller, 1827-1902 (MSS276)
Papers, 1851-1921; 1 reel microfilm
Ayers wrote 2 diaries while serving as captain in the 125th Illinois Volunteer Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Baurdick, Anthony J., b. 1840 (MSS72)
Papers, 1861-1865; 3 folders
The papers include Baurdick's 3 pocket diaries covering parts of the years 1861-1865. He came from a German American community and served (June, 1861- July, 1864) in the Missouri Infantry, 8th Regiment, Company B (American Zoaves) as a private and as a Quartermaster Sargeant. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Benedict, Edwin R., 1841-1901 (MSS374)
Diary, 1864-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Benedict was a Union Navy seaman. His diary describes life on board the Union ships A.D. Vance and North Carolina; his friends and family; and naval operations, including the bombardment of Fort Fisher, North Carolina, in December 1864, and its fall in January 1865; the blockade of Wilmington, North Carolina; and his ship's activities at Beaufort, South Carolina, Newport News, Virginia, and New York. His diary also records his activities while on leave at home in Herkimer County, New York. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Bennage, Enos (MSS383)
Papers, 1864-1914 (bulk 1864-1865); 1 reel microfilm Bennage served with the 99th and 199th Pennsylvania Infantry as a sergeant; was in the battle of Boydton Plank Road, Hatcher's Run, Virginia (1864); and helped break through the Confederate lines at Petersburg, Virginia. He was discharged in the summer of 1865. The diary documents his activities from 23 September 1864 to July 1865 and includes mention of Confederate deserters and visits between Union and Confederate soldiers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Birch, Thomas Stuart, 1840-1862 (MSS344)
Papers, 1861-1862; 2 folders
Birch served with the 2nd Iowa Infantry, Company D, Tontowa Regiment, and first went to St. Louis, Missouri to drill and guard prisoners. He also served in Tennessee and Mississippi and took part in the Battle of Shiloh. His four pocket diaries (Nov. 1861-Aug. 1862) document his activities and movements. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Blackshear, James Appleton, 1841-1867 (MSS302)
Diaries, 1862-1867; 1 reel microfilm
Blackshear served as a captain of infantry in the Georgia States Troops, as captain of artillery in the Provisional Army, and as Congressional District Enrolling Officer for Georgia; was an officer in charge of prisoners at places in Virginia, Georgia, and North Carolina; and was an instructor of Light Infantry Tactics for officers at Anderson, Georgia. His four diaries (1862-1867)chronicle his experiences during the war and after. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Bullard, Lucien C. (MSS372)
Diary, 1863; 1 reel microfilm
Bullard's diary discusses his experiences as a Union soldier from Vermont. It describes the weather, movements of Bullard's company, and events of the day. Military operations are noted but not described in detail. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Burdick, John M., d. 1865 (MSS323)
Diary, 1864; 1 reel microfilm
Burdick served with the 21st New York Cavalry, was captured in June 1864, and was imprisoned for three months at Andersonville Prison, Georgia. He was sent to Charleston, South Carolina, and paroled, but he died soon after. His diary (June - October 1864) describes his experiences in Andersonville Prison, including the high prison mortality rate, escape attempts, rumors of parole or exchange, the weather, and construction of barracks and stockades. The collection includes a typed copy of the diary and introduction written by Ovid Futch, graduate student in history, Emory University, ca. 1959. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Burge Family (MSS266)
Papers, 1832-1952; 5 boxes plus 1 reel of microfilm
Dolly Lunt Burge was born in Maine in 1817. Her second husband was Thomas Burge, a planter and owner of the Burge Plantation, located east of Covington, Georgia. Dolly's diaries (1847-1879) discuss civilian life in middle Georgia during the war and Sherman's March to the Sea. Her step-daughter Louisiana Burge's diaries (1860-1862) recount life at Wesleyan Female College in Macon, Georgia, during the early years of war. A diary of a William H. Graham (1865; no relation) describes the retreat of the Confederate Army from Petersburg, Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Burton, James, d. 1865? (MSS120)
Diary, 1864; 1 folder
Burton served with the 122nd New York Infantry and was captured at Plymouth, North Carolina; sent to Andersonville Prison in Georgia, then to a camp near Charleston, South Carolina; and exchanged. Burton returned to New York, and he apparently died of consumption soon after. His diary records his regiment's movements in North Carolina, but most was written while he was in prison. He describes conditions, attempted escapes, sickness, death, and boredom. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

detail from inside cover of Burton's diary In his diary, James Burton describes arriving at Andersonville prison on 30 April. In a later entry, he describes life in the prison. Click on the image to see a copy of Burton's obituary and read two entries in the diary.

