from Robert W. Woodruff bookplate Robert W. Woodruff Library, Emory University
Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library
Home >> Subject Guides >> Civil War Guide >> Battles


Civil War Battles

Collections listed here include descriptions or discussions of particular Civil War battles. This guide contains a list of battles organized by state and then by date. Under each battle is a list of relevant collections. For more information on individual battles, see Mark M. Boatner III's The Civil War Dictionary or visit the website for the Civil War Sites Advisory Commission's Battle Summaries. Georgia Tech's Geographic Information Systems for Civil War Battlefield Preservation includes GIS and three-dimensional representations for some battles.


Alabama

Mobile Bay

Lear, J. L. J., b. 1845 (MSS352)
Diary, 1864; 1 reel microfilm
Lear's diary details his experiences in Company L, 1st regiment, Tennessee Artillery. It includes a vivid description of Admiral Farragut's attack on Mobile Bay. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Georgia

Chickamauga Campaign

Ayers, Alexander Miller, 1827-1902 (MSS276)
Papers, 1851-1921; 1 reel microfilm
Ayers discusses his experiences in the Atlanta campaign while serving in the 125th Illinois Volunteer Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Crowder, James Preston (MSS321)
Papers, 1861-1864; 2 reels of microfilm
Crowder served as a private in Company I, 47th Alabama Regiment and he writes about Chickamauga in his letters. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Fogle, Theodore T. (Theodore Turner), 1834-1864 (MSS436)
Letters, 1851-1865; 1 box
Fogle writes about his experiences in the Columbus Guards, which saw action at Chickamauga. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Harris family (MSS405)
Papers, 1857-1863; 1 folder plus 1 reel microfilm (additions)
The Harris brothers served in several Georgia regiments. Correspondence includes descriptions of Chickamauga. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Honnoll family (MSS63)
Papers, 1861-1865; 7 folders
William and Hugh Honnell served in the 24th Infantry Regiment, Mississippi Volunteers and describe Chickamauga in their correspondence. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Williams, Benjamin S., 1843-1931 (MSS377)
Papers, 1899-1924; 2 items on microfilm
Includes reminiscences of the battle of Chickamauga. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Atlanta Campaign

Armor, William Crawford (MSS678)
Diary, 1864; 1 item
Armor served in the 28th Regiment of the Pennsylvania Volunteers and the 2nd Division of the 20th Army Corps. His diary discusses the shelling of Atlanta in 1864. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Ayers, Alexander Miller, 1827-1902 (MSS276)
Papers, 1851-1921; 1 reel microfilm
Ayers discusses his experiences in the Atlanta campaign while serving in the 125th Illinois Volunteer Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Baurdick, Anthony J., b. 1840 (MSS72)
Papers, 1861-1865; 3 folders
Baurdick served in the Missouri Volunteers. He describes his participation in the Atlanta Campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Bomar family (MSS86)
Papers, 1862-1870; 1 folder
The Bomar family lived in Atlanta where Benjamin Bomar worked as a merchant and clerk in Fulton County Superior Court. Correspondence in the collections includes vivid descriptions of Atlanta and Atlanta refugees during the war. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Burge family (MSS266)
Papers, 1832-1952; 5 boxes plus 1 reel microfilm
Diaries of Dolly Lung Burge, Louisiana D. Burge and William H. Graham include a description of the siege of Sherman's March to the Sea and Atlanta campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Carter, Thomas Michelle, 1841-1922 (MSS452)
Papers, 1842-1892; 1 box and 1 reel microfilm
Carter served in the 2nd Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry. He describes his experiences during the Atlanta Campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Cox, Charles Harding, 1844-1928 (MSS330)
Papers, 1860-1928; ca. 162 items and 1 reel microfilm
Cox served in the 70th Regiment, Indiana Infantry. He describes his experiences in the March to the Sea and battle for Atlanta. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Davidson, John Mitchell (MSS357)
Papers, 1851-1960; 1 folder, 1 reel microfilm
Davidson served in the North Carolina Volunteers and details his experiences in the Atlanta Campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Dixon, Mumford H., b. 1838 (MSS332)
Diary, 1864, 1 folder
Dixon describes the defense of Atlanta in his diary written while serving in the Arkansas Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Gates, Luther L. (MSS474)
Letters, 1862-1865; 2 folders
Gates writes about the Atlanta campaign while he served in Company A, 60th New York regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Honnoll family (MSS63)
Papers, 1861-1865; 7 folders
William and Hugh Honnell served in the 24th Infantry Regiment, Mississippi Volunteers and describe the Atlanta campaign in their correspondence. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Kirkland, Moses J. (MSS348)
Papers, 1862-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Kirkland describes several battles in the Atlanta area while serving in the Georgia 6th Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Mercer, Hugh Weedon, 1808-1877 (MSS215)
Letters, 1861-1866; 2 folders
Mercer commanded Savannah for most of the war, but also participated in the Atlanta Campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Neal, Andrew Jackson, 1837-1864 (MSS218)
Papers, 1856-1881 (bulk 1861-1864); 2 boxes
Andrew Neal served in the Marion Light Artillery. He includes a description of the Battle of Atlanta. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Richards, Samuel P., 1824-1910 (MSS518)
Diaries, 1848-1909; 3 reels of microfilm
Richards describes the shelling and evacuation of Atlanta. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Thomas, James, 1799?-1866 (MSS233)
Correspondence, 1862-1864; 1 folder
The collection includes letters from Alexander H. Stephens on the preliminaries to the battle for Atlanta. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Union Microfilm miscellany (#468)
Collection, 1861-1865; 2 reels of microfilm

