from Robert W. Woodruff bookplate Robert W. Woodruff Library, Emory University
Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
Home >> Subject Guides >> Civil War Guide >> Civilians


Civilians During the Civil War

These collections include materials documenting the experiences of civilians during the Civil War.

Americana (Brazil) Oral History Project (MSS740)
Collection, 1978; 5 boxes, 1 oversized folder
The collection consists primarily of interviews conducted in 1978 by Professor D. Carlisle with descendants of Confederate soldiers and their families who emigrated to Americana, Brazil after the Civil War. The research materials also include transcripts and audio cassette recordings of interviews, permission forms, photographs, and slides computer disks, and genealogical charts. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Babb, John D. (MSS360)
Family papers, 1862-1865; 8 folders
John D. Babb, Jr., of Baltimore, served as a Sergeant in Company B, 5th Maryland Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, USA. The Babbs were patriotic unionists and were opposed to both abolition and secession. Their letters reflect the divided allegiance of the Baltimore people and frequently mention the Secessionists as cheering Jeff Davis, circulating false stories about Confederate victories and refusing to be drafted. Also discussed are estrangement of neighbors, enmity between members of churches and other evidences of mutual suspicion and sectional strife. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Barnsley, Godfrey, 1805-1873 (MSS13)
Family papers, 1822-1980 (bulk 1826-1873); 6 boxes, 11 oversized folders, 2 bound volumes, 1 reel microfilm
George Barnsley worked as a hospital steward and served in the 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry. The collection includes information on the impact of the Civil War and Reconstruction on southern Confederate families. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Burge family (MSS266)
Papers, 1832-1952; 5 boxes plus 1 reel of microfilm
The diaries of Dolly Lunt Burge, Louisiana D. Burge, and William H. Graham describe their experiences as Confederate civilians during the war. Dolly Lunt Burge was a widow during the war. The diaries comment on the siege of Petersburg, Virginia (1864-65) and Sherman's March to the Sea. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Chaney, George Leonard, 1836-1922 (MSS639)
Papers, 1856-1908 (bulk 1896-1904); 3 boxes, 1 oversized item
The papers contain Chaney's Civil War correspondence. During the Civil War, Chaney, a Unitarian Church leader, ministered to soldiers at camp hospitals of the U.S. Sanitary Commission. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Confederate Broadsides
Emory has a large collection of Confederate broadsides, including several that are not held elsewhere. Please contact MARBL for further information about the Confederate broadsides.

Confederate Memorabilia (MSS341)
These materials include 2 savings deposit notes issued by Macon Savings Bank on 16 March 1863 and valued at 5 cents each, 2 Confederate bond receipts dated April 1863, 28 Confederate stocks and bonds (1863, 1864), a receipt issued from the Depository Office of the Confederate States to Winter Walker on 9 March 1864 for $100, and 2 cards advertising the services of pension attorney H. F. Bungardt.

Confederate Misc. I (MSS20)
1861, 1865; 8 boxes, 2 bound volumes, 5 oversized folders, l oversized bound volume, 1 reel microfilm
An artificial collection of manuscripts (or copies of manuscripts) by Confederates (military or civilian) written during the Civil War. See descriptive inventory: Section Ie - Others' letters and papers.