Cooper, William, 1802-1887 (MSS547)
Diaries, 1859-1887; 1 box plus 5 reels of microfilm
Cooper practiced law in Alabama and lived at Tuscombia, Alabama, and at Magnolia Plantation, near Friar's Point, Cahoma County, Mississippi. His sons, James Parke Cooper and John William Cooper, were Confederate soldiers who served with the "Franklin Blues," (2nd Alabama Infantry, Company E). Short daily entries are illustrated by drawings in color. Topics include events of the Civil War. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Davis, Frederic E. (MSS356)
Papers, 1860-1863; 3 folders plus additions, 1 reel microfilm
The collection includes a Civil War diary dated 1862-1863 of Davis, who served in the Union navy. A journal dated 1860-1861 describes his voyage to the coast of Africa and Arabia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Davis, William H., b. 1841 (MSS301)
Papers, 1862-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Davis served as a soldier with the Rhode Island Volunteers, 4th Regiment, Company Q. (October 1861), until he became a seaman (April 1962) and served on various vessels (particularly the U.S. gunboats Lexington and Baron DeKalb) on the Ohio, Mississippi, and other rivers in Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi. He participated in the surrender of Arkansas Point, Arkansas and was involved in preparations for the Siege of Vicksburg when he was wounded in action. His diary (1862-1863) describes his war activities. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Dixon, Mumford H., b. 1838 (MSS332)
Diary, 1864; 1 folder
Dixon served as a lieutenant and a captain in Company E, 3rd Regiment, Confederate Infantry (formerly Company H, 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry). In 1864, he was captured at the Battle of Jonesboro (August), exchanged (October), captured at the Battle of Franklin (November), and imprisoned in Louisville, Kentucky and on Johnson Island, Ohio. His diary (May-December 1864, typescript only) discusses the replacement of Johnston by Hood, the defense of Atlanta, and Hood's Tennessee Campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Farris, John K. (MSS343)
Diaries, 1861-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Farris, a Confederate physician, served with the 41st Tennessee Volutneers. He was captured at Ft. Donelson, Tennessee (February 1862), imprisoned at Camp Morton, Indiana, and exchanged (September, 1862); his regiment was re-formed and served in the Jackson, Mississippi, area. He was a hospital steward and acting assistant surgeon for his company. His diaries (Nov. 1861 - July 1863), written in the form of letters to his wife, include a roster of officers, men, and deaths for the 41st Tennessee (Oct. - Feb. 1862); his part in the fight at Fort Donelson; dress of the Louisiana Zouaves; his imprisonment and exchange; and movements of the 41st Tennessee Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Fish, Edwin R., 1835-1863 (MSS418)
Papers, 1862-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Fish enlisted August 1862, and joined the 3rd New York Light Artillery at New Bern, North Carolina. He participated in the Battle of Kingston, N.C. (November 1862), and was in several skirmishes in the Hilton Head - Port Royal and Morris Island, South Carolina area (June-July 1863). His diary is an account of his activities January 1 - October 17, 1863. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Gordon, Samuel M. (MSS317)
Diary, 1861; 1 reel microfilm
Gordon enlisted in Company H, 25th Ohio Regulars in 1861 and spent most of that autumn on Cheat Mountain, West Virginia, where he fought in the Battle of Cheat Mountain Summit. He wrote about daily life in the Union Army, including food, marches, parades, sickness, and the weather. He also described a visit to a Colonel Hamilton's home in West Virginia, whose family was divided in their feelings about the war; two members were for the Union and two were for secession. There are some poems in the back of the diary apparently written by Gordon. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Green Family (MSS636)
Civil War papers, 1861-1863; 1 box
These papers include a journal dated March 1862-May 1863 written by Fannie Green chronicling her a visit to Washington D.C., time at Newport News where she nursed her brother who was injured at the Battle of Fair Oaks and Seven Pines, and their subsequent return to Michigan. Included in her journal is an entry of a letter received from her brother dated May 9, 1862 written from a camp near Williamsburg in which he describes in great detail the Battle of Williamsburg. During this time, William C. Green was a member of the 37th New York Infantry Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Griffin, John Levi (MSS366)