Girdner, Ephraim L., 1840-1915
Papers, 1861-1906 (bulk 1861-1865); 1 microfilm reel
Includes observation on the battle of Atlanta. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Watkins, James W., d. 1896 (MSS413)
Papers, 1861-1864; 3 folders
Includes descriptions of fighting and defense during the Battle of Atlanta. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Resaca

Cox, Charles Harding, 1844-1928 (MSS330)
Papers, 1860-1928; ca. 162 items and 1 reel microfilm
Cox served in the 70th Regiment, Indiana Infantry and fought in the battle of Resaca. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Golgotha

Cox, Charles Harding, 1844-1928 (MSS330)
Papers, 1860-1928; ca. 162 items and 1 reel microfilm
Cox served in the 70th Regiment, Indiana Infantry and fought in the battle of Golgotha. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Dallas/New Hope Church

Cox, Charles Harding, 1844-1928 (MSS330)
Papers, 1860-1928; ca. 162 items and 1 reel microfilm
Cox served in the 70th Regiment, Indiana Infantry and fought in the battle of Dallas/New Hope Church. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Kennesaw Mountain

Cox, Charles Harding, 1844-1928 (MSS330)
Papers, 1860-1928; ca. 162 items and 1 reel microfilm
Cox served in the 70th Regiment, Indiana Infantry and fought in the battle of Kennesaw Mountain. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Peachtree Creek

Cox, Charles Harding, 1844-1928 (MSS330)
Papers, 1860-1928; ca. 162 items and 1 reel microfilm
Cox served in the 70th Regiment, Indiana Infantry and fought in the battle of Peachtree Creek. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Sunshine Church

Iverson family (MSS427)
Papers, 1821-1928; 5 items and 1 reel microfilm
Alfred Iverson served as a brigadier general with the Army of the Confederate States. The collections includes five scrapbooks, including detail on the Battle of Sunshine Church. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Kentucky

Perryville

Trask, W. L., 1832-1908 (MSS380)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Trask was a steamboat pilot and commissioned as second lieutenant in Sumter Greys of New Orleans. The collections includes transcripts detailing the battle of Perryville. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Louisiana

Port Hudson

Crydenwise, Henry M. (MSS52)
Letters, 1861-1866; 7 folders
Crydenwise served as a captain in Company A, 1st Regiment, Corps D'Afrique which later became Company A of the 73rd Regiment Infantry. He includes a vivid description of the siege of Port Hudson. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Red River Campaign

Crydenwise, Henry M. (MSS53)
Letters, 1861-1866; 7 folders
Crydenwise served as a captain in Company A, 1st Regiment, Corps D'Afrique which later became Company A of the 73rd Regiment Infantry. He includes a vivid description of the siege of the Red River campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Maryland

