|
The collections listed in this guide contain correspondence, diaries, documents, and other materials relating to the experiences of Confederate soldiers, sailors, surgeons, military chaplains, or army engineers. The collections often include materials documenting political and civilian aspects of the war.
Adams, W. H. (MSS465)
Manuscripts, 1860-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Reminiscences in verse by W.H. Adams, a private in Company D, 8th Virginia Regiment. Includes material concerning his participation in the battles of Manassas and Appomattox. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Americana (Brazil) Oral History Project (MSS740)
Collection, 1978; 5 boxes, 1 oversized item
The collection consists primarily of interviews conducted in 1978 by Professor D. Carlisle with descendants of Confederate soldiers and their families who emigrated to Americana, Brazil after the Civil War. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Ash, John H., d. 1918 (MSS12)
Papers, 1860-1865; 1 box plus 2 reels of microfilm
Includes 21 diaries, sick report, letters, documents, notes and clippings of John Ash, who served in the Georgia Cavalry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Barnsley, Godfrey, 1805-1873 (MSS13)
Family papers, 1822-1980 (bulk 1826-1873); 6 boxes, 11 oversized items, 2 bound volumes, 1 reel microfilm
Contains information about the impact of the Civil War and Reconstruction on Southern families; includes correspondence of Godfrey's sons, George and Lucien, relating to their service in the 8th Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry. George wrote extensively about his field experiences as well as about his work as a hospital steward. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Battey, Robert, 1828-1895 (MSS361)
Papers, 1810-1894; 13 folders, 1 oversized item
Dr. Battey served as a surgeon in the Confederate army. He began as senior surgeon of Hampton's brigade in July 1861 and later served in hospitals in Atlanta, Rome, and Vineville, Georgia and in Lauderdale, Mississippi. The collection includes materials on Battey's service as a surgeon in Hampton's brigade. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Batts, William M., d. 1862 (MSS119)
Letters, 1861-1862; 1 reel microfilm
Eight letters written by Batts to members of his family from various points in Virginia during 1861-1862. Batts served in Company A, 12th Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry, Army of Northern Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Beauregard, G. T. (Gustave Toutant), 1818-1893 (MSS14)
Papers, 1861-1893; 3 folders
Papers of this Confederate general consist of correspondence with various troop commanders, reports on the return of troops after the Battle of Manassas, one item regarding a cipher, and five poems dedicated to the general. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Blackford, William Matthews, 1801-1864 (MSS48)
Papers, 1801-1864; 2 folders, 1 bound volume
Typed copies of correspondence and extracts from a diary of William Blackford. Blackford served as a financial agent at Lynchburg for the Confederate government. The diary recounts John Brown's Raid and the Second Battle of Manassas. Additionally, Blackford describes the organization of the "Home Guards" in Lynchburg, discusses public sentiment, reacts to secession, Ft. Sumter, and Lincoln's inaugural address. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Blackshear, James Appleton, 1841-1867 (MSS302)
Diaries, 1862-1867; 1 reel microfilm
In these four diaries, Blackshear chronicles his experiences as first lieutenant, adjutant and captain of Infantry in the Georgia State Troops, as captain of Artillery in the Provisional Army, and as Congressional District Enrolling Officer in Georgia. Blackshear also served as an officer in charge of prisoners at various places in Virginia, Georgia, and North Carolina and as Instructor of Light Infantry Tactics to officers stationed at Anderson, Georgia. Blackshear writes of battles, the behavior of soldiers, and his opinions about slavery. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Bomar family (MSS86)
Papers, 1862-1870; 1 folder
Includes 26 letters; 23 date from the Civil War period. The letters give a vivid picture of Atlanta and the lives of refugees from Atlanta during the Civil War. Correspondents include: Thomas H. Bomar, Company L, 38th Regiment of Georgia Volunteer Infantry; Charles H. Killian, regiment unknown; and Richard Walpole, Company D, 15th Mississippi Regiment of Volunteer Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Bone, Robert Donnell, 1832-1892 (MSS406)
Papers, 1861-1892 (bulk 1861-1863); 1 reel microfilm
Includes typescript copies of the Civil War letters of Dr. Robert D. Bone to his wife. Bone was an assistant surgeon in the 12th Texas Regiment, and served in Texas and Arkansas. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876 (MSS185)
Correspondence, 1861-1864; 1 folder
Papers of this brigadier general in the Confederate army consist of four letters dated 13 May 1861, 17 November 1863, 10 December 1863, and 24 June 1864. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Bratton, John (MSS373)
Letters, 1861-1865; 1 reel of microfilm
Bratton's letters (typescript copies) span his career as a soldier, first as a lieutenant in the 6th South Carolina Regiment, as a colonel of the same regiment, and finally, as a brigadier general of a brigade in Jenkin's Division, Longstreet's Corps. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Brooke, Noble John, 1836-1922 (MSS334)
Papers, 1861-1864; 1 bound volume
Typed copies of a diary and letters relating to Brooke's service in the Civil War, first as a private, Company E, Cobb's Georgia Legion of Cavalry, and later as a captain in Captain Ed Ford's Militia Company, Baker's Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Brooks, William Param, 1832-1899 (MSS499)
Papers, 1861-1869; 1 folder
Consists of scrapbook (photocopied) of memoirs, letters, citations, appointments, and other documents preserved by William P. Brooks. Brooks served on the Confederate steamships Sumter, Alabama, Rappahannock, and Stonewall and was promoted to chief engineer of the Confederate navy 25 March 1865. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Brotherton, William H., 1839-1908 (MSS278)
Papers, 1862-1908; 2 folders, 1 oversized bound volume, 1 reel microfilm
Includes correspondence of William H. Brotherton and his brother, James Madison; both served as second lieutenants in the 39th Regiment, Georgia Volunteers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Brown, Joseph E. (Joseph Emerson), 1821-1894 (MSS16)
Papers, 1853-1928; 4 folders, 1 reel microfilm
Includes correspondence concerning his wartime activities as governor of Georgia, 1857-1865. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Burge family (MSS266)
Papers, 1832-1952; 5 boxes plus 1 reel of microfilm
The diaries of Dolly Lunt Burge, a widow during the war, Louisiana D. Burge, and William H. Graham relate to the Civil War. The diaries comment on the siege of Petersburg, Virginia (1864-65) and Sherman's March to the Sea. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Callaway, Morgan, 1831-1899 (MSS122)
Papers, 1851-1864; 2 folders
The bulk of the correspondence in this collection spans the years 1862-1864 while Callaway was in the Confederate Army serving as a private, a first lieutenant, and the acting chaplain in Company B, 11th Battalion, Georgia Artillery. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Camp family (MSS141)
Papers, 1858-1877; 1 box