Diary, 1861-1862; 1 folder
Griffin served with the "Muckalee Guards" of Sumter County (12th Georgia Infantry, Company A) and the Doles-Cook Brigade in the Army of Northern Virginia. His diary documents Griffin's company as it moved through Georgia, Virginia, and West Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Hanleiter, Cornelius R., 1815-1897 (MSS426)
Diaries, 1861-1865; 2 bound volumes plus 1 reel microfilm
Journalist Cornelius R. Hanleiter entered the Confederate Army (September 1861) as a member of the Jo Thompson Artillery of Wright's Legion, 38th Georgia Regiment, and served as first lieutenant and captain. His company stayed in the Savannah, coastal Georgia, and the Charleston, South Carolina areas. He wrote of life in camp, camp hospitals, death, religious ceremonies, supplies, weapons, fortifications, discipline, coastal vessels, and his family and home in Atlanta. The microfilm includes a typed copy of each diary. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Hoster, John L. (MSS464)
Diary, 1862-1865; 1 bound volume
Hoster served as a private and sergeant with the 148th New York Infantry, Company B. He fought at the Wilderness and at the second Cold Harbor, was captured, and sent to Andersonville Prison. His diary chronicles his military service and imprisonment (June - September 1864); moves to Charleston and Florence, South Carolina, and then to Goldsboro, North Carolina; and his exchange near Wilmington, North Carolina. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Jett, Richard Burch (MSS57)
Papers, 1863-1887; 4 folders
Jett served as a private with Company B of the the Ninth Georgia Artillery Battalion (ca. 1863-1865). His unit fought in Tennessee and Virginia and was stationed near Atlanta when the Civil War ended. His brief diary (April 1863 - April 1865) is often illegible and consists of sketchy notes regarding travel, marches, and the weather. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Lear, J. L. J., b. 1845 (MSS352)
Diary, 1864; 1 reel microfilm
Lear served with Company L, 1st Regiment Tennessee Artillery during the Civil War. Diary entries describe his service at Fort Morgan, Mobile, Alabama, including blockade vessels sighted, a vivid description of Admiral Farragut's attack on Mobile Bay and Fort Morgan's surrender, and his imprisonment on Governors Island, New York. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Lee, John Furman, 1842-1910 (MSS431)
Diary, 1863-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Lee was a sergeant with the 5th New Jersey Infantry, taken prisoner at Gettysburg, and confined in Libby Prison and Camp Parole, Maryland, before he returned to his unit in 1863. He participated in the Mine Run Campaign, and later was wounded. He left the Army in the fall of 1864. Lee's diary (November 24, 1863 - August 29, 1964) discusses his daily life in the service, including skirmishes, supplies, clerical duties, the weather, visitors, and rumors. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Little, John R., 1832-1902 (MSS408)
Papers, 1861-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Little enlisted with Jenkins' Brigade as a soldier, but was given a position at Winder Hospital, Richmond, Virginia (1862), and became a hospital surgeon (1863) in Jackson, Mississippi. His diary (April 1861 - December 1863) records his service in the Confederate Army as a soldier and as a surgeon. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

McMichael, James Robert, 1835-1893 (MSS211)
Diary, 1864-1865; 1 folder
McMichael enlisted (1861) in the Marion Guards (incorporated with the 12th Georgia Infantry, Company K) and eventually became a captain (1863). He was captured at Spottsylvania and imprisoned at Fort Delaware, Delaware (May 1864 - June 1865). His diary (August 1864 - )describes his capture at Spotsylvania and trip to prison in Delaware; conditions there; his moves to Charleston, South Carolina, and Morris Island, Cockspur Island, and Fort Pulaski, Georgia; his return to Fort Delaware; the fall of the Confederacy; and his departure for Philadelphia and home. Also included are a list of sick "Confederate Prisoners" at Fort Pulaski and their illnesses; the (first) fourteen Confederates who took the oath of allegiance to the Union; a list by state of the officer-prisoners at Fort Delaware; copies of eight letters McMichael received while in prison; the names and addresses of fellow prisoners; a roll of his company with death or discharge data; and autographs, poems, and quotations. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Nailer, George W., 1837-1864 (MSS359)