Antietam (Sharpsburg) Campaign

Babb, John D. (MSS360)
Family papers, 1862-1865; 8 folders
Babb describes his experiences with Company B, 5th Maryland Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, USA during the battle of Antietam. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Fogle, Theodore, T. (Theodore Turner), 1834-1864 (MSS436)
Letters, 1851-1865; 1 box
Fogle writes about his experiences in the Columbus Guards, which saw action at Antietam. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Monks, Zerah Coston, b. 1841 (MSS376)
Papers, 1859-1867; 340 items and 1 reel microfilm
Monks recounts his service in Company C, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers and in Company E of the 155th Pennsylvania Volunteers. He includes a description of Antietam. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Pitts, Thomas Henry, 1834-1871 (MSS440)
Papers, 1856-1875; 1 reel microfilm
Pitts served in the 3rd South Carolina Regiment. His correspondence includes a discussion of Antietam and the Sharpsburg campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wren, George Lovick Pierce, 1836-1916 (MSS249)
Diaries, 1858-1864; 5 items
Wren served into Company G, 8th Louisiana Infantry Regiment (Minden Blues). He describes fighting at Antietam. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Mississippi

Corinth

Honnoll family (MSS63)
Papers, 1861-1865; 7 folders
William and Hugh Honnell served in the 24th Infantry Regiment, Mississippi Volunteers and describe the battle of Corinth in their correspondence. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Vicksburg Campaign

Brotherton, Levi, 1810-1893 (MSS313)
Papers, 1832-1919; 142 items
Includes one letter from Levi's son James M. Brotherton (d. 1863) discussing the fortification of Vicksburg, Mississippi. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Brotherton, William H., 1839-1908 (MSS278)
Papers, 1862-1908; 2 folders, 1 oversized bound volume, 1 reel microfilm
enlisted in the Confederate Army (Georgia Infantry, 39th Regiment) with his brother, James, in 1862. The brothers were in various military camps in east Tennessee (1862), and participated in the siege of Vicksburg, Mississippi (1863). James died of wounds received at Baker's Creek (or Champion Hill), Mississippi on May 19, 1863. William served in Georgia until the close of the war and left the army as a captain. The papers include correspondence from the brothers to family members. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Champion, Sidney S., 1823-1868 (MSS512)
Papers, 1854-1865; 1 box
Includes typescripts of letters from Sid Champion to his family in Midway, Mississippi, throughout the war years. Champion served during the Civil War as a captian with Company I of the 28th Mississippi Calvalry. Prior to that, Champion was a teacher and a planter. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Chunn, William Augustus, 1840-1921 (MSS18)
Letters, 1837-1879; 1 box
Chunn enlisted in Company I, 1st Regiment, 1st Brigade, of the Georgia State Troops and was elected second lieutenant. He describes of desertions on the way to Vicksburg and of the Vicksburg Siege. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Davis, Frederic E. (MSS356)
Papers, 1860-1863; 3 folders plus additions, 1 reel microfilm
He served as a soldier with the Rhode Island Volunteers, 4th Regiment, Company Q. (October 1861), until he became a seaman (April 1962) and served on various vessels (particularly the U.S. gunboats Lexington and Baron DeKalb) on the Ohio, Mississippi, and other rivers in Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi. He participated in the surrender of Arkansas Point, Arkansas and was involved in preparations for the Siege of Vicksburg when he was wounded in action. Includes correspondence to his family and a journal that document the preparations for the Siege of Vicksburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Edge, Andrew J., 1836-1926 (MSS346)
Papers, 1862-1864; 2 folders plus 1 reel microfilm (additions)
Edge was a member of Company C, 52nd Georgia Infantry Regiment (1862-1865), and served in Tennessee, Mississippi, and Georgia. He was captured at Vicksburg, Mississippi (July, 1863), exchanged (October, 1863), wounded at New Hope Church (1864), and was hospitalized in Marietta, Georgia, from which he was furloughed and mustered out. Correspondence (1862-1864) is between Edge and his wife, Alpha Daves (or Davis) Edge, and other family members. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Norman, James T. (James Talmadge), 1830-1895 (MSS756)
Family papers, 1851-1886; 2 boxes
As a member of the Panola Guards, Norman saw 19 months of active service in Alabama, Tennessee, and Vicksburg, Mississippi before his capture at the Battle of Port Gibson. He was imprisoned at Johnson's island in Lake Erie, Ohio 18 Jun 1863 and paroled on 24 Feb 1865. The papers include letters written while Norman served in the Confederate Army and while he was at Johnson's Island. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Parkinson, William M., 1863 (MSS93)
Letters, 1861-1863; 1 folder
Parkinson's letters recount his experiences as a sergeant in Co. C, 11th Illinois Infantry Regiment. He served in Missouri, and West Tennessee, and helped raise a company of African-American troops whom he served as captain (1863). The letters have been photocopied. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Stout, Samuel Hollingsworth, 1822-1903 (MSS274)
Papers, 1847-1955 (bulk 1861-1865); 5 boxes, 1 oversized folder plus 1 reel microfilm
Stout's papers primarily consist of official correspondence of the medical department of the Confederate army where he served as medical director of hospitals, southeastern Confederate states (1861-1865). In addition to this correspondence, the Civil War papers include general and special orders, circulars, and reports from subordinate medical officers relating to personnel, supplies, transportation of sick and wounded, and the transport of entire hospitals. Topics include the siege of Vicksburg (1863). See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Missouri