Includes 18 letters of Raleigh Spinks Camp (b. 1831) to his mother, brothers and sisters from Texas, Tennessee, Mississippi, and Georgia mainly during his service in the military during the Civil War; and 16 letters from Thomas Lumpkin Camp (1832-1878), mainly to his wife, Mary, from camps in Georgia and Tennessee during his military service. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Campbell, Henry S. (MSS378)
Papers, 1817-1864; 1 folder plus 1 reel microfilm
The bulk of these letters of a Gainesville, Georgia family concern personal and family affairs. Included among these letters is the 1861 correspondence of Warren H. Campbell. Campbell served as a private in Company F, 43rd Georgia Volunteer Infantry and his letters contain references to "war talk" which he hears regularly, the secession of Virginia, the coming gubernatorial election, and the order to muster the county militia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Carter, Thomas Michelle, 1841-1922 (MSS452)
Papers, 1842-1892; 1 box, 1 reel microfilm
Mainly includes correspondence of Thomas Carter during his service in the Civil War as private in Company G, 2nd Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry. His tour of duty included the coast of Georgia, Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, and Alabama. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Champion, Sidney S., 1823-1868 (MSS512)
Papers, 1854-1865; 1 box
Includes letters of Sid Champion to his family in Midway, Georgia. Champion served in Company I, 28th Mississippi Cavalry Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Charleston Harbor (MSS17)
Documents, 1861-1864 (bulk 1863); 4 folders
Contains materials relating to the defense of Charleston harbor, particularly activities at Ft. Sumter and James Island. Includes vessel position reports, descriptions of attacking fleets, and other documents. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Chesnut, James, 1815-1885 (MSS118)
Letter book, 1864-1865; 1 bound volume
Consists of one military letterbook maintained during the time Chesnut served as brigadier general of the reserve forces in South Carolina. This volume contains copies of some 528 letters written by Chesnut and his aides, Edward H. Barnwell and Isaac Hayne, and also includes an index. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Chunn, William Augustus, 1840-1921 (MSS18)
Letters, 1837-1879; 1 box
Mainly correspondence of William and his wife Lila during the Civil War. Chunn enlisted in Company I, 1st Regiment, 1st Brigade, of the Georgia State Troops and was elected second lieutenant. He reports of difficulties at Cumberland Gap with the Cherokee allies taking scalps; he also tells of the numerous desertions on the way to Vicksburg and of the Vicksburg Seige. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Civil War Reports (MSS160)
Reports, 1861-1865; 1 oversized item
One volume of morning reports containing two sets of entries. The entries for Dec 1861 through Jun 1863 were made by officers of the 26th Pennsylvania Infantry, U.S. Army while those for Jul 1863 through Apr 1865 were made by officers of Company B, Virginia Battalion of Heavy Artillery, C.S.A. Army. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Clark, James Osgood Andrew, 1827-1894 (MSS19)
Papers, 1807-1945; 9 boxes
Includes typed copies of Civil War correspondence of unknown origin dated from September 1863-June 1866 concerning a Confederate soldier named Willie R. Ross. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Cobb, Howell, 1815-1868 (MSS337)
Papers, 1857-1860; 1 folder
Nineteen handwritten letters to Captain John Faunce (11 July 1857-21 June 1860) primarily concern constructing, arming, and manning the revenue steam cutter Harriet Lane. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Collier, James Marshall (MSS316)
Papers, 1858-1865; 1 reel microfilm
James Marshall Collier fought initially in the 9th Infantry of Virginia, Armistead's Brigade, Huger's Division, before being appointed a doctor in the Surgical Corps. Collier's letters, however, make very little reference to battle details. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Confederate Broadsides
Emory has a large collection of Confederate broadsides, including several that are not held elsewhere. Please contact MARBL for further information about the Confederate broadsides.
Confederate Microfilm Misc. (MSS432)
1860-1865; 1 reel microfilm
An artificial collection consisting of miscellaneous Confederate manuscripts, including:
- Hickman, William H.
Account Book, 1860-1862
Account book kept by Hickman, a Confederate assistant quartermaster at Fernandina, Florida.
- Lovett Family
Letters, 1859-1864; 14 letters
Correspondence between William Lovett, Company E, 41st regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry; Army of Tennessee and his wife and various family members.
- Traweek, Ira
Correspondence, 1861-1865; 17 letters
Traweek served in the Jeff Davis Battery of Alabama Artillery, 2nd Corps of the Army of Northern Virginia. Trawick writes of camp life, the battles of Fair Oaks and Chancellorsville and the rate of desertion. He was captured at Fisher's Hill, Virginia, on 19 Oct 1864, and spent the remaining months of the war in the Federal Prison at Point Lookout, Maryland.
- Traynham, W.T.
Letter, 13 November 1864; 1 folder
Traynham served in the 3rd Regiment, Engineering Troops, Army of Tennessee.
Confederate Misc. I (MSS20)
1861-1865; 8 boxes, 3 bound volumes (1 oversized), 5 oversized items, 1 reel microfilm
An artificial collection of manuscripts (or copies of manuscripts) by Confederates (military or civilian) written during the Civil War, including the following:
- Shuler, Spartan McCain
Letters, 1861-1865; 22 letters
Shuler was a member of the 6th South Carolina Infantry Regiment, Company G. One brother, Harrison A. Shuler, fought with the 3rd Battalion of the South Carolina Cavalry, Company D, while another brother, Alfred Shuler, served with the 1st Regiment of the South Carolina Militia. The letters of the three brothers follow their movements with their respective units through Virginia, Maryland, and South Carolina. Skirmishes, camp life and activities, and health and living conditions are described.
- Ward, Joseph W., d. 1864
Letters, 1861-1864; 21 letters and 2 fragments
While his exact regiment is unknown, he served with his unit in Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, and Tennessee. All the letters are by Ward and they follow his movements in Florida, especially in and around Amelia Island and Fernandina; in Georgia, in camps near Savannah; in Mississippi, mainly in and around Corinth, and in the Shelbyville, Tennessee area. Topics include camp life, military and administrative activities and blockade-running.
- Welborn, William Wesley, 1824-1864
Letters, 1863-1864; 35 items
Welborn was a member of the South Carolina Infantry's 1st Regiment, Company F, and participated in at least two battles in East Tennessee; in battles near Petersburg, Virginia, and in the Battle of the Wilderness. Welborn's letters describe camp life, discomforts of cold, food shortages, marching, picket duty, and inflated prices as they affected him and his family at home.
Confederate Misc. II (MSS21)
1866- ; 3 boxes, 3 bound volumes, 1 oversized item
An artificial collection of manuscripts (or copies of manuscripts) pertaining to the Confederacy written after the Civil War by former Confederates, including the following:
- William E. Mickle, 1846-1920
Papers, 1863-1903; 37 items
The papers of W. E. Mickle, who served with Company A, 3rd Alabama Infantry Regiment, include two letters from Mickle to his father dated 1863 and 1864.