Papers, 1824-1864; 34 items and 1 reel microfilm
Nailer was a teacher in Carlisle, Pennsylvania. He served as a sergeant with the 13th Pennsylvania Cavalry in Maryland and Virginia and was captured ca. October 1863 and sent to Andersonville Prison, where he died in 1864. He kept a diary while teaching in 1862. A second diary (1862-1863) documents army life, Nailer's feelings about the war, and his morale. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Oliver, Charles James, 1831-1914 (MSS444)
Papers, 1832-1868; 1 reel microfilm
Charles Oliver joined the Troup Artillery (which became part of Cobb's Legion, then part of Cabell's Artillery Battalion) and became a soldier-chaplain. He kept a diary (1863-1864) of some of his wartime activities in Virginia (marches, skirmishes, and battles) and included names of preachers and civilians associated with religious services he attended or held. He also sketched camp scenes and the countryside and dwellings he saw, and mentioned the beauty of nature and simple pleasures in time of war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Oxford, Jonathan LaFayette, 1840-1909 (MSS483)
Papers, 1862-1906 (bulk 1862-1896); 4 folders
Oxford served with Captain Welborn's Company, 9th Georgia Regiment, Company E. He took part in the Maryland and Pennsylvania invasion, and the battles of Gettysburg, the Wilderness, Spotsylvania Court House, and Chickahominy River. His diary gives a daily account of Oxford's whereabouts but contains few descriptions of battle and little commentary. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Pierce, Samuel B., b. 1842 (MSS407)
Reminiscences, 1862-1865; 2 reels of microfilm
Pierce served as a private in the 135th New York Infantry (2 September 1862), which became the 6th New York Heavy Artillery Regiment (2 October 1863). He was involved with the defense of Baltimore and the upper Potomac until March 1863; served on recruiting duty in New York City and Riker's Island, New York (July 1863 - mid May 1864); participated in the Petersburg and Spotsylvania Campaigns (including the Battle of Harris' Farm); and was on garrison duty near Petersburg, Virginia (May-July 1865), until his discharge. This personal narrative is based on Pierce's and other soldiers' letters, including those of his friends (Paul Lounsbury, Stephen Harris, Sgt. P. Dodge, and Capt. George C. Kibbe), as well as clippings, and military reports. It is in the form of a diary and describes Pierce's military activities in Virginia, Maryland, and New York, the South and Southerners as he saw them, and his feelings about Lincoln's assassination. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Ray, Lavender R., 1842-1916 (MSS315)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Ray joined the Newnan Guards (Company A, Georgia Infantry), was then with the 1st Georgia Cavalry, and served as ordinance officer in General Alfred Iverson's Division of Cavalry. He was accompanied by a family slave, Dick, and was in various camps in Virginia and Tennessee. His diary entries (October 6-April 30, 1865) begin with the evacuation and burning of Atlanta. Ray discusses camp life, costs, attitudes of civilians, travel to South Carolina, news of Lee's surrender and Lincoln's assassination. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Redwood-Cannon Family (MSS295)
Papers, 1843-1865; 1 reel microfilm
The diary (October 1861 - April 13, 1864) was found by George E. Redwood and is by an unidentified Union soldier from Kentucky. It recounts his enlistment, drills and camp life, war news and rumors he heard, the weather, and his company's movement (primarily through Kentucky and Tennessee). See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Richards, Samuel P., 1824-1910 (MSS518)
Diaries, 1848-1909; 3 reels of microfilm
Richards and his brother, Jabez, opened a retail book and stationery business in Macon, Georgia (J.J. and S.P. Richards), and moved it to Atlanta, Georgia, in 1861. His diaries describe the shelling and evacuation of Atlanta and his journey as a refugee for one year to New York in 1864. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Richardson, Sue (MSS333)
Diary, 1863-1865; 4 bound volumes (typed copies of diary)