Belmont

Trask, W. L., 1832-1908 (MSS380)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Trask was a steamboat pilot and commissioned as second lieutenant in Sumter Greys of New Orleans. The collections includes transcripts detailing the battle of Belmont. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


North Carolina

New Bern

Wesson, Hale, 1843-1875 (MSS379)
Papers, 1861-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Wesson served in the 25th Regiment Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry. Letters discuss the battle of New Bern. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Kinston

Wesson, Hale, 1843-1875 (MSS379)
Papers, 1861-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Wesson served in the 25th Regiment Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry. Letters discuss the battle of Kinston. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Goldsboro

Wesson, Hale, 1843-1875 (MSS379)
Correspondence, 1861-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Wesson served in the 25th Regiment Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry. Letters discuss the battle of Goldsboro. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Pennsylvania

Gettysburg Campaign

Bullard, Lucien C. (MSS372)
Diary, 1863; 1 reel microfilm
Bullard served in the Company E, 4th Vermont Regiment. He fought in the Battle of Gettysburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Longstreet, James, 1821-1904 (MSS210)
Papers, 1850-1904 (bulk 1875-1904); 3 folders
Papers of this Confederate general include post-war correspondence (1850; 1875-1904) from General William N. Pendleton and others' criticizing of Longstreet's military tactics at Gettysburg and elsewhere. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Monks, Zerah Coston, b. 1841 (MSS376)
Papers, 1859-1867; 340 items and 1 reel microfilm
Monks recounts his service in Company C, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers and in Company E of the 155th Pennsylvania Volunteers. He includes a description of Gettysburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Union Microfilm miscellany (MSS468)

Roesfel, R. H. F.
Diary, 1862-1863; 1 item on 1 reel microfilm
Roesfel's diary discusses his involvement at Gettysburg and ends after he was wounded in the battle. He includes description of fighting at Gettysburg based on information received from his comrades in Company A, 153rd Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


South Carolina

Ft. Sumter (Charleston Harbor)

Charleston Harbor documents (MSS17)
Documents, 1861-1864 (bulk 1863); 4 folders
Contains materials relating to the defense of Charleston Harbor including activities at Ft. Sumter and James Island. The documents includes vessel position reports and descriptions of attacking fleets. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Dalzell, William, d. 1863 (MSS79)
Letters, 1862-1863; 7 folders
Dalzell served in the New York Infantry, 142nd Regiment, Company C. He includes information on the bombardment of Ft. Sumter. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Gourdin, Robert Newman, 1812-1894 (MSS27)
Papers, 1841-1909; 3 boxes
Robert Gourdin was prominent in South Carolina politics before and during the war. His papers include description of the outbreak of the war and the bombardment of Ft. Sumter. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Battery Wagner

Dalzell, William, d. 1863 (MSS79)
Letters, 1862-1863; 7 folders
Dalzell served in the New York Infantry, 142nd Regiment, Company C. He includes information on Battery Wagner. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Honey Hill

Williams, Benjamin S., 1843-1931 (MSS379)
Papers, 1899-1924; 2 items on microfilm
Williams and his brother, Abraham, served in the 47th Georgia Infantry. Benjamin Williams worked as commander of the Confederate Soldiers Home in Columbia, South Carolina after the war. The collection includes two scrapbooks of newspaper clippings including reminiscences of the Battle of Honey Hill. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Rivers' Bridge