Confederate States of America. Army. Georgia. (MSS128)
Records, 1861-1865; 1 partial box, 2 bound volumes (1 oversized), 1 oversized item
Miscellaneous reports, pay-roll lists, and other materials relating to the following Georgia units: Georgia Cavalry, 1st Regiment, Georgia Volunteers; Georgia Infantry, 28th Regiment, Company E; Georgia Artillery; Georgia Infantry, 1st Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Confederate States of America. Navy. Savannah River Squadron
(MSS110)
Documents, 1862-1865; 2 boxes
Includes administrative files of the Savannah squadron of the Confederate navy. Most of the letters are from the Richmond offices and administrative officials such as S. S. Lee, John K. Mitchell, John M. Brooke, and are addressed to flag officers R. L. Page and W.W. Hunter. Ships concerned include the Atlanta, Isondiga, Georgia, Savannah, Oconee, Resolute, Firefly, Habersham, Sampson, Water Witch, Milledgeville, Macon, Amazon, and Leesburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Creagh-Ketchum family (MSS434)
Papers, 1801-1904 (bulk 1840-1904); 1 reel microfilm
A portion of the letters of William H. Ketchum to his wife are written from an army camp in Corinth, Mississippi, 1862-1863. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Crowder, James Preston (MSS321)
Papers, 1861-1864; 2 reels of microfilm
Contains the Civil War letters of James Crowder who served as a private in Company I, 47th Alabama Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Davidson, John Mitchell (MSS357)
Papers, 1851-1960; 1 folder, 1 reel microfilm
Davidson served in Company C, 39th Regiment, North Carolina Volunteers. His letters detail his experiences in the Atlanta Campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 (MSS22)
Collection, 1846-1905; 1 box
Mainly includes letters written to Davis during the war and signed by military and civil leaders and by the Confederacy's European representatives. Additional pieces include some letters written by Davis and his wife after the war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Davis, William H., b. 1841 (MSS301)
Papers, 1862-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Contains 10 letters and 2 diaries of William Davis, who served in the 9th Regiment, Tennessee Company C. The letters were written from army camps or prison camps in Kentucky, Mississippi, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, and Tennessee. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Dixon, Mumford H., b. 1838 (MSS332)
Diary, 1864; 1 folder
Dixon served as a first lieutenant of Company H, 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (which subsequently became Company E, 3rd Regiment, Confederate Infantry). His diary (7 May 1864-3 December 1864) describes the defense of Atlanta, and Hood's Tennessee Campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Dobbins, John S., 1800-1886 (MSS322)
Papers, 1834-1916; 2 reels of microfilm
Includes the letters of William Dobbins, son of John Dobbins, who served as a private in Company C, Phillips Legion, Georgia Volunteers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Duggan, Ivy Walker, 1831-1917 (MSS53)
Papers, 1838-1917; 2 folders plus 1 reel microfilm (additions)
Includes Duggan's letters concerning his service as a private in the 15th Georgia Regiment. The letters are written primarily from Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Edge, Andrew J., 1836-1926 (MSS346)
Papers, 1862-1864; 2 folders plus 1 reel microfilm (additions)
Contains Edge's letters describing his service as a private in Company C, 52nd Georgia Infantry Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Edmondson, John, 1806-1887 (MSS441)
Papers, 1833-1885; 1 reel microfilm
Four of John Edmondson's sons wrote letters while they were in the Confederate Army: William Edmondson - Company A, 21st (Carter's) Cavalry; George Edmondson - Company E, 20th Tennessee Infantry; Robert Paine Edmondson - Company B, 9th Cavalry; and Thomas Pinckney Edmondson. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Everett, John A. (MSS58)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 box
Everett's letters detail his service as a private in the Georgia Infantry, 11th Regiment, Company K, Houston Volunteers, Army of Northern Virginia. His regiment saw action in Fredericksburg, Petersburg, and Richmond. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Farris, John K. (MSS343)
Diaries, 1861-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Farris' diary describes his service as a hospital steward and acting assistant steward in the 41st Regiment, Tennessee Volunteers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Featherston, Lucius Horace, 1814-1886 (MSS504)
Papers, 1825-1979; 21 boxes, 3 bound volumes (1 oversized), 3 oversized items
Includes Civil War correspondence from various members of the Featherston family: C.N. Featherston; L.H. Featherston, Jr. - Company K, 56th Georgia Infantry Regiment; George Washington Peddy - Surgeon, 56th Georgia Regiment; and J. T. Peddy. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Fields, Albert (MSS419)
Papers, 1856-1870; 1 reel microfilm
Includes a letter by Capt. P.A.. Morris, 9th Georgia Volunteer Regiment, and another by Mickleberry H. Driver, also a Confederate soldier. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Fogle, Theodore T. (Theodore Turner), 1834-1864 (MSS436)
Letters, 1851-1865; 1 box
The majority of Fogle's letters concern his service in the Columbus Guards. The Guards saw action in the Battle of Chickamauga, and the Battle of the Wilderness. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Fort, Tomlinson, 1787-1859 (MSS26)
Family papers, 1808-1882; 2 boxes
Includes letters of three of Fort's sons who served in the Confederate Army: George Fort - surgeon, 28th Georgia Regiment; Tomlinson Fort, Jr. - first lieutenant, 1st Georgia Regulars; John Fort - private, 9th Georgia Regiment (Baldwin Volunteers). See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Garrison, James P. (MSS409)
Papers, 1862-1863; 34 items
Garrison's letters (27 items) describe his experiences on being inducted into the Confederate Army in Alabama. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Gillespie-Love Confederate Collection (MSS347)
Collection, 1862-1864; 4 folders
Includes general orders and circulars, muster rolls, reports, and accounts of horses, absentees, transfers, ammunition, and other materials relating to various officers and units. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Gillis family (MSS300)
Correspondence, 1859-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Correspondence between the four Gillis brothers and their family describes their experiences in Confederate service: W.S. Gillis; M. Gillis - Company G, 46th Georgia Regiment; Neil Gillis - 39th Alabama Regiment; Daniel Gillis - 39th Alabama Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Gordon, John Brown, 1832-1904 (MSS196)
Papers, 1876-1904; 2 folders
Letters of this lieutenant general in the Confederate army concern veteran's affairs and post-war problems encountered during his tenure as a U.S. senator (1873-1880) and governor of Georgia (1886-1890). See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Gourdin, Robert Newman, 1812-1894 (MSS27)
Papers, 1841-1909; 3 boxes
Includes correspondence from various members of the Gourdin family concerning such topics as politics and sentiment before the Civil War relating to the secession movement in the South in general and South Carolina in particular; the role of the "1860 Association" of Charleston; war speculation and rumors; the issue of states rights; outbreak of war and the bombardment of Fort Sumter; military operations in South Carolina, Virginia, and North Carolina; siege of Charleston; and the issue of slavery. Correspondents include Robert N. Gourdin - colonel, South Carolina reserves; Louis G. Young - 12th Regiment, South Carolina Volunteers; and Henry E. Young - Longstreet's Corps. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Grady, Henry Woodfin, 1850-1889 (MSS28)
Papers, 1828-1971; 4 boxes, 14 bound volumes, 1 oversized item
Includes the Civil War correspondence of Grady's father, William Sammons Grady. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Graves family (MSS327)
Family papers, 1818-1939; 3 boxes, 3 oversized items, 12 oversized bound volumes
Includes the Civil War letters of Henry Lea Graves who served as a private in the 2nd Georgia Battalion and in the Confederate Marine Corps, and of Iverson Dutton Graves who served as a master's mate in the Confederate Navy.