Richardson lived at Rose Hill, Front Royal, Virginia, during the Civil War. Her father died prior to the war; her brother, Willie, was wounded at Williamsburg (1862) and died; a younger sister, Bell, and a cousin, Sue, lived with her at Rose Hill. Two slaves, Liza and Frances, former house servants, did field work. Both Confederate and Union invaders depleted the plantation and took all the horses and most livestock. The diary documents the activities of the Richardson family and friends during the war and notes illness, death, enemy occupation, and the Federal's execution of Thomas Overby, one of Mosby's raiders. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Rigby, Alfred A., b. 1841 (MSS368)
Diary, 1862-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Rigby served with the 24th Iowa Infantry in Iowa, Virginia, Arkansas, Mississippi, and Georgia. He was in the battles of Port Gibson (1863) and Cedar Creek (1864). Rigby returned home to Iowa in August 1865. In his diary (August 12, 1862 - December 31, 1865), he commented on his activities in Iowa military camps (including references to the immorality and lack of religion he found), travel down the Mississippi River, foraging parties, traitors, skirmishes and battles, slavery, troop leadership, fighting fire in Savannah, Georgia, and Southern women. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Roseberry, Isaac (MSS391)
Diary, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Roseberry enlisted in Co. D, 1st Regiment, Michigan Engineers and Mechanics, served for three years, and then reenlisted as a Veteran Volunteer. His company served with the companies F and G, under one command, and were known as the First Division of the 1st Regiment. They were in Kentucky, Tennessee, and Alabama, where they built bridges, cut crossties, and repaired railroads. They also served the Union in Atlanta and Savannah, Georgia, and in the Carolinas. His diary is notable for the information it provides about engineering activities in various southern cities. In Bridgeport, Alabama, Roseberry's division built a bridge across the Tennessee River. In Chattanooga, they built boats for pontoon-bridges, ran a saw mill, and helped build forts. In Atlanta, they destroyed depots, roundhouses, and tracks, then marched with Sherman to Savannah destroying tracks, repairing bridges, and corduroying roads, as they went. In Savannah, they built defenses. In the back of the diary is information on Roseberry's pension and increases he received due to health problems brought on by his wartime service. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Rowland, Kate Whitehead (MSS298)
Journals, 1863-1878; 1 reel microfilm
Rowland and her husband, Charles A. Rowland, had four children and lived in Augusta, Georgia. While her husband was away fighting for the Confederacy, Rowland and her children spent much time with her parents and her sisters in their home. Her diaries (October 1863 - December 1864) describe activities of Rowland and her family during the Civil War (including an invasion of the Union Army upon the country home of her parents). The home life of an upper class Georgia family is documented as are weddings, camp life near Dalton, Georgia (where Rowland's husband was stationed), church meetings, education (a son's schooling at Richmond Academy), and entertainment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Sanford, Shelton Palmer, 1816-1896 (MSS133)
Diaries, 1852-1896; 1 box (photocopies of the diaries)
Sanford was professor of mathematics at Mercer University, then located in Penfield, Georgia. Sanford's diaries document his activities (including 1860-1863) and include the records of subscriptions to Penfield Baptist Church (1852-1857) and the records of tuition received for Mercer University (1862-1865). Diary entries for the Civil War period recount the progress of the war, elections, and the activities of Sanford's son Charley, who served in the Confederate Army. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Scarbrough, Lemuel A., 1837-1918 (MSS349)
Diary, 1861-1862; 1 reel microfilm
Scarbrough was a member of the 13th Tennessee Infantry Regiment, was wounded at the Battle of Shiloh (1862), and had to have his foot amputated. His brother John was Orderly Sergeant for the company. Their regiment was stationed in Tennessee, Kentucky, Missouri, and Mississippi. Scarborough's diary (May 27, 1861 - April 4, 1862) details his daily life with the 13th Tennessee, including food, discipline, travel, leisure, and religion. The diary ends just before the Battle of Shiloh but Scarbrough later recounted it in an added entry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Union Microfilm miscellany (MSS468)
Collection, 1861-1865; 2 reels of microfilm
This collection of miscellaneous Union manuscripts includes one collection of Civil War letters and three diaries:

Roesfel, R. H. F.