Williams, Benjamin S., 1843-1931 (MSS379)
Papers, 1899-1924; 2 items on microfilm
Williams and his brother, Abraham, served in the 47th Georgia Infantry. Benjamin Williams worked as commander of the Confederate Soldiers Home in Columbia, South Carolina after the war. The collection includes two scrapbooks of newspaper clippings including reminiscences of the Battle of Rivers Bridge. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Columbia

Union Microfilm miscellany (#468)
Collection, 1861-1865; 2 reels of microfilm

Girdner, Ephraim L., 1840-1915
Papers, 1861-1906 (bulk 1861-1865); 1 microfilm reel
Girdner served in Company H of the 66th Indiana Infantry Regiment. He includes a description of the burning of Columbia, South Carolina. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Tennessee

Chattanooga Campaign/Lookout Mountain

Ayers, Alexander Miller, 1827-1902 (MSS276)
Papers, 1851-1921; 1 reel microfilm
Ayers discusses his experiences in the Atlanta campaign while serving in the 125th Illinois Volunteer Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Honnoll family (MSS63)
Papers, 1861-1865; 7 folders
William and Hugh Honnell served in the 24th Infantry Regiment, Mississippi Volunteers and describe Chattanooga in their correspondence. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Neal, Andrew Jackson, 1837-1864 (MSS218)
Papers, 1856-1881 (bulk 1861-1864); 2 boxes
Andrew Neal served in the Marion Light Artillery. He includes a description of the Battle of Chattanooga. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Williams, Benjamin S., 1843-1931 (MSS377)
Papers, 1899-1924; 2 items on microfilm
Includes reminiscences of the battle of Lookout Mountain. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Franklin

Carter, Thomas Michelle, 1841-1922 (MSS452)
Papers, 1842-1892; 1 box and 1 reel microfilm
Carter served in the CoG,2nd Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry and includes a description of the Battle of Franklin. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Murfreesboro

Trask, W. L., 1832-1908 (MSS380)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Trask was a steamboat pilot and commissioned as second lieutenant in Sumter Greys of New Orleans. The collections includes transcripts detailing the battle of Murfreesboro. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


West Virginia

Cheat Mountain Summit

Gordon, Samuel M. (MSS317)
Diary, 1861; 1 reel microfilm
Gordon details his experiences at the Battle of Cheat Mountain Summit while serving in Company H, 25th Regiment, Ohio Regulars. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Virginia

First Bull Run Campaign

Adams, W. H. (MSS465)
Manuscripts, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Includes descriptions of the First Battle of Manassas. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Beauregard, G. T. (Gustave Toutant), 1818-1893 (MSS14)
Papers, 1861-1893; 3 folders
Beauregard was a general who helped command Confederate troops during the First Battle of Manas/Blackburn's Ford. Includes discussion of troop movements following the Battle of Manassas. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 (MSS22)
Collection, 1846-1905; 1 box (photocopies, in part)
Sixty-eight items of correspondence between Jefferson Davis and family members, Confederate officers, and political figures. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

detail from a letter from Brig. Gen. Beauregard to Pres. Jefferson Davis This detail of Brig. Gen. Beauregard's signature comes from a letter he wrote to President Jefferson Davis on 11 July 1861. In the letter, he provides Davis with an update on the Battle of Manassas. Click on the image to view the entire letter.

Dimock family (MSS587)
Papers, 1827-1918 (bulk 1850-1890); 4 boxes, 1 medal, 11 fragile photographs
Joseph Judson Dimock served as officer of the 2nd Regiment, New York State Militia and 82nd Regiment, New York Volunteers. He participated in the First Battle of the Bull Run and the correspondence includes some description of his experiences. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Fort, Tomlinson, 1787-1859 (MSS26)
Family papers, 1808-1882; 2 boxes
Three of Fort's sons served in the Confederate Army and some of their correspondence refers to the battles at Manassas. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Pitts, Thomas Henry, 1834-1871 (MSS440)
Papers, 1856-1875; 1 reel microfilm
Thomas Pitts served in the 3rd South Carolina Regiment. He provides an excellent description of the First Battle of Manassas. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Williamsburg

Green Family (MSS636)
Civil War Papers, 1861-1863; 1 box
Includes one letter by William Green in which he describes in great detail the Battle of Williamsburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Fair Oaks and Seven Pines

Confederate Microfilm Misc. (MSS432)
1860-1865; 1 reel microfilm

Traweek, Ira
Correspondence, 1861-1865; 17 letters
Traweek served in the Jeff Davis Battery of Alabama Artillery, 2nd Corps of the Army of Northern Virginia. Trawick writes of the Battle of Fair Oaks.