Great Britain. Consulate (Savannah, Ga.) (MSS15)
Papers, 1859-1866; 1 partial box
Primarily letters; also printed documents. Nearly all of the letters are written to the two consuls at Savannah, Edward Molyneux, Lord Lyons, and later, A. Fullarton, Esq., and are principally from Governor Joseph E. Brown, of Georgia and J.P. Benjamin, Confederate secretary of state. While most of the letters relate to British subjects who wished to avoid being conscripted into the Confederate army, some deal with blockades of various ports by one or the other of the warring navies. The post-war letters concern an African-American named Samuel Edwards, who had been kidnapped from Nassau and sold as a slave in Georgia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Griffin, John Levi (MSS366)
Diary, 1861-1862; 1 folder
Griffin's diary follows his service in the "Muckake Guards" (Sumter ., Georgia) Company A, 12th Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry, DoColes-Cook Brigade, Rodes' Division, 2nd Corps, Army of Northern Virginia, particularly in Virginia and West Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Grisham family (MSS404)
Papers, 1825-1887; 1 folder, 1 reel microfilm
Includes letters to Joseph E. Brown and Thomas Hill Watts, Civil War governors of Georgia and Alabama, respectively. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Hambleton, James Pickney, d. 1897 (MSS29)
Papers, 1857-1893; 1 box, 1 oversized folder
James Pinkney Hambleton served as the first editor of the Southern Confederacy (1859-1861) and afterwards assumed duties as a surgeon with the 4th Battalion, Georgia Infantry. He was later transferred to the 35th Regt., Georgia Infantry and assigned temporary duty in Atlanta in 1862. He resigned a few months later due to ill health and traveled north to recuperate where he was taken prisoner. Includes letters concerning Reconstruction Georgia: information on African-Americans, economic conditions, and particularly politics. There is much correspondence relating to Southern claims against the government for cotton confiscated by federal troops during the Civil War (Hambleton represented a number of these cases). Correspondents include Alexander Hamilton Stephens, Dudley McIver Dubose, John Brown Gordon, and other political figures. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Hanleiter, Cornelius R., 1861-1865 (MSS426)
Diary, 1861-1865; 2 bound volumes plus 1 reel microfilm
Hanleiter's diaries, in 5 volumes, chronicle his service as a first lieutenant and captain in the Jo Thompson Artillery of Wright's Legion, 38th Georgia Regiment at camps on Skidaway Island, Georgia, James Island, South Carolina, and Charleston, South Carolina. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Harden, William Harmon (MSS462)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
The majority of the letters in these papers are written by William Harden during his service in Company G, 63rd Georgia Regiment. Harden was hospitalized in Savannah, Thunderbolt and Macon during most of his service for a variety of illnesses, including measles. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Harris family (MSS405)
Papers, 1857-1863; 1 folder plus 1 reel microfilm (additions)
Includes correspondence of the Harris brothers written from various camps and battlefields such as Greenbrier River, Virginia, Camp Skidaway near Savannah, Georgia, and from Chickamauga near Knoxville, Tennessee: John R. Harris - Company E, 6th Georgia Battalion; and William G. Harris - lieutenant and captain, Company H, 36th Georgia Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Harris, John A., d. 1864 (MSS399)
Papers, 1854-1864 (bulk 1861-1864); 1 folder, 1 reel microfilm
Harris' letters describe his service as a private in Company D, 19th Louisiana Infantry Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Harwell, Richard Barksdale (MSS310)
Papers, 1940-1991; 4 boxes
Includes correspondence, manuscripts and materials about Harwell's books and articles on the Civil War, including Confederate Belles-Lettres (1941), and Confederate Music (1950). Harwell was a librarian and Civil War bibliographer. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Honnoll family (MSS63)
Papers, 1861-1865; 7 folders
Correspondence of the Honnoll brothers, William B. and Hugh L. and their relatives (178 letters). The Honnolls both served in the 24th Infantry Regiment, Mississippi Volunteers, Company D, Caledonia Rifles. The letters describe camp activities, ranging from building breastworks and bridges, brigade reviews, and drills, to marches in Mississippi, Tennessee, Florida, Georgia, and Alabama. There are also accounts of various skirmishes and encounters, including the Battle of Corinth, Mississippi, the Battle of Chickamauga, the Battle of Lookout Mountain, and the Atlanta Campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Hood, Rebecca Rainey (MSS325)
Papers, 1862-65; 1 reel microfilm
Includes a 4 page letter (30 July 1862) from Rebecca Hood's son, a Confederate soldier, written from a hospital in Lowden, Tennessee. Also includes her memoirs entitled "Memories of the Civil War and Echoes from the Heart of Rebecca Hood." The memoirs describe her experiences during the Civil War at her home in Cartersville, Georgia: the enlistment of her two sons, Sherman's advance through northern Georgia towards Atlanta, and contacts with Union soldiers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Howell, Clark, 1863-1936 (MSS501)
Papers, 1864-1936; 1 folder
The papers of Clark Howell, editor, Georgia legislator and politician, include transcripts of his father's (Evan P. Howell) Civil War letters. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Iverson family (MSS427)
Papers, 1821-1928; 5 items and 1 reel microfilm
Alfred Iverson served as a brigadier general with the Army of the Confederate States. The collection includes five scrapbooks documenting the life of General Iverson, detailing his military career, particularly his involvement in the Battle of Sunshine Creek, 30-31 Jul 1864. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Ivey, William H. (MSS351)
Papers, 1847, 1860-1863 (bulk 1862-1863); 1 folder plus 1 reel of microfilm
Includes letters written to Private Ivey (Company I, 32nd Regiment, Georgia Volunteers) by his relatives. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Jessee, George M. (MSS370)
Papers, 1860-1876; 1 reel microfilm
Letters, a speech, and a circular concerning Lt. Col. Jessee, commanding officer of the 6th (Kentucky) Confederate Cavalry Battalion. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Jett, Richard Burch (MSS57)
Papers, 1863-1887; 4 folders
Includes Jett's correspondence and a brief diary detailing his service as a private in Company B, 9th Georgia Battery of Artillery. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Jones, Joseph Bertram, 1817-1896 (MSS134)
Papers, 1793-1910; 1 box
Jones, attorney, legislator, and planter, represented Burke County in Georgia General Assembly from 1863-1866. On 1 December 1864, Gen. William T. Sherman's army made its headquarters in the Jones home, thereby sparing it from destruction during the March to the Sea. Jones' two eldest sons served in the cadet corps of the Confederate army. Slavery is a frequently discussed topic in the correspondence which also includes letters from the sons. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Justice, Benjamin Wesley, 1827-1871 (MSS386)
Papers, 1836-1893; 10 folders
Civil War letters of Benjamin Justice who served as a first lieutenant of Company E, 47th Regiment, North Carolina and later as commissary with the rank of captain. The letters recount news of army and camp life, and include a description of the Wilderness-Spotsylvania Battle and the Petersburg Campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Kershaw, Joseph Brevard, 1822-1894 (MSS205)
Papers, 1852, 1861, 1894 (bulk 1861); 1 folder
Papers of this South Carolina statesman and soldier, major general, 1st Corps, Army of Northern Virginia, consist mainly of miscellaneous items relative to the Civil War in 1861. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Kirkland, Moses J. (MSS348)
Papers, 1862-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Kirkland's letters recount his service as a private in Company J (I?), 2nd Brigade, 6th Regiment, Georgia, and concern his experiences in camps and battles in the Atlanta area. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Lamar, Charles A.L., 1824-1865 (MSS400)