Diary, 1862-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Roesfel enlisted in Company A, 153rd Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, on 13 September 1862. He fought with his regiment in Virginia and Pennsylvania, and was wounded at Gettysburg on 1 July 1863. He purchased the notebook in which his diary is recorded on 31 May 1863, apparently writing narratives of earlier events from memory. Many entries concern camp life in the Fredericksburg, Virginia, area. Also noted are his visit to the site of the Battle of 2nd Bull Run (November 1862), his illness and hospitalization (December 1862-February 1863), and his involvement in skirmishes at Gettysburg (July 1863). The diary ends after he was wounded at Gettysburg, hospitalized, captured, and taken first to Baltimore and then to Philadelphia. Later details of his regiment's fighting at Gettysburg were apparently written based on information received from his comrades. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

United Daughters/Confederacy. Ga. Div. A.H. Colquitt Chapter (MSS394)
Records, 1860-1975; 3 folders
Collections includes the diary of Confederate soldier Basil Neal written at Point Lookout Maryland Prison over six months in 1863-1864.

Wadley, Sarah Lois, 1844-1920 (MSS461)
Diary, 1859-1906 (bulk 1859-1886); 1 reel of microfilm
The Wadley family spent the war years in Onachita Parish, Louisiana. Sarah's father, William Wadley, was appointed superintendent of transportation for the Confederacy. In November 1865, the family moved back to Georgia. In her diary (8 August 1859 - 4 February 1866; with brief entries to 1886), Sarah Wadley describes her pre-Civil War travels in the North and her reactions to events throughout the war. The diary is available only in typescript. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wortley, Clark S., b. 1841 (MSS248)
Papers, 1860-1921; 3 boxes
Wortley served as quartermaster with Company K, 20th Regiment, Michigan Infantry Volunteers. His diary (1864-1865) includes brief descriptions of the Regiment's activities during the Petersburg, Cold Harbor, and Spotsylvania campaigns. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wren, George Lovick Pierce, 1836-1916 (MSS249)
Diaries, 1858-1864; 5 items
Wren was mustered into Company G, 8th Louisiana Infantry Regiment ("Minden Blues") on 23 June 1861, serving first as a private and later as a second lieutenant. He was captured at Port Republic on 9 June 1862, imprisoned at Fort Delaware, and exchanged on 5 August 1862. Returning to service in early 1863 after a lengthy furlough, he sprained an ankle, was hospitalized at Richmond, captured again on 10 or 12 May 1864, re-incarcerated at Fort Delaware, and released after taking the Oath of Allegiance on 15 June 1865. The second of his three diaries (1861-1862) describes his initial army service; comments on serious fighting at Sharpsburg, Maryland, and in Virginia; and covers the time period of his first imprisonment. His third diary (1863-1864) mentions action in Mississippi, Georgia, South Carolina, and North Carolina; refers to hardships and religious revivals among the soldiers; and describes his injury, hospitalization, and capture, as well as conditions in prison. This diary contains personal accounts and lists of company funds loaned as well as the words to a song "The Banks of the Potomac". It also contains "autographs" (signatures and regiments) of servicemen from a variety of units, possibly men imprisoned with him in 1864-1865. Especially in the third diary, entries are infrequent and lengthy, containing narrative about many events, with some observations apparently based on information received while he was in prison. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.


Please contact MARBL at 404-727-6887 or marbl@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.


updated 09-2005