Cooper, William, 1802-1887 (MSS547)
Diaries, 1859-1887; 1 box plus 5 reels of microfilm
William Cooper practiced law in Alabama and lived at Tuscumbia, Alabama and at Magnolia Plantation, near Friar's Point, Cahoma County, Mississippi. Topics include farming, the weather, his law practice, African-Americans, travel, and events of the Civil War and Reconstruction. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Cowart, Robert E. (MSS190)
Papers, 1904; 1 folder
Consists of "The Thunderer of the Confederacy," a biography (65 pages, typescript, n.d.) of John Moncure Daniel, editor of the Richmond Enquirer, and 1 letter dated 1904. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Fellowship Church (Fellowship, Ga.) (MSS516)
Records, 1829-1867, 1876-1880; 1 box
Includes one record book for the Civil War period for the Fellowship Church, Book One: 1829-1867 Regular Baptist Church. The church was originally Baptist before becoming Church of Christ. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Friendship Baptist Church (Americus, Ga.) (MSS433)
Record books, 1839-1964; 1 reel of microfilm
Consists of microfilm of 4 bound volumes of meeting minutes (15 December 1839 - 9 February 1964). There is brief mention of the Civil War.See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Galloway, Charles Betts, 1849-1909 (MSS39)
Papers, 1879-1910; 3 folders
The papers of Galloway, a Methodist bishop and editor, include correspondence dated 1898 and 1899 concerning the "war claim" over the occupation, during the Civil War, of the publishing house of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, by Union troops. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Goulding, F.R. (Francis Robert), 1810-1881 (MSS197)
Papers, 1846-1934; 4 folders
Mainly Goulding's Civil War correspondence. Goulding was a Georgia Presbyterian minister, author, and inventor. In the correspondence, there is discussion of the lack of Presbyterian ministers in Confederate army camps. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Green family (MSS636)
Civil War papers, 1861-1863; 1 box
Primarily correspondence of Fannie Green with other members of the Green family: to her mother (22 letters, 1862), her father (1 letters, 1862) and to her brother, William C. Green (1 letter, 1862). Also includes a journal (March 1862-May 1863). The letters and journal were written while Fannie Green was on a visit to Washington, and during the time she spent in Newport News, Virginia, taking care of her wounded brother. The journal includes descriptions of daily life and accounts of individuals she met and stayed with. Of particular interest is an entry of a letter she received from her brother (9 May 1862) written from a camp near Williamsburg in which he describes in great detail the Battle of Williamsburg. Other correspondence includes 5 letters to Fannie Green from her brother (1861-1862) and others (4 letters, 1862). The remaining correspondence is from William C. Green to his mother (4 letters, 1861-1862) and to his father (1 letter, 1861). Also includes a military pass issued to Fannie Green (22 August 1862) to visit her brother, a photograph of Sanford Moon Green (n.d.), and an uncompleted furlough pass (2 October 1863). See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Gregory family (MSS624)
Papers; 49 boxes, 7 scrapbooks, 1 oversized folder
These papers include the papers of Sir William Henry Gregory (1817-1892) who served as a member of Parliament for County Galway, Ireland, and who was an avid supporter of the Confederacy. One box of his correspondence (1861-1864) concerns the American Civil War; also included in his papers are a draft of a speech (delivered 7 March 1862), pamphlets and newspaper clippings relating to the American Civil War (1857-1861). See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Harris, Joel Chandler, 1848-1908 (MSS5)
Papers, 1858-1978 (bulk 1880-1908); 43 boxes, 15 oversized boxes plus 4 reels of microfilm
The personal correspondence section of the Harris papers includes letters written in the 1860s discussing the South's role in the Civil War. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Harwell, Richard Barksdale (MSS310)
Papers, 1940-1991; 4 boxes
Includes correspondence, manuscripts and materials about Harwell's books and articles on the Civil War, including Confederate Belles-Lettres (1941), and Confederate Music (1950). Harwell was a librarian and Civil War bibliographer. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Hewitt, John Hill, 1801-1890 (MSS31)
Papers, 1824-1940; 8 boxes, 17 bound volumes, and 5 oversized items
Although born in New York, Hewitt supported the Confederate cause during the war. He was a musician, composer, journalist, poet, story writer, and dramatist. He gained greatest recognition as a composer of ballads. His papers contain both published and unpublished manuscripts; including plays, melodrama and operetta librettos, prose works, poetry and music, particularly ballads. They also include autobiographical materials and notebooks; correspondence; and miscellaneous notebooks and scrapbooks, many of the latter filled with clippings by and about Hewitt. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Hood, Rebecca Rainey (MSS325)
Papers, 1862-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Includes a 4 page letter (30 July 1862) from Rebecca Hood's son, a Confederate soldier, written from a hospital in Lowden, Tennessee. Also includes her memoirs entitled "Memories of the Civil War and Echoes from the Heart of Rebecca Hood." The memoirs describe her experiences during the Civil War at her home in Cartersville, Georgia: the enlistment of her two sons, Sherman's advance through northern Georgia towards Atlanta, and contacts with Union soldiers. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Independent Presbyterian Church (Savannah, Ga.) (MSS490)
Records, 1800-1960; 15 reels of microfilm
Minutes, attendance rolls, handbooks, membership records of the Civil War period for the Independent Presbyterian Church located at Bull and Oglethorpe Streets in Savannah. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Ivey, William H. (MSS351)
Papers, 1842, 1860-1863 (bulk 1862-1863); 1 folder plus 1 reel of microfilm
Includes letters written to Private Ivey (Co. I, 32nd Regiment, Georgia Volunteers) by his relatives describing conditions on the home front. Most letters pertain to management of family farm during the war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Keener, John Christian, 1819-1906 (MSS204)
Papers, 1864-1865; 1 folder
Includes documents and correspondence concerning the return of New Orleans property, which had been confiscated by the Union armies, to the Methodist Church, South. Keener was a Methodist bishop. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Long, Nimrod William Ezekiel, 1834-1923 (MSS416)
Papers, 1859-1865; 2 folders, 1 volume, 1 reel microfilm
Long served in Co. B, 51st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Wheeler's Corps, and his correspondence with his wife concerns camp life, food, clothing, morale, discipline, officers and civilians, furloughs, and duties, including service on pickets and in raiding parties. Also includes copy of senior thesis (Princeton U.) by Martha Long McGhee, entitled "Native to the Soil: The Life and Times of Nimrod William Ezekiel Long of Alabama". The paper follows Long's life through the Civil War and Reconstruction. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