Papers, 1857-1865; 1 reel microfilm
A small portion of Lamar's correspondence concerns his service as a lieutenant colonel of the 7th Georgia Battalion (later merged into the 61st Georgia Infantry.) See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Lear, J. L. J., b. 1845 (MSS352)
Diary, 1864; 1 reel microfilm
Lear's diary details his experiences in Company L, 1st Regiment, Tennessee Artillery. Includes a vivid description of Admiral Farragut's attack on Mobile Bay on 5 August 1864. Lear was captured soon afterwards and imprisoned in New York. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Lee, James H. (MSS69)
Letters, 1862-1864; 2 folders
Lee's correspondence describes his service as a private in the 43rd regiment of Alabama Infantry. He comments on the monotony of daily life in an army camp and the deprivations endured by the common soldier. With the exception of some description of conditions in the trenches at Petersburg, Virginia, Lee gives no account of battles or military maneuvers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Lee, Robert E. (Robert Edward), 1807-1870 (MSS206)
Papers, 1835-1869; 19 folders, 2 booklets
Primarily consists of photocopies of miscellaneous correspondence. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Little, John R., 1832-1902 (MSS408)
Papers, 1861-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Little's diary records his service as a soldier in Jenkin's Brigade and later as a hospital surgeon. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Lockmiller family (MSS815)
Papers, 1862-1863, 1891-1927; 1 box
The correspondence from 1862-1863 consists mostly of letters between James and Clarissa Lockmiller, while James was serving in the 43rd Tennessee Infantry Regiment during the Civil War and Clarissa was living in Decatur, Meigs County, Tennessee. He wrote from East Tennessee (June-August 1862), Virginia (August-December 1862), and Mississippi (December 1862-May 1863). His letters include some descriptions of troop movements. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Long, Nimrod William Ezekiel, 1834-1923 (MSS416)
Papers, 1859-1865; 2 folders, 1 bound volume, 1 reel microfilm (additions)
Long served in Company B, 51st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Wheeler's Corps, and his correspondence with his wife concerns camp life, food, clothing, morale, discipline, officers and civilians, furloughs, and duties, including service on pickets and in raiding parties. The letters, mostly written from locations in Alabama, Georgia, and Tennessee contain little information about battles. Also includes copy of senior thesis (Princeton U.) by Martha Long McGhee, entitled Native to the Soil: The Life and Times of Nimrod William Ezekiel Long of Alabama. The paper follows Long's life through the Civil War and Reconstruction. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Longstreet, James, 1821-1904 (MSS210)
Papers, 1850-1904 (bulk 1875-1904); 3 folders
Papers of this Confederate general include post-war correspondence (1850; 1875-1904) from General William N. Pendleton and others' criticizing of Longstreet's military tactics at Gettysburg and elsewhere and a formal portrait is of General and Mrs. Longstreet (1901). See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Maddox, Robert Foster, 1870-1965 (MSS403)
Papers, 1855-1923; 2 boxes, plus one folder, 12 oversized bound volumes
The collection includes a letter by Lt. Nat Baxter, Wheeler's Cavalry Corps, to his mother dated 7 Jan 1865. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Martin, William T., d. 1862 (MSS466)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Martin's letters recount his service in Company F, Orr's 1st Regiment of Rifles, South Carolina Volunteers, and make mention of the Seven Days' Battles. Also includes correspondence of William's father, Oliver Martin, who served in Company C, Barnett's 2nd Battalion, South Carolina State Reserves. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
McBlair, Virginia Myers (MSS74)
Papers, 1818-1894; 8 folders
Includes Virginia Myers McBlair's Civil War correspondence with her husband William McBlair, commander of the navy of Virginia. William McBlair served on the United States, the Patrick Henry, and commanded the Atlanta. Also includes correspondence from the McBlairs' eldest son, William McBlair, Jr., who entered the Confederate navy 25 July 1862 as acting master's mate and served on the Atlanta, and the Richmond, James River Squadron. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
McFall, William (MSS423)
Papers, 1862-1865; 2 folders
Correspondence between William McFall and his brother James M. McFall comments on various aspects of army life, such as food, clothing, health, morale, and attitude towards officers; there is little information on battles. The McFalls served with a South Carolina regiment known as the Palmetto Sharp Shooters. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
McKinney, Samuel B. (MSS420)
Papers, 1858-1864; 1 reel microfilm
McKinney's letters describe his experiences in the Virginia Infantry. They contain detailed information on army life early in the war and on conditions in Richmond during the latter part of the conflict. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
McMichael, James Robert, 1835-1893 (MSS211)
Diary, 1864-1865; 1 folder
James McMichael, a second lieutenant and captain of the Marion Guards (later merged into Company K of the 12th Georgia Volunteer Infantry), records his capture at Spotsylvania, imprisonment in Ft. Delaware prison and Ft. Pulaski. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
McMurtrey, J. A. (James Addison), 1837-1901 (MSS214)
Papers, 1862-1864; 4 folders
Correspondence between McMurtry, a wagoner in Company B, 9th Battalion, Georgia Artillery, and his wife. The 36 letters are written mainly from camps in western Virginia, Camp Lookout near Jeffersonville, and Camp Cumming near Abingdon. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Mercer, Hugh Weedon, 1808-1877 (MSS215)
Letters, 1861-1866; 2 folders
Mercer was a Confederate general who commanded the post of Savannah for most of the war and participated in the Atlanta Campaign. The collections includes correspondence from Mercer to his daughter about the war and military issues. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Meriwether, John Samuel, 1830-1879 (MSS253)
Papers, 1862-1879 (bulk 1862-1864); 1 box
Correspondence between Meriwether and his wife, recounting his experiences in the Alabama Infantry, 38th Regiment and 40th Regiment, and as the surgeon in charge of the Confederate hospital at Eufaula, Alabama. (The bulk of the collection is photocopies of transcripts.) See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Mobley, Benjamin L. (MSS75)
Papers, 1861-1891; 5 folders
Consists of letters of Benjamin Mobley and his brother James M. Mobley, describing their service in Company E of Cobb's Legion, Georgia Volunteers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Montgomery, Vincent, 1836-1903 (MSS355)
Papers, 1785-1903; 2 reels of microfilm
Includes a number of Confederate soldier's letters: Vincent Montgomery - captain, Georgia Militia; 14 letters; Thomas W. Shine - Company C, Corbin Grays, 59th Regiment, 27 letters. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Neal, Andrew Jackson, 1837-1864 (MSS218)
Papers, 1856-1881 (bulk 1861-1864); 2 boxes
Includes letters of Andrew Neal who served as a lieutenant in the Marion Light Artillery. The letters were written from various points in east Tennessee and the vicinity of Atlanta and Dalton, Georgia and include descriptions of the battle of Lookout Mountain, troop movements between Atlanta and Chattanooga, and the extent of damage in Atlanta in 1864. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Norman, James T. (James Talmadge), 1830-1895 (MSS756)
Family papers, 1851-1886; 2 boxes
As a member of the Panola Guards, Norman saw 19 months of active service in Alabama, Tennessee, and Vicksburg, Mississippi before his capture at the Battle of Port Gibson. He was imprisoned at Johnson's island in Lake Erie, Ohio 18 Jun 1863 and paroled on 24 Feb 1865. The papers include letters written while Norman served in the Confederate Army and while he was at Johnson's Island. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Ocmulgee Hospital (Macon, Ga.) (MSS158)
Records, 1862-1865; 2 oversized bound volumes