  Return to List of States


Seven Day's

Confederate Misc. I (MSS20)
1861-1865; 8 boxes, 3 bound volumes (1 oversized), 5 oversized items, 1 reel microfilm
Includes a letter (in folder 8) from "Jimmie" to "Del" written 29 June 1862. This likely was written by James W. McCulloch to his wife Delia Davis. McCulloch served in Company E, 7th Regiment, Georgia Volunteer Infantry. He writes about the battle at Garnett's Farm.

Martin, William T., d. 1862 (MSS466)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
Martin's correspondence recounts his service in Company F, Orr's 1st Regiment of Rifles, South Carolina Volunteers, and includes some mention of Seven Days Battles. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Pitts, Thomas Henry, 1834-1871 (MSS440)
Papers, 1856-1875; 1 reel microfilm
Pitts served in the 3rd South Carolina Regiment. His correspondence includes a discussion of the Seven Day's Battle. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Cedar Mountain

Crowder, James Preston (MSS321)
Papers, 1861-1864; 2 reels of microfilm
Crowder served as a private in Company I, 47th Alabama Regiment. He describes his war experiences including the battle of Cedar Mountain. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Second Manassas/Second Bull Run

Fort, Tomlinson, 1787-1859 (MSS26)
Family papers, 1808-1882; 2 boxes
Three of Fort's sons served in the Confederate Army and some of their correspondence refers to the battles at Manassas. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Union Microfilm miscellany (MSS468)
Collection, 1861-1865; 2 reels of microfilm

Roesfel, R. H. F.
Diary, 1862-1863; 1 item on 1 reel microfilm
Roesfel served in a Pennsylvania regiment. He describes a visit to the battlefield at Bull Run. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Fredricksburg Campaign

Everett, John A. (MSS58)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 box
Everett details his service in the Georgia Infantry, 11th Regiment, Company K Houston Volunteers, army of Northern Virginia, including action at Fredericksburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Monks, Zerah Coston, b. 1841 (MSS376)
Papers, 1859-1867; 340 items and 1 reel microfilm
Monks recounts his service in Company C, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers and in Company E of the 155th Pennsylvania Volunteers. He includes a description of Fredricksburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Chancellorsville Campaign

Confederate Microfilm Misc. (MSS432)
1860-1865; 1 reel microfilm

Traweek, Ira
Correspondence, 1861-1865; 17 letters
Traweek served in the Jeff Davis Battery of Alabama Artillery, 2nd Corps of the Army of Northern Virginia. Trawick writes of the Battle of Chancellorsville.

Monks, Zerah Coston, b. 1841 (MSS376)
Papers, 1859-1867; 340 items and 1 reel microfilm
Monks recounts his service in Company C, 62nd Pennsylvania Volunteers and in Company E of the 155th Pennsylvania Volunteers. He includes a description of Chancellorsville. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wren, George Lovick Pierce, 1836-1916 (MSS249)
Diaries, 1858-1864; 5 items
Wren served into Company G, 8th Louisiana Infantry Regiment (Minden Blues). He describes fighting at Chancellorsville. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Suffolk

Dalzell, William, d. 1863 (MSS79)
Letters, 1862-1863; 7 folders
Dalzell served in the New York Infantry, 142nd Regiment, Company C. He includes description of the battle of Suffolk. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Mine Run Campaign

Blackford, William Matthews, 1801-1864 (MSS48)
Papers, 1841-1862; 2 folders, 1 bound volume
Blackford served as a financial agent for the Confederate government. His diary recounts the Second Battle of Manassas. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Lee, John Furman, 1842-1910 (MSS431)
Papers, 1863-1864; 1 reel microfilm
Lee's diary recounts his experiences in Company H., 5th New Jersey regiment Volunteers, including the Mine Run Campaign and other skirmishes in Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Wilderness