May, James W. (James William), 1912- (MSS667)
Papers, 1929-1988; 1 folder
James W. May was Professor Emeritus of Theology at Emory University. His papers include a typescript entitled "Life on a Bullock County Plantation in the 1860s: James A. Eidson's Memorandum Book" written by Dr. May in 1987. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

McBlair, Virginia Myers (MSS74)
Papers, 1818-1894; 8 folders
The papers include Virginia Myers McBlair's Civil War correspondence with her husband William McBlair, commander of the navy of Virginia. Her mother Louisa Marx Myers writes to her of family, social life, and religion. The papers also contain school compositions written by McBlair and information on McBlair's education in the nineteenth century. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Mercer, Hugh Weedon, 1808-1877 (MSS215)
Letters, 1861-1866; 2 folders
Includes correspondence from Confederate general Mercer to his daughter about family life. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Moore, John Augustus, 1831-1920 (MSS217)
Papers, 1840-1910; 3 folders
Miscellaneous records of a postmaster in Gillisonville, S.C., including his request to secretary of state, William Seward that he be allowed to take the oath of allegiance to the Union. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Oliver family (MSS724)
Papers, 1791-1913; 11 boxes; 2 oversized folders
Of notable interest is Martha Oliver's description of life at the Woodlawn plantation, located in Oglethorpe County, Georgia, during the Civil War. Also correspondents to Lizzie Oliver include a series of letters signed "Annie," written in the 1860s, that offer Annie's impressions of the Civil War. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Orr family (MSS268)
Papers, 1825-1970; 14 boxes, 2 oversized folders, 1 bound volume
When the Civil War forced schools in Georgia to close, Gustavus John Orr, a professor of mathematics at Emory College, was appointed tax collector for Newton Co. He also acted as an agent of the Confederate government in buying hides and making shoes. A portion of the correspondence in these papers contains commentary on the Civil War and Reconstruction in Georgia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Perkins, Sheppard E. (MSS220)
Papers, 1860-1879; 2 folders
Includes some correspondence and business papers relating to the hiring of African-Americans during the Civil War and immediately after; also includes business papers of Perkins Lumber Company. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Pictorial File
Collection
This collection contains photographs, prints, broadsides, and other visual images of the Civil War. An index to the collection can be found in the card catalog in the MARBL.

detail from an announcement for a benefit event for soldiers
The citizens of Macon held a town celebration to benefit the soldiers fighting in the war. This announcement shows the highly patriotic rhetoric of the citizens. Click on the image to see the entire announcement.