Two record books from this Confederate hospital containing requisitions, forms, reports of cases, and other information. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Oliver, Charles James, 1831-1914 (MSS444)
Papers, 1832-1868; 1 reel microfilm
As a soldier-chaplain in the Troup Artillery (later part of Cobb's Legion, and still later Cabell's Artillery Batallion), Oliver maintained a journal (1863-1864) in which he recorded his comments on daily events, sermon outlines and religious arguments. The journal also includes his sketches of the countryside, camps, and houses. EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Orr family (MSS268)
Papers, 1825-1970; 14 boxes, 2 oversized folders, 1 bound volume
When the Civil War forced schools in Georgia to close, Gustavus John Orr, a professor of mathematics at Emory College, was appointed tax collector for Newton County. He also acted as an agent of the Confederate government in buying hides and making shoes. A portion of the correspondence in these papers contains commentary on the Civil War and Reconstruction in Georgia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Oxford, Jonathan LaFayette, 1840-1909 (MSS483)
Papers, 1862-1906 (bulk 1862-1896); 4 folders
Includes a diary in which Oxford records his experiences in Captain Robert P. Welborn's company, 9th Georgia Regiment, Company E. Oxford took part in the Maryland invasion, the Battle of Gettysburg, the Battle of the Wilderness, and the battles at Spotsylvania Court House and Chickahominy River. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Park family (MSS397)
Family papers, 1831-1889; 2 reels of microfilm
Includes one Civil War letter of Frank Park, son of John Park of Pike County, Alabama, who served as captain of Company I, 15th Alabama Infantry (also known as the "Quitman Guards"). There is also one letter from Robert Park, another son, who fought in the Confederate Army and was hospitalized at Okolona, Mississippi. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Patton, James A., d. 1864 (MSS76)
Letters, 1862-1864; 2 folders
Patton's letters detail his service in Company G, 47th North Carolina Regiment. They include mention of the defense of Goldsboro, N.C., the death of Stonewall Jackson, and relate rumors of the heavy loss of life at the Battle of Gettysburg in 1863. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Pictorial File
Collection
This collection contains photographs, prints, broadsides, and other visual images of the Civil War. An index to the collection can be found in the card catalog in the Special Collections Department.
 |
The collection also includes orders issued by the Confederate Army. The Confederate Army hoped to attract support for their cause among the citizens of the border states. In this example, Major General Loring tries to reassure the people of western Virginia after an incident in which civilian rights were not respected by a Confederate officer. Click on the image to see the order. |
Pinckney family (MSS221)
Papers, 1823-1864; 3 folders
This collection centers around a Charleston planter and his son includes some mention of the military operations of the war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Pitts, Thomas Henry, 1834-1871 (MSS440)
Papers, 1856-1875; 1 reel microfilm
Includes letters of Thomas Henry Pitts who served in the 3rd South Carolina Regiment as a third lieutenant, first lieutenant, and possibly as a captain. The Civil War correspondence consists of letters to his fiance, Lizzie Craig. The letters of early 1861 tell much about the excitement in South Carolina following secession. He gives a good description of the first Battle of Bull Run, though his regiment was not actively engaged, and of the Seven Days Battle of June-July 1862. He took part in the Sharpsburg Campaign in Maryland which he opposed partly on military grounds and partly because of an aversion to offensive warfare on the part of the South. The reconstruction letters deal very little with politics, but are valuable for the light they shed on the adjustment of a wealthy person (Pitts was the son of a prosperous landowner) to reduced circumstances. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Ray, Lavender R., 1842-1916 (MSS315)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Includes a manuscript diary (6 October 1864-30 April 1865) and "Letters and Diary of Lavender R. Ray," a bound copy of the former diary, which also includes some letters (28 April 28 1861-17 April 1865). Ray, who served as ordnance officer in General Alfred Iverson's Division of Cavalry, was accompanied throughout the war by a family slave, named Dick. Ray writes of daily experiences in various camps, i.e., Camp Mason, Virginia, Camp Davis near Lynchburg, Virginia, and Camp Woodlawn near Rogersville, Tennessee. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Reid / Jordan family (MSS749)
Papers, 1767-1895; 2 boxes
Charles W. Jordan served with the 14th Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry. The collection includes 16 letters, most of them written by Jordan from Lynchburg, Virginia, Greenbrier County, Virginia (now West Virginia), Manassas, and Charleston. One letter from Joshua Hill of Morgan County offers war analysis with revealing comments on race relations and details about army voting. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Robinson, Henry W., d. 1863 (MSS392)
Letters, 1862-1863; 1 reel microfilm
Henry Robinson, a blacksmith from Lawrenceville, Georgia, served with Company B, 42nd Georgia Regiment. The 50 letters to his wife recount his experiences fighting in East Tennessee, Kentucky, and Mississippi. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Rogers, Loula Kendall, 1838-1931 (MSS696)
Family papers, 1810-1954; 49 boxes, 17 oversized items, 3 bound volumes,
3 fragile photographs boxes
Loula Kendall Rogers' husband James Henry Rogers served as a member of the 5th Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry ("Upson Guards"), Company K. Loula Kendall Rogers was asked by Col. P. W. Alexander to make a flag representing the seven seceded states in March 1861 which she presented to the Upson Guards. The collection consists of correspondence, journals, and memorabilia reflecting both plantation life during the Civil War and her husband's military service. The collection also includes programs, minutes and scrapbooks relating to Loula Kendall Rogers' involvement in chapters of the Georgia Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy in Barnesville and Tennille, Georgia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Rowland, Kate Whitehead (MSS298)
Diaries, 1863-78; 1 reel microfilm
Rowland's 3 journals (29 October 1863 - 26 December 1864; 31 October 1877 - 16 January 1878; 17 January 1878 - 4 July 1878) record the activities of a typical upper class Georgia family during the Civil War and post-war periods. Among the activities described are several weddings, impressions of camp life near Dalton, Georgia where Rowland stayed with her husband a few weeks, church meetings, and various kinds of entertainment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Rumble, Urban, 1843-1862 (MSS726)
Correspondence, 1859, 1861-1862; 1 box
Rumble enlisted in Company A of the 14th Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry in 1861, and spent his military service stationed in Virginia. He died of pneumonia in Chimbeross Hospital in Richmond, 5 Apr 1862. The collection includes 12 letters written by Rumble to his parents, describing camp life, sights and events he witnessed, but with little discussion of actual battles. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Rylander, John Emory, 1836-1864 (MSS393)
Papers, 1855-1863; 1 folder
Rylander's diary (3 July 1861-4 September 1861) details his experiences in Company A, 12th Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry, Army of Northern Virginia (Muckalee Guards, Sumter County). He was killed at Cold Harbor, Virginia, 2 June 1864. In addition to the diary, there are two letters and a muster roll of the Muckalee Guards for 25 May 1861. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Sanders, Samuel David (MSS422)
Papers, 1861-1867; 1 reel microfilm
Sanders' correspondence with his daughter Mary (59 items) recounts his experiences with Company D, 21st South Carolina Infantry Regiment. The letters reveal much about camp life, education on the college level (Mary was in college during this period), religious beliefs, and parental child relationships in the Southern upper class. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Sanford, Shelton Palmer, 1816-1896 (MSS133)