Bowman, Henry Clay, 1854-1924 (MSS381)
Diaries, 1863-64; 1 reel microfilm Bowman recounts his experiences in Company A, 93rd, Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry including the Battle of the Wilderness. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Justice, Benjamin Wesley, 1827-1871 (MSS386)
Papers, 1836-1893; 10 folders
Justice served as first lieutenant of Company E, 47th Regiment in North Carolina and includes a description of the Battle of the Wilderness in his correspondence. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Spotsylvania Campaign

Wortley, Clark S., b. 1841 (MSS248)
Papers, 1860-1921; 3 boxes
Wortley served in Company K, 20th Regiment, Michigan Infantry Volunteers. Wortley's diary includes a description of the Spotsylvania campaign. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


New Market

Union Microfilm miscellany (MSS468)
Collection, 1861-1865; 2 reels of microfilm

Cohn, Jacob
Journal, 1863-1864; 1 item on 1 microfilm reel
Jacob Cohn served as a member of Company A, 54th Pennsylvania Infantry regiment. He mentions the Battle of New Market in his journal.

  Return to List of States


Cold Harbor

Wortley, Clark S., b. 1841 (MSS248)
Papers, 1860-1921; 3 boxes
Wortley served in Company K, 20th Regiment, Michigan Infantry Volunteers. Wortley's diary includes a description of the Battle of Cold Harbor. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Piedmont

Union Microfilm miscellany (MSS468)
Collection, 1861-1865; 2 reels of microfilm

Cohn, Jacob
Journal, 1863-1864; 1 item on 1 microfilm reel
Jacob Cohn served as a member of Company A, 54th Pennsylvania Infantry regiment. He mentions the Battle of Piedmont in his journal.

  Return to List of States


Petersburg Campaign

Bennage, Enos (MSS383)
Papers, 1864-1914 (bulk 1864-1865); 1 reel microfilm
Bennage describes the battle of Petersburg while serving in Company L, 99th Pennsylvania Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Burge family (MSS266)
Papers, 1832-1952; 5 boxes plus 1 reel microfilm
The diaries of Dolly Lunt Burge, Louisiana D. Burge and William H. Graham include a description of the siege of Petersburg, Virginia. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Everett, John A. (MSS58)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 box
Everett details his service in the Georgia Infantry, 11th Regiment, Company K Houston Volunteers, army of Northern Virginia, including action at Petersburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Justice, Benjamin Wesley, 1827-1871 (MSS383)
Papers, 1836-1893; 10 folders
Justice served as first lieutenant of Company E, 47th Regiment in North Carolina and includes a description of Petersburg in his correspondence. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Lee, James H. (MSS69)
Letters, 1862-1864; 2 folders
Lee served in the 43rd regiment of Alabama Infantry and describes his experience in the trenches at Petersburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Wortley, Clark S., b. 1841 (MSS248)
Papers, 1860-1921; 3 boxes
Wortley served in Company K, 20th Regiment, Michigan Infantry Volunteers. Wortley's diary includes a description of the Battle of Petersburg. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Boydton Plank Road/Hatcher's Run

Bennage, Enos (MSS383)
Papers, 1864-1914 (bulk 1864-1865); 1 reel microfilm
Bennage describes the battle of Boydton Plank Road/Hatcher's Run while serving in the Company L 99th Pennsylvania Infantry. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Appomattox Campaign

Adams, W. H. (MSS465)
Manuscripts, 1861-1865; 1 reel microfilm
A private in Company D, 8th Virginia regiment, Adams wrote in verse about his experiences in the battle of Appomattox. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

Goodrich, Blake (MSS369)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 item on microfilm reel
Goodrich served with the 7th New Hampshire regiment. He includes his reactions to Appomattox. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Richmond

Everett, John A. (MSS58)
Papers, 1861-1865; 1 box
Everett details his service in the Georgia Infantry, 11th Regiment, Company K Houston Volunteers, army of Northern Virginia, including action at Richmond. See EUCLID record for a more detailed collection description.

  Return to List of States


Please contact MARBL at 404-727-6887 or marbl@emory.edu with questions regarding any of our collections.


updated 09-2005