Pinckney family (MSS221)
Papers, 1823-1864; 3 folders
This collection, which centers around a Charleston planter and his son, an Episcopal minister, contains a letter to Rev. Pinckney from a James Peterkin (9 February 1861) conveying Peterkin's moderate views on the possibility of sectional conflict. There is brief mention of the military operations of the war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Richards, Samuel P. (MSS518)
Diaries, 1848-1909; 3 reels of microfilm
The Civil War portion of the diary describes the shelling and evacuation of Atlanta and Mr. Richards' journey to New York as a refugee in 1864. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Richardson, Sue (MSS333)
Diary, 1863-65; 4 bound volumes (typed copy only)
Richardson's diary (1 October 1863 - 23 May 1865) discusses the activities of the Richardson family, as well as contacts with Confederate and Union soldiers and military movements. Richardson lived at Rose Hill in Front Royal, Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Rogers, Loula Kendall, 1838-1931 (MSS696)
Family papers, 1810-1954; 49 boxes, 17 oversized items, 3 bound volumes, 3 fragile photographs boxes
Loula Kendall Rogers' husband James Henry Rogers served as a member of the 5th Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry ("Upson Guards"), Co. K. Loula was asked by Col. P. W. Alexander to make a flag representing the seven seceded states in March 1861 which she presented to the Upson Guards. The collection consists of correspondence, journals, and memorabilia reflecting both plantation life during the Civil War and her husband's military service. The collection also includes programs, minutes and scrapbooks relating to Loula Kendall Rogers' involvement in chapters of the Georgia Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy in Barnesville and Tennille, Georgia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Rowland, Kate Whitehead (MSS298)
Diaries, 1863-1878; 1 reel microfilm
Rowland's 3 journals (29 October 1863 - 26 December 1864; 31 October 1877 - 16 January 1878; 17 January 1878 - 4 July 1878) record the activities of a typical upper class Georgia family during the Civil War and post-war periods. Among the activities described are several weddings, impressions of camp life near Dalton, Georgia where Rowland stayed with her husband a few weeks, church meetings, and various kinds of entertainment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Sanders, Samuel David (MSS422)
Papers, 1861-1867; 1 reel microfilm
Sanders' correspondence with his daughter Mary (59 items) recounts his experiences during the war as a Confederate soldier. The letters reveal much about camp life, women's colleges (Mary was in college during this period), religious beliefs, and parent-child relationships within the Southern upper class. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Sanford, Shelton Palmer, 1816-1896 (MSS133)
Diaries, 1852-1896; 1 box
Sanford's diaries for the Civil War period make reference to his son Charley, a Confederate soldier, the progress of the War, elections and other news of the day. Sanford was a professor of mathematics at Mercer University for 52 years (1839-1891) and acting president for 2 years (1856-1858). See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wadley, Sarah Lois, 1844-1920 (MSS461)
Papers, 1859-1906 (bulk 1859-1886); 1 reel of microfilm
Wadley's diary (8 August 1859-4 February 1866, with later brief entries 1868-1886) describes in detail the attitudes and reactions of herself and others to various events or rumors throughout the Civil War. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wager, Ralph Edmond, 1881-1979 (MSS60)
Collection, 1839-1974; 5 boxes, 3 oversized items
This collection of a former Emory professor of education (1916-1945) includes Confederate newspaper clippings, maps, currency, letters, passes, and bonds. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.


Please contact MARBL at 404-727-6887 or marbl@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.


updated 09-2005