Diaries, 1852-1896; 1 box (photocopies only)
Sanford's diaries for the Civil War period make reference to his son Charley, a Confederate soldier, the progress of the War, elections and other news of the day. Sanford was a professor of mathematics at Mercer University for 52 years (1839-1891) and acting president for 2 years (1856-1858). See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Savannah (Ga.). District and Port (MSS226)
Records, 1861; 3 folders
The records consist of accounts of ships' cargo brought into the port of Savannah, Georgia (through the Savannah Customs House and/or Collector and/or Port Inspector) during the months of March through November 1861. Represented are Southern and British businesses. Several documents contain engravings of ships. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Scarbrough, Lemuel A., 1837-1918 (MSS349)
Diary, 1861-1862; 1 reel microfilm
Scarbrough's diary (27 May 1861-4 April 1862) details his service with the 13th Tennessee Regiment. The diary comments on food, discipline, railroad travel, diversions and religion in the army. An added entry for 6-7 April 1862 (made years later) recounts the Battle of Shiloh. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Sewell, Aaron M., d. 1864 (MSS340)
Correspondence, 1862-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Includes 35 letters written by Aaron M. Sewell, private in Company H, 39th Georgia Regiment, and 14 letters by his wife Louisa and other relatives. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Shore, Augustin E. (MSS56)
Correspondence, 1849-1865, 1877; 1 folder
Includes photocopies of correspondence of Shore with relatives and friends (36 items). Eleven pre-war letters describe farm life in West Tennessee in the 1850's; however, the bulk of the letters deal with the war service of Shore and his brother who both served in the North Carolina Infantry, 33rd Regiment, Company I, Lane's Brigade, Army of Northern Virginia. (The letters are photocopies.) See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Smith, George Gilman, 1836-1913 (MSS228)
Papers, 1835-1956; 10 boxes, 1 oversized folder plus 1 reel microfilm
Includes papers relating to Smith's service as a chaplain in Phillip's Georgia Legion during the Civil War. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Stephens, Alexander Hamilton, 1812-1883 (MSS94)
Papers, 1821-1969 (bulk 1821-1899); 17 boxes, 1 oversized item, 9 reels microfilm
Much of the correspondence in these papers of the vice president of the Confederate States of America is of a political nature. Correspondents include Joseph E. Brown, Howell Cobb, Robert Toombs, Milton A. Candler, John B. Gordon, George R. Gilmer, and Jefferson Davis among several others. The collection also includes legal and financial papers as well as printed speeches and manuscripts. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Stephens, William Anderson, d. 1865 (MSS324)
Papers, 1862-1865, 1891; 1 reel microfilm
Includes the wartime correspondence of William Stephens, member of the 46th Alabama Infantry and of his in-laws, the Hodnetts, who also served in the Confederate army. Specifically, John W. Hodnett served in Company K, 13th Regiment, Georgia Volunteers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Stiles, William H. (William Henry), 1809-1865 (MSS229)
Papers, 1749-1892 (bulk 1835-1865); 6 boxes, 6 oversized folders plus 3 reels of microfilm
A portion of this collection relates to William Stiles' service as a colonel in the 60th Georgia Regiment (which joined the First Brigade of Ewell's Division of the Second Army Corps of the Army of Northern Virginia.) Also includes several Civil War letters which provide information about the wartime experiences of various other family members, including William Henry Stiles, Jr., and John Mackay, an in-law, as well as those who remained at home. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Stone, Annie Brown (MSS306)
Papers, 1861-1869; 1 reel microfilm
Includes 5 letters of Confederate soldiers and 1 written from Atlanta by a Union soldier. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Stout, Samuel Hollingsworth, 1822-1903 (MSS274)
Papers, 1847-1955 (bulk 1861-1865); 5 boxes, 1 oversized folder plus 1 reel microfilm
Stout's papers primarily consist of official correspondence of the medical department of the Confederate army where he served as medical director of hospitals, southeastern Confederate states (1861-1865). In addition to this correspondence, the Civil War papers include general and special orders, circulars, and reports from subordinate medical officers relating to personnel, supplies, transportation of sick and wounded, and the transport of entire hospitals. Also included in this portion of the papers is an order book for Flewellen Hospital, Cassville, Georgia and a photograph of Stout in uniform. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Strickland, Oliver V. (MSS303)
Papers, 1863-1937; 1 folder
Includes 2 Civil War letters of Oliver Strickland who was a private in Company I, 43rd Georgia Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Stuart, Jeb, 1833-1864 (MSS230)
Letters, 1861; 1 folder
Includes letters from James Stuart, a Confederate cavalryman, to his wife during the first year of the war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Thiot Family (MSS297)
Papers, 1756-1865; 2 boxes plus 1 reel microfilm
Primarily Civil War correspondence of Charles Henry Thiot who served initially with the Chatham Artillery then in the 1st Regiment, Georgia Volunteers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Thomas, James, 1799?-1866 (MSS233)
Correspondence, 1862-1864; 1 folder
Includes 16 letters of Linton Stephens and Alexander H. Stephens. A number of the letters from Linton Stephens were written while he commanded a militia company organized for six month service in Georgia from 15 August 1863. He criticizes Generals Braxton Bragg and D.H. Hill, Jefferson Davis, and Confederate conscription laws. Those letters from Alexander Stephens deal mainly with health matters, but include some comments on the Confederate congress and the preliminaries to the battle of Atlanta. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Thompson, Waddy, 1798-1868 (MSS235)
Papers, 1856-1865; 1 folder
Consists of a small group of letters (7 items) from the South Carolina statesman. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Thomson, William Sydnor, 1843-1913 (MSS96)
Papers, 1858-1881; 3 boxes
Thomson served with the 12th Virginia Cavalry and his letters discuss secession in Virginia and Tennessee, but provide little information about his participation in battle. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Trask, W. L., 1832-1908 (MSS380)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Trask was a steamboat pilot when the Civil War began and was commissioned a second lieutenant with the Sumter Greys of New Orleans. In 1866, Trask commanded the river steamer Charm in campaigns in Columbus, Kentucky, and in Belmont, Missouri. In 1862 he became adjutant of Austin's Battalion of Sharpshooters with Bragg's army and was an enlisted courier for Hardee during the Atlanta campaign. The collection consists of one volume of manuscript reminiscences, plus transcripts documenting Trask's participation in the Civil war. Discussed is the Battle of Belmont, Missouri (1861), the Charm, his service under General Braxton Bragg, the Battle of Perryville, Kentucky, the Murfreesboro (Tennessee) campaign and other military campaigns and incidents in which he took part. Included are newspaper clippings dealing with river battles. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Tuttle, Edwin D. (MSS318)
Letters, 1862-1872 (bulk 1862-1864); 1 folder
Tuttle's letters detail his experiences as a private in Company G., 26th Virginia Regiment, Wise Brigade, Army of Northern Virginia. They describe army life and conditions in the regions through which he passes as his regiment is transferred from Virginia to South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, and back to Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
United Daughters of the Confederacy. Ga. Div. A.H. Colquitt Chapter (MSS394)
Records, 1860-1975; 3 folders
The collection includes typescripts of letters, diaries, and documents pertaining to the Civil War and a packet of printed pamphlets and leaflets concerning Southern landmarks.
Waddell, James D., 1832-1881 (MSS296)
Papers, 1862-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Waddell's letters detail his service in the 20th Georgia Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Wadley, William M., 1813-1882 (MSS727)
Papers, 1869-1882; 2 boxes
Wadley received an appointment as colonel in the Adjutant General's Department of the Confederate Army (29 Nov 1862-22 May 1863). His duties were to supervise and direct the transportation of the Confederacy on all of its railroads. The Confederate Senate failed to confirm the appointment and his commission was terminated. The collection includes one folder relating to Wadley's Civil War service and includes official correspondence from the Confederate States of America War Department first appointing Wadley colonel and then rescinding the appointment because the Senate refused to confirm it. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Wager, Ralph Edmond, 1881-1979 (MSS60)
Collection, 1839-1974; 5 boxes, 3 oversized items
This collection of a former Emory professor of education (1916-1945) includes Confederate newspaper clippings, maps, currency, letters, passes, and bonds. EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Watkins, James W., d. 1896 (MSS413)
Papers, 1861-1864; 3 folders
Watkins' letters describe some of the fighting during the Atlanta Campaign, including the Battle of Atlanta, the fortifications, positions of forces, prisoners taken, and the discomfort of army life. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Watters, Richard P., d. 1862 (MSS299)
Correspondence, 1861-1862; 1 reel microfilm
Watters' letters (22 items), detail his service in the Rome Light Guards, 8th Regiment, Georgia Volunteers. They are written from Confederate military camps in Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Wilbur, Aaron (MSS242)
Papers, 1863-1865; 7 folders
Wilbur served as aide de camp to Gov. Joseph E. Brown and purchasing agent for the state of Georgia. Includes correspondence between Wilbur and Gov. Brown and other individuals. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Wiley, Bell Irvin, 1906- (MSS521)
Papers, [ca. 1937-1981]; ca. 100 boxes
Papers of this Civil War historian and Emory professor include materials relating to his book-length publications including correspondence, drafts, illustrations, and research notes; also includes files relating to his teaching activities, and original letters, diaries and other items of the Civil War era collected in the course of his research. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Williams, Benjamin S., 1843-1931 (MSS377)
Papers, 1899-1924; 1 reel microfilm
Williams and his brother, Abraham D. Williams, served in the 47th Georgia Infantry. After the war, he was commander of the Confederate Soldiers' Home in Columbia, South Carolina. The collection consists of two scrapbooks of newspaper clippings. The clippings form a series of articles written by Williams and published in the Hampton County Guardian, 19 Sept 1923 - 4 Dec 1924. The articles are Williams's reminiscences of the Civil War. Battles written about include Chickamauga and Lookout Mountain, Tennessee and Honey Hill and Rivers Bridge, South Carolina. There is also information on Williams's father and brother and the 47th Georgia Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Williams, James W. (MSS389)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Williams' letters (19 items) detail his experiences as a cook and nurse in the 4th Georgia Regiment and later in the 16th Georgia Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Willink, Henry Frederick, b. 1825 (MSS243)
Papers, 1861-1879; 44 items
As a member of the Savannah shipbuilding firm of Willink & Miller, Willink contracted with the Confederate Navy (1861) for the construction of the gunboat, "Macon", and ironclad steamers, "Savannah" and "Milledgeville", the last of which was partially complete when the city of Savannah was captured in December 1864. According to a May 1879 issue of the Savannah Times, Willink was at that time a Savannah alderman. The collection includes correspondence with Confederate Navy Commanders Stephen R. Mallory and Thomas W. Brent (some of which mentions the armored vessel "Fingal", soon to be the "Atlanta"), receipts for payment of slave laborers on shipbuilding projects, and plans for the vessels (including the signatures of John L. Porter, CSA Naval Constructor, and William A. Graves, CSA naval engineer.) See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Wilson, Jerome P. (MSS176)
Papers, 1861-1865; 4 folders, 1 bound volume
Includes war correspondence and a scrapbook of this member of General Hindman's staff [possibly Thomas Carmichael Hindman, C.S.A.]. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Winn, David Read Evans, 1831-1863 (MSS363)
Papers, 1861-1863; 2 boxes
Winn's correspondence with his wife relates camp news, his attitude towards army life, and his concern for his family during his service as a first lieutenant in Company K, Sumter Light Guards, 4th Georgia Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Wren, George Lovick Pierce, 1836-1916 (MSS249)
Diaries, 1858-1864; 5 items
Wren was mustered into Company G., 8th Louisiana Infantry Regiment ("Minden Blues"). He was captured at Port Republic on 9 Jun 1862, imprisoned at Fort Delaware, and exchanged on 5 Aug 1862. Returning to service in early 1863 after a lengthy furlough, he was captured again in May 1864, re-incarcerated at Fort Delaware, and released after taking the Oath of Allegiance on 15 Jun 1865. Two of the diaries in the collection describe Wren's military career. In the diary from 1861-62, he describes his initial army service, commenting on fighting at Sharpsburg, Maryland, and in Virginia as well as his first imprisonment. In the diary from 1863-64, he mentions action in Mississippi, Georgia, South Carolina, and North Carolina, referring to hardships and religious revivals among the soldiers and conditions in prison. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.
Please contact MARBL at 404-727-6887 or marbl@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.
|